We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Drawn to light again!”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious living/dining room area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living/dining room area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Spacious living/dining room area
Indoor garden
Indoor garden
Maria our helpful housekeeper
Bedroom #1.  Has private bathroom.
Bathroom #1
Bedroom #2
Bathroom #2
Bedroom #3
Bedroom #4 (Upstairs)
Bedroom #4 (Upstairs)
Spacious kitchen with breakfast area
Quetzaltenango at night
Pasaje Enriquez
Downtown Quetzaltenango
Santiaguito and Santa Maria Volcanoes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CiscoKid5...
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Drawn to light again!”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My second review of this treasure in Quetzaltenago is going to be short. I was on another trip through Mexico and Guatemala in 2016 and found myself drawn back to Xela. I only wish I had more time to spend here. I feel so safe and cared for; Maria, the caretaker, is special to me, almost like an Auntie. I'm sure to be back again.
See my previous review from March/April 2016 for more details about the home. It is as advertised and better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Robert, It is always a pleasure to have you as our guest! Thank you for your kind review. Best wishes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay at a hotel!”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This house is exactly as described! It is indeed beautiful and relaxing.

You will truly feel like you are at home away from home. Ms. Maria will make sure that you're stay is comfortable, as she is VERY attentive and kind-hearted.
We drove here and parked the car until we were ready to leave. Ms. Maria provided us with a name of a trusted cab driver that took us to Fuentes de Georginas (trust me: you want someone else to drive you there!) and to the Independence Day Fair they were having at Quetzaltenango. He and his co-worker were WONDERFUL!! I felt completely safe (and believe me: I am a huge back-seat driver-- now worries here!)
Back to Ms. Maria: she was so kind in checking in with us to make sure we did not need anything. I appreciated her information and the warm welcome at the door. It felt like a long-time friend you had not seen in a while.
The house has a formal living room; formal dining; huge (fully-equipped) kitchen and dinette table; your choice of great, comfortable and quiet bedrooms with warm blankets for those cool evenings; sunroof for a beautiful indoor garden; beautiful fresh-cut flowers await you as a welcome; beautiful terrace. Most importantly: it is SPACIOUS!
There were only three of us- and enjoyed the modern open-floor space in the house.
I cannot say enough about this house, Ms. Maria and Ms. Ana. Ms. Ana is VERY PROMPT with her responses and Ms. Maria is so cordial- I just wanted to hug her all the time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ms. Ana and Ms. Maria
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to have guests like you! Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiscoKid5...
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Estrella Brillante de Xela (Shining Star of Quetzaltenango)”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The house and location were great. The house is so clean and inviting. There is a safe place to park your car off the street. Close enough to walk to the Main Central Park, Mercado, and Cathedral. Plenty of restaurants to pic from, San Martin Bakery (across from Cathedral) is a wonderful place to begin your day and breakfast. Around the corner from the house is "Restaurant Albamar", a clean, no nonsense good food place. Breakfast lunch and dinner. They even have Marimba music on most nights. If you want to cook, you can, as the kitchen is completely stocked. There is a lot of activity outside the home, but in the house it is very quite and peaceful. I slept like a baby.
The internet WiFi was excellent.
One small complaint: maybe the pillows could have been a little fluffier. That is all I can mention, my stay was fantastic.
Now a special mention to Maria. Doña Maria (as I called her) is the house keeper and so much more. Doña Maria was so helpful when my stomach got sick. I felt as if my Aunt was caring for me. She also has to coolest parrot, Paco. He has a contagious laugh and funny voice. I wish I could bring Doña Maria home with me. Watch our Anna...Hahaha.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, condition of the house and Doña Maria, the housekeeper.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Dear Robert, Thank you for Your kind review. We truly enjoyed you as a guest and hope you come back soon. Next time, please ask Maria for a fluffy pillow. We wash our pillows all the time and you probably had an older pillow. There are plenty to choose from. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaRhee
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful home in a great location!”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We truly enjoyed our stay in this spacious, comfortable home. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need and more. The beds were comfortable and the linens and towels were very nice. Maria, the housekeeper, was there to greet us when we arrived and checked on us each day to see if we needed anything. It was very quiet there as well. The location was convenient to many things. We walked to the market and the grocery store several times. Xelapan Bakery is right around the corner and I think we went there all four days. Their breads and pizza were amazing! The owner, Ana, was also very attentive and was quick to get back to us with any questions we had. We would highly recommend staying here and we hope to do so again on a future visit to Xela!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The openness and how well stocked it was.
Liked least: The Internet was very slow.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Dear Shannon,
I'm glad you and your husband enjoyed the house!! It was a pleasure having you as our guests and hope to have you back soon!
Enjoy this beautiful holiday season!!
Ana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcondorp...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean and spacious”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at this home in Quetzaltenago. Maria was very gracious with us as we had young children.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing