We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning grounds, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windy Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windy Hill Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning grounds, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have been staying in San ignacio this winter and paid a very modest fee for a membership to use the fitness center at Windy hill. The people have bent over backwards to make the facilities work for my specific needs. they know how to do hospitality right! The grounds are just so lovely, the surroundings overcome the challenge of working out in the tropical heat. There is always someone proudly working on the grounds.

Yesterday I used their pool, it was crystal clean and had a view of the grounds and jungle that was sooo lovely. Meals there are great too! You do not have to be staying there to enjoy the restaurant. I have asked around and the rates are really good for lodging. It looks like a super bargain to me. Hihly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventuregirrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    102
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
82
131
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent 4 days in this relaxing and beautiful resort in April. The hotel is a 4-5 hour drive from the International airport and close to the border with Guatemala. The town of San Ignacio does not have much to offer, but the resort situated a few miles above the town is a quiet respite from the days excursions. The resort is spread over several acres of land, and the rooms are housed in cottages on top of the hill and offer a lot of privacy and great views. We got two neighboring cottages - one with a queen bed for us (the parents) and the other with two single beds for the kids. Both the cottages were air-conditioned, which is a plus during the warm afternoons. Both rooms came with balconies with hammocks and locally designed chairs, where one could relax. We spent most of the afternoons and evenings lazing on the balcony and watching the birds or the sunset over the horizon.
Since the resort is so far from anywhere else, it is all inclusive- in that all 3 meals are included. The meals are served in an unpretentious but clean and attractive dining room. A pair of friendly waiters greet you and read out the menu offerings (you get to choose between 2 or 3 items available). Once your order is taken, the food is freshly prepared and served up in style. The food was very good and the service even better. There is a small bar with a limited menu.
The resort has it's own pair of pet macaws that hang around the dining area and will talk and pose with anyone interested in taking pictures. There are also hiking trails and horse-back riding available.
The infinity pool which lies midway between the cottages is awesome and offers great views of the surrounding countryside.
While we were there, the only other people were a pair of German tourists and so it was quiet and relaxing.
We took a day-trip to Tikal, arranged through the hotel and it was an amazing experience, notwithstanding the terrible border crossing and the dishevelled roads in Guatemala and the lingering fear of being attacked by the then still festering rebellion. But we came back unscathed. Tikal is amazing and deserves to be listed among the top sites of the world. I wished that I could have spent a few days living in Tikal itself. We saw Coatamundis and monkeys, but little else in the way of wildlife, though the layout and the architecture and history of Tikal will fascinate most people. The tallest skyscraper in the Americas and maybe in the world for over 500 years was at Tikal till the Empire State Building went up in NYC.
We took another trip rafting through beautiful subterranean caves. Our guide Steven was superb and went out of his way to make sure that everyone had a good time, which included carrying our younger 11 yr old son on his back through the rock filled stream, to helping our 16 yr old swing on a rope and jump into the lagoon. Where else in the world would someone go out of their way to make sure that everyone is having a good time, when there is nothing at stake.
We took a couple of other trips, but the best part of this hotel is that you leave after breakfast on your trip, and when you come back, it is like coming back home. You enjoy the hot shower, the clean bed, the air-conditioning, the food and comfort. It feels just like what home should be, but often isn't. I wouldn't mind spending weeks here just lazying around and perhaps getting to write my first great novel.

Room Tip: All rooms offer privacy and views, but the further away you are, the quiteter and more private it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights, Dec 2 - 6. Windy Hill arranged all our transfers and tours. Everyone should experience Market Day (Saturday) in San Ignacio, and we went to Che Chem Ha Cave, Tikal and Caves Branch, where we ziplined and cave tubed. All our tours and guides were awesome, and the staff at Windy Hill were great also. Our cottage was spotless, the grounds were beautiful, and the food was fantastic. Windy Hill also arranged our hotel at San Pedro, everything went without a hitch. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas City, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I had the chance of coming to beautiful Belize; was in San Ignacio visiting the marvelous Chechem Ha anda Caracol. Stayed at Windy Hill and was a lovely experience. Pool is just great after the daily activities. Food is good and the staff is fantastic. Enjoyed thw timber cottages. TV´s are rather small. No phone in the room. But enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Liked the rooms right i front of the pool Number 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I found out about this place on Trip Advisor and decided to book because they offered all of the adventures I wanted to do. It was a little more expensive than the places we stayed at along the coast but I think the price was fair compared to other resorts in San Ignacio. The food was good, our adventures were amazing, and the privacy was great. Maybe it was just the down season but it felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves, which was great. They even upgraded us to an air conditioned room. The property is beautiful and so is San Ignacio. Book at Windy Hill for a wonderful stay on the east side of Belize. Book in the down season for a better value. PS: If you plan of staying a few nights the pool is a great way to relax on a day off from adventures.

Room Tip: AC was sweet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJ206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
3.0 km away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.6 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.9 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.7 km away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.4 km away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hill Resort

Property: Windy Hill Resort
Address: Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price range (per night): $130 - $207
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Rivers, Maya Temples, Gentle Mountain Breezes...Service Extraordinaire! Located in the foothills of the Maya Mountains, the most diverse and beautiful area of Belize, Windy Hill Resort & Tour Company provides all the modern conveniences in a lush tropical setting and just minutes away from the archaeological sites and other popular attractions in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windy Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Hill Hotel San Ignacio
Windy Hill San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing