We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent a week here for our honeymoon. It was beautiful and the service was wonderful. We spent the majority of our days just relaxing out in the hammock on the dock. Unforgettable experience! I would return at the drop of a hat. So relaxing and romantic! My only issue was we were traveling in August and our beachfront cabana was not as breezy as I would have hoped, so it was a bit hot while sleeping at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    72
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
232
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Writing this review, I can't help but want to return to the Singing Sands to relax on the beach and eat at the Bonefish Grill. Having traveled extensively and ate at too many restaurants to count, I have to say that the Bonefish is one of my top 5 ever (and best in Belize without question)! The Asian fusion was spectacular and we enjoyed everything on the menu. The cabanas were clean and charming and exactly what you would expect in a relaxing beach vacation. The grounds were beautiful and the hammocks were decent (I consider myself a hammock aficionado). I have to say as good as the amenities at the SSI are, it's the service that will have you in awe. Everyone that works there was the friendliest and most accommodating staff I have ever had the privilege to meet. We truly felt welcomed there by everyone from the owners down to staff (including our little iguana buddy). I'm very thankful that we chose the SSI and I think you would be too. Thanks Maya and staff, it was a pleasure!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

All the other reviews are on target abiut the service, atmosphere,etc. I would just caution you that if you need A/C or TV this is not your place, they dont have it which is why we love it.
If you are going to relax and are Comfy w/o TV and A/C, you will love the place. Rent the golf cart for a day or rent a bike ( on premise) to explore the area. Go to Mangos for a cold draft Belikan and hang with the locals.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinogringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremore, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I decided to have a destination wedding and chose Singing Sands Inn for the ceremony and reception.
The wedding was so beautiful, more than I could have asked for. Maya was up early the morning of the wedding making sure the flowers were arranged and everything set up perfectly. I will have to post pictures to show how gorgeous it really was. We loved the resort and restaurant. It was a quiet, peaceful and relaxing stay. We really enjoyed ourselves.

We stayed in the Sea view cabana and loved the decor but had problems with bugs (not much you can do about that) and the shower was finicky, a few us ended up having to take cold showers. But other than that it was very comfortable and clean.

The staff was excellent and very attentive to our needs. We were traveling with our then 6 month old daughter and didn't have any problems storing milk or food.

Overall a great place and a great value. After spending over a week there and seeing other resorts we were very glad we chose Singing Sands!

Room Tip: Cabanas 1-3 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed at the singing sands resort from dec 16 2011 to dec 24 2011. I have traveled around the world and stayed at many places. That being said, singing sands provided the best service I have ever seen. They got it right in so many areas, I don't know where to start.

Staff
The resort has a top of the line staff on hand. They are very personal and make you feel at home. The first day I checked in, the staff already knew who I was. I mean from the bartender to the cleaning staff. The staff goes out if their way to make sure you are having the best vacation possible. The first day I was there, the grounds keeper came up to me and offered me a fresh cocoanut from the tree. The staff never had a bad attitude and greeted me with a warm smile every time I seen them.

Service.
The services they provide are top notch. I will start with their tour services. They have a book of tours they provide which range from exploring the ruins and hiking to snorkeling and scuba diving. All I did was tell them which tours I wanted and they took care of the rest. They provided the ride, drinks, meals, and guide. I took a tour everyday I was there. The resort also provides same day laundry service, superb house cleaning services, scuba gear, kayaks, and bicycles. The resort also provides wireless Internet and I was able to Skype back home.

Rooms:
The rooms are how a Caribbean resort should be. They use the same building techniques that the local Mayans use. It gave me the feel of not being at a hotel, which is what I wanted. The rooms have no tv, which is a plus. The shower of my room was a private outdoor, but enclosed, space. The rooms were beautiful simply put.

Food service.
The resort provides a restaurant that it top of the line. I will do a review on it, but touch on it lightly here. The menu provides dishes that range from Asian background to local eats. They start breakfast early with coffee at 0630. They serve lunch, happy hour treats, and dinner. The bartenders on hand can make any drink you can think of. They close the restaurant at 2200, but never rush you out.

Scenery.
The look of the resort is like eye candy. The resort sits right off of the beach, do you have instant access. The water is so clear that you could see the bottom. It was only wavy a couple of days. The groundskeeper keeps the beach in from of the beach seaweed free as well. The resort also has a dock with a bar on it, although they did not open while I was there. There is a Hammock on the dock, which I spent a great deal of time on. There also have hammocks on the beach which were nice. They kept the sand raked, and the walk ways clear of sand.

Extra
Down the street from the resort is a bowling alley and a local bar. A few miles down the street is a local town. The town has a karaoke bar, gift shops and Caribbean cooking.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mario j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
1.4 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
599 reviews
10.2 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
9.2 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
607 reviews
0.8 km away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
305 reviews
2.0 km away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Property: Singing Sands Inn
Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price range (per night): $141 - $187
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing