We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Midas Belize

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midas Belize
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

O.K. if you judge by 'American' standards this place may come up a bit short. For fancy pay more and stay at the San Ignacio where the Queen once stayed. Even if you choose not to pay more and stay there do visit The Iguana Project at that hotel...one of the best things to do there if you have kids! Umberto was a fabulous guide; there was a traditional medicine trail leading up to the structure that houses the Iguanas. Also, Friday and Saturday are the market days downtown- so someone who says there is nothing to do is wrong or not interested in the local culture. We loved the abuelitas making puposas on market day and drinking watermelon juice!

If you want to book a tour go downtown....every tour operator has a storefront.

The towels were a bit frayed around the edges but they were clean, as were the rooms. The AC was not up to snuff in my room- it was cooler outside, so we just turned on the fan and opened the windows at night. The bathrooms were newly tiled, beautiful even by U.S. standards, and we had all the hot water we could use. We stayed at the end of February mid-week and the pool area was fairly empty but beautiful and immaculately clean! I felt safe leaving my 13 y.o son to swim while I took the 7 minute walk into town to go to the internet cafe. It is an election year so the roads are ripped up in town and 'construction' is going on (and on). This place was away from the dusty downtown. The price was great $59 per night we got a free upgrade because what we booked was not available; I think of what $59 gets in the U.S. and I usually shudder. Any tour operator will pick you up there for free (or should) but it is only a short walk to the dusty downtown. If you will be away on tours of the ruins and the caves all day why pay more to stay someplace fancy? The beds were comfortable, the staff were friendly, the place was clean! Is it a 'resort' by American standards? No, but I'm not going to another country to sip tropical drinks by the pool and be waited on hand and foot; I do enjoy clean, safe and comfortable. By this measure Midas Resort exceeded my expectations. I think we place to much value on 'luxury' and not enough on meeting local every day people. My mother became ill while we were away and the clerk kept watch for when we arrived back to the hotel to personally make sure that I knew my husband had called.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bratface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    209
    97
    41
    20
See reviews for
91
293
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel is very walkable to town. The new pool was a great place to relax after a day of exploring the ruins with good service, cold beer and more than acceptable rooms. We did have an issue with a broken water main at the hotel, which was fixed quicker than I had expected. The staff were very friend, the breakfasts are very good and overall, the right balance of quality for the money

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Midas Resort for three nights at the beginning of our week in Belize. Our room was clean, the shower was spacious and always had hot water, and the air conditioner worked well enough to cool us off after our long days at Mayan ruins. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were very tasty. Our only complaint was that we looked forward to relaxation by the pool in the late afternoon, but it was impossible to read and relax because the music they play at poolside is so loud and with a techno beat that we gave up after about a half hour of that each day. I considered saying something about it, but wasn't sure if the other guests were actually enjoying the so-called music or not. The town of San Ignacio doesn't have a whole lot to offer other than the good location to use as a departure point to several Mayan ruin sites. SInce this was our only reason for going to San Ignacio, that was fine with us. I expected a quaint, charming downtown area because I have been to many Latin American countries and the center is usually pleasant. San Ignacio does not have a center plaza and the main tourist area is a dirt street. If you plan to go to the Caracol ruins, you better be on a tour or have a rental vehicle that can handle bad roads. Our rental SUV did fine, but the trip is not for everyone. If it weren't for our passion for the Mayan culture, we wouldn't recommend San Ignacio as a place to visit. Fortunately, we ended our vacation to Belize with a trip to the area of Placencia. If we had done it the other way around, we would have been disappointed. We stayed at a lovely place at Maya Beach called Singing Sands. (which I have also reviewed)

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building, which suited our needs perfectly. The cabanas looked nice from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_LV_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Upon arrival the lady did not have the key to our room and suggested she just open it up when we wanted in.We were not crazy about that idea so she gave us another room ,one with a leaky shower.We asked the lady about booking a trip to the maya ruins and zip lining.She said she could call a cab and maybe they could take us to the ruins but not zip lining.We went to bed feeling low. The next morning after a OK breakfast where we placed our order in a spiral notebook we stopped next door to Vine tours and booked exactly what we wanted. Why are these places not talking to each other? Upon our return from our fun day our leaky shower had no hot water. We took cold showers and addressed the problem in the morning as we checked out.No sorry or anything.The best thing about the place was the people we met while at breakfast who advised us where to eat and shared there experience.

Room Tip: Check the rooms hot water first
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcottville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We left a lovely resort in Ambergris Caye and arrived here at the Midas Resort. What a disappointment this place was! First, they wanted us to stay in a room with only one key, which they would have to keep and let us in and out of the room.

Second, the shower dripped all night and had not hot water. When we mentioned this, they did not even react or offer any assistance.

The towels were like the ones you use to dry your car; like rags, There was no lamp by the bed, so you only has a one light bulb overhead; not cozy at all.

And, when we needed some help in booking a tour, they just told us we could call a cab.

The only good thing about the place was its proximity to town. We could walk and get there easily. Also, they did have a delicious breakfast available in their dining room at a reasonable price.



And

Room Tip: It might be a slight bit above camping for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
5.6 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
5.5 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 km away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.6 km away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.9 km away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Belize

Property: Midas Belize
Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price range (per night): $56 - $372
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Belize 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midas Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing