We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
274
21
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
21
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfarm to tablehowler monkeysthe rio grande riverthe riverfly fishingcaptain jackjungle canopymary annthe beanfarm tourorganic farmscreened porchpicture windowevery mealchocolate makingfloor to ceiling
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

My wife and I spent the weekend at Belcampo Lodge. We really needed a break and a chance to get away from it all and we certainly found that at Belcampo. Great room with lots of space including screened porch the size of some other hotel rooms, large windows so you feel like you are in the jungle when you are still in your room, very interesting decor in the room and particularly the bathroom, great service, excellent wifi (what happened to get away from it all!), friendly helpful staff, amazing setting on a hilltop in the jungle, impressive organic farming setup run be people who really know what they are doing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SplashRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

To get to Punta Gorda, (PG) one usually arrives by air from Belize City on either of the two commuter airlines, Tropic Air or Maya Air. You land at the local airstrip in PG and get picked up by the hotel transport which is basically a covered land rover with about 10 seats.
A short drive out of PG takes you to the sea front where the locals go swimming and BBQ-ing. There is no beach as such. A bit further along takes out to a little village called "Cattle Landing". I guess the name says it all. Then you turn onto a dirt road and head off for 2 miles through Sugar plantations and farms until arrive at the Belcampo Lodge.
The Lodge is situated on a hill in the jungle and next to the Belcampo River. A short drive up a very steep hill brings you to the Lodge entrance where you are greeted by the wonderful staff. They make every effort to satisfy every request.
There are two types of rooms. the first set of which are individual cabins in the jungle spaced around the hill. This means each one looks out in a different direction. The rooms are amazing, very spacious with an outside screened in veranda with sofa and hammock, a nice bathroom with a huge shower with picture window overlooking the jungle. Fortunately, only the howler monkeys and other jungle inhabitants can see you when showering!! The super king bed was ultra comfortable with lovely pillows and sheets.
A nice pool and loungers is adjacent to these cabins.
The other set of rooms are known as the Ridge and to get there one takes a short external train/lift ride up to the top of the hill. there are 4 more rooms up here with their own pool and amazing views. I understand that they are even more luxurious than the lower cabins.
The food was excellent, nicely presented and prepared. Each evening on the dessert menu is Yvette's Cake and its delicious, but not if you are on a diet. LOL
Be warned this is not a place for a beach type holiday. However there are numerous activities such as flyfishing, birdwatching, chocolate making, river cruises, etc.
All in all a wonderful place.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

My family and I had a wonderful few days in the Belcampo Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed its scenic beauty. The staff was very impressive including the housekeeping, dining staff and tour guides. The entire group understands hospitality but especially Mark, Duane, Melanie and Maluco (sp) on the dining and drink duties. The food was incredible too with a great menu that combines site specific ingredients and some traditional Belizean fare for delicious and unique options for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Despite some rain (and who can't appreciate a decent thunder storm in the depths of a rain forest), we completed some amazing tours including the Bean to Bar with Elon and Menard and a beautiful sunset cruise with Captain Jack and Melanie. Both are highly recommended as is the resort entirely!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

My husband and I found this place last year in June by mistake. We just finished staying 4 nights,this year and couldn't have been more happy with our choice! We opted for two tour, and they were both amazing. In fact, we're already booked for next year and bringing our daughter and son-in-law with us♡
Check out my videos on YouTube, Snorkel with the Chef 2017 & Bean to Bar 2017
Have a GREAT time...its much better than Disneyland!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #9 both times. It's close to the dining area, an excellent location for us elderly folk♡
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dslsefried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Went for the spa treatment and it was everything I needed and more. Stayed for lunch. The spinach dip and plantain chips I recommend, but if you are on your own ask for a small portion. I followed it up with a wrap. The chicken was good. Not great, a bit too heavy on the raisins. The service is impeccable.

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews