We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Ridge Suite”
Review of Belcampo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belcampo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We read about Belcampo in the Wall Street Journal and it seemed like it would be fun. Understatement. All the arrangements were made by the lodge managers Mary-Ann and Ross who were available by email 24/7. At the Punta Gorda airstrip we were picked up by a Belcampo guide, Chan, we later learned was a birding expert and he gave us an overview of the region and the property before we arrived.
On the website all the rooms look great, but I can't say enough about the luxury of our Ridge Suite. It was actually a small "home" which seems appropriate because we soon came to feel like family, both with staff members and with fellow guests, including a pair of howler monkeys camped in a tree outside of our veranda. On the platform of the pool deck we had views of the Rio Grande river and farther out we could see the Caribbean Sea. The pool has a negative edge and at times felt like our private amenity. From the veranda on the other side we could see the howler monkeys and a verdant riparian area leading all the way to Guatemala in the distance. It's a literal rain forest and unimaginably gorgeous everywhere. Did I mention a deep bathtub outside the shower bathroom overlooking the above veranda scene? We even requested and were rewarded with epsom salts to soak in.

We rode a tram down from the Ridge through the lovely forest and arrived at the lodge dining room and on the lower level of the same building a bar and sitting areas with new scenery. Daily activities can be scheduled or serendipitous, there is no where you could walk that did not yield natural beauty. Another tram takes you down to the river level and all paths are cleared and connect back to the lodge or the ridge. Advertised experiences like coffee cupping, farm tours, bird watching and chocolate making were excellent! Other guests also took ruin tours and diving excursions and fishing trips and were equally impressed.

All meals are included in the package and the food is healthy and delicious with variety and flexibility. The chef is readily available and uses the bounty of the farm for her cuisine. Seventy percent we were told.

In June it was rainy, but boots were provided and so was insect repellent. Two minor issues that were not a hindrance to an amazing experience!

Room Tip: The Ridge is great for romantic couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EscaladeEscapades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

My wife and I spent the weekend at Belcampo Lodge. We really needed a break and a chance to get away from it all and we certainly found that at Belcampo. Great room with lots of space including screened porch the size of some other hotel rooms, large windows so you feel like you are in the jungle when you are still in your room, very interesting decor in the room and particularly the bathroom, great service, excellent wifi (what happened to get away from it all!), friendly helpful staff, amazing setting on a hilltop in the jungle, impressive organic farming setup run be people who really know what they are doing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SplashRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

To get to Punta Gorda, (PG) one usually arrives by air from Belize City on either of the two commuter airlines, Tropic Air or Maya Air. You land at the local airstrip in PG and get picked up by the hotel transport which is basically a covered land rover with about 10 seats.
A short drive out of PG takes you to the sea front where the locals go swimming and BBQ-ing. There is no beach as such. A bit further along takes out to a little village called "Cattle Landing". I guess the name says it all. Then you turn onto a dirt road and head off for 2 miles through Sugar plantations and farms until arrive at the Belcampo Lodge.
The Lodge is situated on a hill in the jungle and next to the Belcampo River. A short drive up a very steep hill brings you to the Lodge entrance where you are greeted by the wonderful staff. They make every effort to satisfy every request.
There are two types of rooms. the first set of which are individual cabins in the jungle spaced around the hill. This means each one looks out in a different direction. The rooms are amazing, very spacious with an outside screened in veranda with sofa and hammock, a nice bathroom with a huge shower with picture window overlooking the jungle. Fortunately, only the howler monkeys and other jungle inhabitants can see you when showering!! The super king bed was ultra comfortable with lovely pillows and sheets.
A nice pool and loungers is adjacent to these cabins.
The other set of rooms are known as the Ridge and to get there one takes a short external train/lift ride up to the top of the hill. there are 4 more rooms up here with their own pool and amazing views. I understand that they are even more luxurious than the lower cabins.
The food was excellent, nicely presented and prepared. Each evening on the dessert menu is Yvette's Cake and its delicious, but not if you are on a diet. LOL
Be warned this is not a place for a beach type holiday. However there are numerous activities such as flyfishing, birdwatching, chocolate making, river cruises, etc.
All in all a wonderful place.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

My family and I had a wonderful few days in the Belcampo Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed its scenic beauty. The staff was very impressive including the housekeeping, dining staff and tour guides. The entire group understands hospitality but especially Mark, Duane, Melanie and Maluco (sp) on the dining and drink duties. The food was incredible too with a great menu that combines site specific ingredients and some traditional Belizean fare for delicious and unique options for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Despite some rain (and who can't appreciate a decent thunder storm in the depths of a rain forest), we completed some amazing tours including the Bean to Bar with Elon and Menard and a beautiful sunset cruise with Captain Jack and Melanie. Both are highly recommended as is the resort entirely!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

My husband and I found this place last year in June by mistake. We just finished staying 4 nights,this year and couldn't have been more happy with our choice! We opted for two tour, and they were both amazing. In fact, we're already booked for next year and bringing our daughter and son-in-law with us♡
Check out my videos on YouTube, Snorkel with the Chef 2017 & Bean to Bar 2017
Have a GREAT time...its much better than Disneyland!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #9 both times. It's close to the dining area, an excellent location for us eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dslsefried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
38.6 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
281 reviews
38.9 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
36 km away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
123 reviews
13.3 km away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
194 reviews
8.1 km away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belcampo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcampo Lodge

Address: Wilson Road, Punta Gorda, Belize (Formerly Machaca Hill Rainforest Canopy Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range: $410 - $966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belcampo Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agritourism-chic in Punta Gorda: a Jungle Lodge, organic farm and a 12,000-acre nature reserve. Set in the verdant hills above the Caribbean coast of southern Belize in the town of Punta Gorda. From our dock you can embark on our tranquil cruises on the jungle reaches of the Rio Grande, or our guided snorkeling and fishing adventures on the Caribbean Sea. Nim Li Punit and many other attractions are located nearby. At the heart of Belcampo Belize is the Main Lodge with our Jungle Farm Restaurant, the Rum Bar, the Jungle Spa, lounge areas, a swimming pool, and observation decks that open to stunning vistas of the coast, the Maya Mountains and a seemingly endless pristine rainforest. Our 16 individual, spacious suites are well appointed with plush beds, screened fresh-air verandas, and spa-style bathrooms with floor to ceiling tropical rainforest views. Belcampo Belize has 16 private suites offering the best in luxury and comfort. A testament to Belize's natural beauty and craftsmanship, nearly every detail, from the woodwork to the tiles to the artwork, is sourced from local artisans. If you're relaxing on one of the canopy beds or lounging on your own private veranda, you will experience the magic of the jungle within the comfort of your room. Enjoy a drink in our Rum Room with ingredients sourced from our own Cocktail Garden. Meals (including complimentary breakfast daily) are served in our Jungle Farm restaurant. We produce on-site more than 70% of the food we serve to Lodge guests. With extensive gardens, tropical fruit trees, and livestock, our day-to-day food production is a hive of activity year round. Optional tours available are: •Snorkeling •Scuba diving •Fly fishing •Birding •Cultural tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belcampo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcampo Hotel Punta Gorda
Belcampo Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing