We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class....seriously”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

I am a bit of a curmudgeon, ready to tell you the truth- good or bad. Here is the bottom line: the thing I find most endearing about Belize is its people-hands down the friendliest and most professional you will meet in the travel industry---period. And everywhere you go you meet Belizians who are very proud of their country and want to share it. Everywhere.

Now take that and wrap it in "old world elegance" and you have the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Best food in Central America. Service to rival anywhere and I have been on four continents. Natural beauty.... hopefully you get it by now.

Yes, there are other really nice places around San Ignacio but you will not regret passing them up and staying here.

It's a classic, and if you know anything about the world you know you can never go wrong with the classics. They are classic for a reason. Stay here and be reminded what that means. If it was good enough for Queen Elizabeth II it's probably good enough for you.

It's also good enough for breakfast with Tucans. Did I mention the food? A+

Oh, ask Ruben to schedule a tour to Tikal for you. Lace up your walking shoes and be prepared to climb; for a once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephSIRH, Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Greetings from beautiful Belize Mr. Dave!

We wanted to take the time to express a heartfelt thank you for this truly wonderful review! I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the rest of our management and SIRH team who are extremely thrilled to know that we were able to make your Belize vacation a "once in a lifetime experience" ! (I do hope it won't be only once!)

The owners have placed continuous efforts in evolving with the times but also in keeping the SIRH charm and authenticity, we're happy to know you felt it! Thank you once again for choosing us to be part of your Belize experience and we look forward to hosting you again.

Until next time,


Stephanie Elena
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

I came here with my 26-year old son for a few days and we loved this place. Excellent property; beautiful, well maintained. The restaurant served great meals at a fair price. And all the staff were fantastic. The way the schedules worked out, we ended up dealing with Giselle at the front desk a bit. She couldn't have been any more pleasant or helpful. So, a special shout out to her. The hotel also hooked us up with a great guide for a tour at the ATM Caves (highly recommend it) and gave us some great tips on a Mayan ruins and zip line trip that we were able to do on our own since we had a car. Our stay here couldn't have gone any better.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephSIRH, Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Good morning Mr. Greg,

Thank you very much for the fantastic review and sharing your SIRH experience with others! Giselle is a fantastic team member and we will ensure she sees this little shoutout.

Many thanks for choosing us to be part of your Belize experience. Until next time!

My best,

Stephanie Elena
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I'm the kind of person that researches all options before booking and I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are clean, luxurious, the service above and beyond and the food is really good! All this for a reasonable price. The iguana project was very unique and worth the few dollars. My kids especially loved it! There's a great pool as well.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mazda19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephSIRH, Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Morning!

We're glad you chose us to be part of your vacation and that you enjoyed the facilities of the Hotel. The Project is certainly a favourite for many-- thank you for supporting the cause!

See you on your next Belize adventure. My best,

Stephanie Elena
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This was our first trip to Belize and the San Ignacio Hotel did not disappoint! Everyone from the front desk to the housekeepers were so friendly and I appreciate the small touches such as remembering our names. It is in a great location and made it easy to walk everywhere. Don't look any further for your hotel if staying in San Ignacio!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephSIRH, Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Good morning Ms. Ashley! Many thanks for the raving review-- we're extremely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Resort along with the service provided. We hope to host you again in the near future,

Stephanie Elena
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

My husband and two grown kids stayed here in August. The experience could not have been improved, seriously. The staff was absolutely amazing from the moment we arrived to our departure. The hotel itself is beautiful and impeccably clean. We ate there exclusively and every meal was a treat. We walked to town several times and bought fruit at the market. The walk back is a bit of a hike (very steep hill!) but felt good. We took the Tikal tour which was a highlight. We also visited with the iguanas. =) I must mention Cruz, who picked us up at the water taxi in Belize City and also drove us to the airport on our way out. This made it so easy! He was engaging to talk with and gave us a lot of history on the area. I HIGHLY recommend San Ignacio Resort Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
4.8 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
850 reviews
5.2 km away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,243 reviews
4.3 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
143 reviews
17.9 km away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
449 reviews
6.6 km away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Address: # 18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: $296 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to guests since 1976, San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. The Resort has been awarded with the title HOTEL OF THE YEAR 2016/2012, RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR 2016, and HOSPITALITY AWARD 2015 by the Belize Tourism Board. Perched on a hillside located within a 17-acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, gives the Resort its unique name of "the only jungle in town". A short walk puts you in downtown San Ignacio or in the middle of Belize's ancient Maya temples known as Cahal Pech. The Hotel offers various amenities where visitors can relax and enjoy amazing views of Belize. In addition, it is home to the award-wining Green Iguana Conservation Project, located on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing