We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
15
39
10
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
39
10
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews single room ceiling fan would stay here again the main tourist strip burns avenue shared bath stayed here for two nights hotel is located clean rooms in town on site doris guatemala communal border
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Last minute we decided to stay in the heart of San Ignacio on our arrival date in Belize. A server from Eva's Restaurant recommended that we check Tropicool and we couldn't have been happier.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was our family of 3 and our friend. We wanted a room w/ 2 beds and private bath but all that was available was 3 beds and a private bath...so we paid the extra and it was still affordable! Our friend took a single room w/ shared bath and it, too, was super clean and comfortable...and quiet. The central plaza can get noisy in the evening so this was perfect for our weary selves.

The owners were very friendly and we would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We booked a night at Tropicool Hotel and Doris was a very accommodating host after we had some last minute changes in our plan.

The hotel is perfectly located, central but away enough from the bars not to be noisy.

We will definitely book here again next time we're in San Ignacio!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Be warned! This is a 5 star review not a 5 star hotel. That being said, for what we paid and what we've seen in the past we were pleasantly surprised. This was a last minute booking after some plans changed and it worked out great. From the outside the Tropicool may look a bit rundown (which it is). We met the owner while checking in and she was very friendly. Our online booking really didn't mean much as she takes cash only. We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. The rooms and facility are very well taken care of and clean - things we like to see when booking inexpensive accommodations. Free WiFi, some limited parking, a bit noisy near the street. This is a great booking for a cheap, clean place to stay for a night or two.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed here because of the free secure parking (locked gates) and was amazed by its great location just behind the main touristy strip. My basic single room had ceiling fan, couple of electrical outlets, standard size single bed, fully tiled and very clean. A lockable door with an additional padlock for good measure. Wifi was good and Doris the manager was very helpful, overall a nice little stay on the way down to Guatemala.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank KurtisBeacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We booked two nights here and extended to a third directly with the owner. We stayed in a double room on the ground floor of the first building to your left on arrival. The room was simple with a double bed, desk and chair, small table and a a ceiling fan (fastest fan is 1 not 5!) The double bed was comfortable and the bed was re-made up and our towels changed for the second night we were there. There were two shared shower rooms in this area but as there was only one other couple staying at the time we were we had one each. The water wasn't always warm or hot but as San Ignacio is the cool was actually quite welcomed.

There's a bench and garden swing outside which can be used by guests and the owners and their grandchildren very friendly.

We paid 40bz per night, a good price and fair for what we got. They keep the place clean, there's a bit of noise from the street but that stops quite early and we felt comfortable leaving are belongings in the room when we went out all day. The rooms were very hot even with a ceiling fan but the owner kindly let us use a stand alone fan too which made it more bearable. So all in all a good stay for a budget traveller looking to save a bit of money and not expecting luxury.

As a ps we were advised not to go out and about the town after 9pm, however we walked back from dinner or the bar after this on all three nights and were fine but the walk was short as the hotel is so central (another bonus). There are quite a few guys offering drugs around but they're harmless and don't bother you when you decline their offer.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank totravelandinspire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews