We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Jewel of the Carribean”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A True Jewel of the Carribean”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have lived in San Pedro, Belize for 12 years and decided to take a trip to see other parts of the country. Our stay at Maya Beach was fantastic! Beautiful beach, great rooms, outstanding restaurant, award winning service, the owners are on property and completely available as well as being genuinely gracious, The rates are extremely good. The wifi works in the rooms and they offer purified tap water in the rooms. Great coffee in the morning!!!!! A very peaceful setting on the north end of the peninsula. No TV which was a bonus not to have the distraction.

What more could you want!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidG916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    95
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
119
326
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I spent about 2 weeks at the Maya Beach Resort in Feb 2012 and was very happy with the hotel and restaurant.
I was in the Toucan room which had a fabulous breeze off the ocean and lots of space. My room, and I suspect all the rooms at the hotel, are not like many hotel rooms. There is no fridge or tv or phone in your room. I liked that, but if people went there expecting those things, they could be disappointed.
The room was great and quite quiet.

The hotel is right on the beach and there is plenty of space to sit in a hammock or hang out by the pool.

The hotel staff go out of their way to make sure you have the things you need and that you have any tours or day trips arranged.

The restaurant was fabulous. I was lucky enough to be there over Valentine's Day and got to sit in on the 10 course dinner that husband-owner John prepared with his staff. It was amazing Truly one of the best meals of my life.
I ate almost every meal at the hotel and was always very satisfied, to say the least.
My only issue with the restaurant was that there was one waiter/bartender who wouldn't wait on me, no matter what, or so it seemed.
He would come by the folks hanging around the pool and bring drinks and food for the people on each side of me, and would magically disappear before I could place an order. Every time, for 2 weeks. I got the impression he wasn't a fan of diversity because he certainly could chat up the pretty girls but I could have died of thirst in a chair right next to them.
Aside from that blip, which I chalk up to personality rather than the hotel/restaurant itself, I think the place was close to flawless.

The restaurant was packed every night and clearly people were coming from other places in Placencia to eat there, because it is completely worth it.
And really, for the quality of what you receive, everything is very reasonably priced.

I'd certainly go back to the Maya Beach Hotel if I was back in Placencia.

Room Tip: I liked the Toucan room, but the desk staff will help you pick a room that suits your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EastsideSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I just returned (March, 2012) from a week at the Flip Flop Palace, the adjacent beach house of the Maya Beach Hotel, run by Ellen (from Colorado) and John (from Sydney, Australia)...a delightful and truly helpful couple.

All the comforts and privacy of your own place, on the beach, with a deck to have your morning coffee and feel the gentle breeze. Your accommodation comes fully outfitted with kitchen, cooking utensils, and all other necessities, or if like me, simply go next door to the Maya Beach Hotel's top-rated restaurant (Belize's #1 eatery!) - The Bistro. Excellent menu, local specials each night, international wine selection, and a lot less expensive than anything comparable in the States.

I highly recommend for a couples getaway, where you can relax by the pool or take a short bike ride into Placencia visting a host of local boutiques, walk The Path, have coffee and lunch or simply meet the locals...some of the friendliest people around. Ask about local tours, too. Marlon at the front desk, or Ellen are happy to accomodate...they arranged three separate tours for me and made it all so easy.

Have fun!

Room Tip: The Flip Flop palace - their house next door - gives you privacy and comfort with all the access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobtoBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We arrived without a reservation and were fortunate enough to get a room. A excellent location away from the bustle of Placencia, but close.

Right on a beautiful stretch of beach and very nice rooms. An attentive and professional staff and some of the best food you’ll find anywhere.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandK50something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We chose this hotel according to the reviews we had read on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed at all. I really want to thank the staff which has been so kind and helpful. They even found a way to send me my iPod back to Canada!
The restaurant is awesome too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keaturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
11.6 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
593 reviews
7.2 km away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
310 reviews
1.4 km away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#9 of 19 in Placencia
369 reviews
26.0 km away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Property: Maya Beach Hotel
Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price range (per night): $93 - $222
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing