We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Places in Far Away Locations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Places in Far Away Locations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

As a good friend of ours likes to say "This is a definite do over." Our group of six couples from diverse locations arrived late January for a weeks stay. Resort transportation waiting at airport. Arrived Chabil Mar to waiting welcome committee with refreshing lime drinks. Escorted to our rooms by Tiffany. Along the way she provided resort information and in our villa a detailed explanation about the villas. Ours was a two bedroom (one queen and one king), two bath with a well equipped full kitchen (marble counter tops) and living room. There is no resort dining room – meals may be served in your villa or at many locations throughout the resort. All meals were very good – the ceviche and seafood chowder were outstanding. The last night the 12 of us had dinner under a thatched roof on the end of the pier with two servers to attend to our every need. The staff was very helpful and went to great lengths to satisfy our needs. Deshaun the bartender was fun to talk with and made great drinks. The staff took great pains to learn our names. Special thanks to Tiffany, Deshaun, Natalie and Antonio for pleasant smiles and great service. From Chabil Mar it is a15 minute walk to the end of the peninsula through Placencia (size 600). Also bikes available free at resort and taxi ($2.50 US or $5.00 Belize per person). Food in Placencia is primarily Creole based. We were there during lobster and virtually all restaurants had lobster specials. We ate at Chabil Mar (Could have eaten all meals there and been more than satisfied), Turtle Inn (Very good food and service - they sent van to CM to pick us up and return), La Dolce Vita (Excellent Italian food and wine by Rome trained chef), Rumfish (very good), Omar’s (good Creole), Brenda’s (classic native Belizean Creole fair - I really liked the tamales) and Tutti Frutti (great gelato). Do not recommend Tipsy Tuna – food ok, not very busy but it took almost an hour for all food to be served (first plate in 10 minutes and the final 40 plus minutes later).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldcrow117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    62
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
195
371
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holicong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and i just returned from a trip to Chabil Mar in Placencia Belize which was fabulous. The resort was immaculate and beautiful and we felt like we had the entire place to ourself. two pools, lush gardens, great poolside service and bar i wish we never had to leave.The staff were all so friendly and knowledgable - our thanks go out to tiffany natalie, Jesus, Danny, Antonio,Gilbert , DeShaunand Silvino we will be back.... thank you so much... Placencia is a quaint little town, very clean and a short walk or bike ride where we happened to be at the right time for the arts festival, where local artists and musicians performed and sold there art. It was awesome.One of the highlights of the trip was afishing trip just outside the reef with Polo Leslie in a panga where we caught a large wahoo and also snorkeled. the kitchen /restaurant at
Chabilmar prepared the wahoo both baked and grilled with pineapple salsa and also garlic butter on the side... Delicious and was served to us under the palapa over the water. it was fabulous!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laspsu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a stay at Chabil Mar and we can't speak highly enough of the hotel and its staff.

Located almost at the tip of the Placencia peninsula, it is within easy reach of Placencia fishing village, where tourists are welcomed warmly by the locals, and given every opportunity to have some memorable experiences.

Being on our honeymoon, we were looking for luxury and the size of the villa, the views, and the facilities did not disappoint... and we didn't have to stretch to the honeymoon suite to get all these! Add to that the service we received from Natalie and Tiffany on reception, from Tony, Gilbert and Silvino around the resort, and from the happiest bartender in the world, Deshaun, and we really couldn't stress more just how at home we felt at Chabil Mar.

Things to highly recommend... kayaking across the bay... taking in the local restaurants... and enjoying a Deshaun cocktail at the end of the evening.

Contentment is a week at Chabil Mar!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The service was the only thing that topped the beauty of the setting of Chabil Mar...a lovely spot indeed! The staff was so friendly and accommodating. A special shout-out to our bartender, Deshaun, who made us feel as if we had known him for years. And we loved his daily specials! We also want to thank Tiffany, Natalie and the servers Antonio and Dany for making our stay a wonderful experience. Our dinner on the dock was very special...we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeekThakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Staff friendly and helpful. Ride the bikes into town. We stayed in 2 bedroom unit and had plenty of room. Showers were awesome. Food was delicious and not overpriced! Took the Monkey River cruise with Percy through the hotel. Great trip. Don't forget the mosquito repellent! Hotel has air conditioning.

Room Tip: If looking for a 2 bedroom, request number 10. Great view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLover081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
10.6 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.7 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.0 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
11.2 km away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
36.4 km away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price range (per night): $426 - $624
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing