We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved this place- worth the hype”
other travellers have booked this property
Kayaks on beach at home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kayaks on beach at home
Front of Home from Street Gate Private Pool at rear of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Kayaks on beach at home
Front of Home from Street Gate
Private Pool at rear of house
Downstairs Living room
Downstairs Living Room including Sleeper Couch
Dining Room Table
Eating Area near Kitchen
Kitchen
Second Floor Living Room/Bar
Second Floor Living Room/Bar
Second Floor Master Bedroom, King Bed Facing Caribbean
Second Floor Master Bedroom, King Bed Facing Caribbean
Second Floor Second Master Bedroom, Queen Bed Facing Caribbean
Second Floor Second Master Bedroom, Queen Bed Facing Caribbean
Bathroom for Second Master Bedroom
Second Floor Bedroom, Single over Full Bunk Bed
Downstairs Front Bedroom with Queen Bed
Downstairs Bedroom facing pool with queen bed
Second Story Balcony facing Caribbean
Patio
Patio including Gas Grill
Patio adjacent to pool
Aerial View, Tipsy Gecko house furthest Left
Waterfall in local area
sunset over large 150 foot pier with palapa and swim deck
Recent Wedding on Pier Palapa
If you are looking to relax, this is the spot
Private Pool behind house
View of rear of house from pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Placencia, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Momof2tra...
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Loved this place- worth the hype ”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 stayed here and loved every minute. We found Domingo's cooking the highlight- lobster tail and key lime pie...? Yes!
We will never forget the snorkel trip to the reef - best snorkeling we've ever seen (exceeds Fiji or Cayman) -- go out to Silk Caye and swim with sharks and turtles! The pier is fantastic and a true bonus- not to mention the pool and beach and swing under the cabana - you never need to leave!
The only cons were that town is pretty far away and not very developed (shop at Treasure Box) - and the pier is private but the 18 people renting the villa next door kept coming to the pier one at a time to visit us and we found it exhausting politely getting them to leave.
A call to Mabel solved it, just very unfortunate it came to that.
I would recommend this highly to anyone considering a stay in Belize. One of the few properties that has pool, beach and pier all in one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thatworks...
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were a family of 9 adults who stayed here at Villa Tipsy Gecko for 2 weeks...It is right on the ocean and the private pool makes it that much better. The Villa is exactly as the photos show if not better. Mabel was very knowledgeable about the area and all of the excursions. I can't say enough about efficient Mabel is. We used the included golf cart to take the leisurely 35 minute drive into the town of Placencia to do some shopping. Certain excursions required you to drive there yourself so we also rented a vehicle and found the prices reasonable for rentals. Overall a great time was had by all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoogz
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING is included in this rental”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have rented vacation villas around the world and was pleasantly surprised as to how much was included in this rental. You got daily maid service, daily laundry service, a personal chef every 3 days, privileges at the fancy Placencia Hotel pool, ice machine, fully equipped kitchen, bikes, kayaks, paddle boards etc.

Each bedroom had a bathroom and there was a view of the sea from every room. Not to mention the beach was steps from the house. This place had it all. We had 8 people and there was plenty of space for all of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How close to the sea we were
Liked least: the bugs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MY30
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and fantastic service!”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were a group of 9 adults staying at this house for a week. The house looks exactly like the pictures of the house - if not even better in real life! The house was big, clean and spacious even for 9 adults. All the beds were very comfortable to sleep in - except from the sofa bed where you can actually feel the bed spring...

This was included in the house:
- Housekeeping every day - cleaning of the house, doing our laundry
- A chef - who came three days during the week we were there, cooking breakfast, lunch and dinner for us every day he was there. The chefs name is Domingo and he made excellent food! He was in addition very nice, pleasant and service minded! (we wanted to take him home with us!)
- Kitchen utensils was included in the kitchen

The caretakers of the house - Javier and Mabelle were also very service minded and accomodating. They were very helpful with whatever we need or had questions about.

It was great to stay in this house - even better than staying at a hotel!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The chef and the housekeeping
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOUG M
Highland Village, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expectations Exceeded!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house (Lazy Gecko) was clean and bright, the Staff was courteous and efficient, the Service was far above the average and the accommodations were like being at home! Also, to further add to an amazing experience, Domingo made delicious meals that exceeded anything we ate on the Peninsula. His food and attitude was as good as it gets......save the trip in town and have him work his magic in the kitchen. The only thing hard about this trip is having to go back home...Well done!

Doug Morrow
Highland Village, Texas

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing