We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
100
25
3
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
25
3
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjade cottagefloor to ceiling windowseach morninglake atitlanprivate chefvilla complexbedroom bathroomfloor planviews are spectacularmain floorhot tubrainy seasonwell equipped kitchenmain townlate at nightcentral americacouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

You approach the villa complex via a very steep, but concreted, track. We saw one car having to get assistance to climb back out again

But you get to the bottom of the track, you find why you are there. Our villa was large (two large bedrooms, living room. dining area and kitchen). And was right on the lake. The grounds run to the lake shore, and they have a small jetty for you to arrive of leave by boat

In my view going out at night would be difficult, and you need to stock up on dinner ingredients before you arrive. The kitchen is well fitted, so you can cook just about anything

Breakfast is served to you in your villa. Simple, but perfectly sufficient

We left by boat for a lake tour and picked up our transport elsewhere on the lake.. A very pleasant stay, and a nice way to get to know the lake

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

The Villas Balam Ya are hidden gems! Thank you to Nisa and her lovely team, including her pups, for accommodating me during my stay. Even during the rainy season the Jade cottage is a perfect spot to curl up, read and relax. The decor is an enchanting mix of antiques and local as well as modern art. The views, even if they are foggy, are breathtaking. The team at Balam Ya was so helpful, they even helped late at night when I needed a blender and couldn't locate on in the jade cottage.

I am looking forward to coming back soon!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Alli O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Casa Jade at Villa Balam Ya and absolutely loved it. The Villa was everything we wanted: clean, comfortable,great veiws of the lake,and quiet. Our hostess looked in on us to see if we needed anything but was not intrusive. Access to Pana was easy on a Tuk-tuk. We went to the grocery there and got all we needed at Sondra's Market. Casa Jade has a nice layout and interesting architectural qualities and is furnished tastefully. What a great place to enjoy a stunning lake from

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This Villas are amazing, have an unbelievable view and are very comfort, is near to Panajachel if you have a car, but with that view and room service only if you have a tour or something like that you will be going out!

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank Josue U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

my hubby and i stayed 3 glorious nights.
the location between Pana and Sta Catarina made for a perfect retreat. as another reviewer noted, if one stayed at a similar hotel that requires a boat to anywhere, you would be stuck. but here, it was a 20-25 minute stroll to Sta Catarina for some village culture and dinner. (note 8 mins of which was going up and down the hill to the hotel. what a nice little work out!).
a walk to Pana would be longer but we had just stayed on Santander at Don Rodrigo for 2 nights to enjoy the sights/sounds of the main town so we didn't venture that way.
our unit was the Jade Villa. our casita was super sweet, with a mix of shabby chic and Asian decor. (i couldn't have pulled it off myself!) the floor to ceiling windows were fabulous, allowing for magnificent views from our hillside/lakeside abode.
the shower was wonderful, the bed comfortable. we were not bothered by skeeters as we were careful to move quickly when we went in and out (which is required as the bedroom/bathroom and kitchen are separate).
the kitchen had everything one would need to be self sufficient so stock up before you get here. we popped popcorn and borrowed 2 of their DVDs from a large collection.
the wifi is strong and the use of the double kayak was a fun (tho turbulent!) time.
the balcony patio was heavenly as we had our coffee/wine and read/listened to the lapping of water/watched the sun set.
the property is gorgeous and meticulously cared for.
the staff should be recognized and commended. we appreciated Valentine, Rosa, Victor (?), the new manager Leesa (sp?) and her dogs Cholo and Frida!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vegetarian-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews