We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
970
223
33
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
970
223
33
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iguana project reuben in town balcony room master suite green iguana housekeeping staff i highly recommend this hotel on site turn down service mayan ruins steep hill the entire staff welcome drink cayo district medicinal trail restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

This is a top rated place only because of the quality of style it shows from the outside but within they do only the normal. They seemed to charge for everything Im not a cheap skate but to charge an extra $4 for cheese in eggs is riduclous.
They supposely top of line but when I stayed 2 hours away in Placencia at Robert Grove the price was the same and they gave free breakfast and cooked fresh eggs on the spot every morning. When I say only the normal these people charge for everything.
Now I can't lie the proximity to down town San Ignacio is priceless. You have to walk up and down a hill to get to downtown but literally in walking distance. The perfect spot for an hotel . So if you will not be in your room all day and dont plan on being around the hotel much you will be ok with some of the things you will experince.

I dont like dogging places out so i kept it to the minumum but beware of your room being in a basement and when you look out window a jungle , their is absouluty no mountain veiw as advertise, and the conceirge doesnt know that they advertise it as a hotel and casino resort, he was clueless , but the little casino next door is open if you want to go.
Again theres alot more but i wish they would train their people better heard that it was labeneese owners not belizean so the owners must not train their people good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank DFLEGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephSIRH, Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear DFlege,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your personal experience at San Ignacio Resort Hotel.

Unfortunately, it seems that the Resort was not able to meet your expectations and we are truly disappointed in that. We wish you would have notified us that you did not like the location of the Regal Room, which is on the lower level of the hillside, while you were with us so that we could have perhaps accommodated you in a different room. Please note that our accommodations are priced based just on the room; however, we have also meal packages available for your preference.

Regarding your experience with our Concierge: Our goal is to exceeed guests expectations with unsurpassed levels of luxury service and hospitality and it seems this did not happen in your case. We will address this with the Concierge so that he can be more familiar of our online presence and better informed to answer inquiries. Just to clarify, we are not a Hotel casino and we only provide rental space; both companies are under different management.

Our owners are descendants of Lebanese, born and raised in Belize. Their mission is to provide visitors with great service throughout their stay and contribute to making their Belize experience memorable, regardless of their ethnic background.

Thank you for choosing San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Respectfully,

Stephanie Elena
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Me and my family look for excuses to stay at San Ignacio Resort Hotel and seem to be there every 3 or 4 months. The hotel and staff are wonderful and they make me and my family feel like we are a part of there family. I highly recommend the San Ignacio Resort Hotel.

Shawn Stanchfield

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShawnS2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

San Ignacio Resort is situated within walking distance to town, ruins and several dining options. The staff was very friendly and did everything possible to accommodate our stay in the Cayo. The rooms are comfortable the pool is nice... spent the last morning drinking coffee out on the patio while watching the Toucans get their morning exercise.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Everything about this hotel was top quality. Our room had a great view of the forest, it was clean, quiet and the service was great. The concierge was very helpful with the best way to visit Cahal Pech and with all our questions. Breakfast at the restaurant was very good, with delicious fresh fruits.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

In June, my husband, grandson, and I made our annual trek to San Ignacio, Belize. This trip was shorter and gave us the opportunity to stay at hotels in the area instead of our summer-long stays at vacation rentals. We stayed at the Resort for three nights and enjoyed every moment! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They made sure we were immediately taken care of during check-in. Each day, the room staff brought us a culinary treat (around 4 pm). There was always bottled drinking water available and each time we walked down the very long, mahogany-lined hallway, we were met with smiles and greetings from the housekeeping staff. My grandson felt very "special" as these ladies made special effort to joke with him, encouraging him to "enjoy his treat at 4:00"! The pool area is set into the jungle banks of the river. One afternoon a 5-foot iguana sunned on the cool deck with hotel guests. The Resort houses the Green Iguana Project under the canopy of the jungle just steps behind the hotel. (The Project is an eco project the raises and re-introduces the green iguana back into its natural habit in Belize. Their efforts have been a great support to the encouragement of protecting the environment. The Resort also boasts a medicinal trail that educates guests on the importance and use of jungle plants. Each of these tours can be purchased at the front desk and are well worth the time.) The hotel was built in 1972 and over the years, the owners/operators have worked to keep the original beauty of the building up-to-date. There is construction going on...next door at the casino, suites added upstairs...but even this doesn't distract from the jar-dropping beauty of the resort as one enters the front door...The staff at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel work hard to make each guest feel as "royal" as their 1994 guest Queen Elizabeth II! (If it was good enough for the First Lady of First Ladies...!!)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barnett1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews