We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
El Rey Hotel(Belmopan)(Great Value!)
USD 63*
USD 50*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaguar Creek(Belmopan)
USD 139*
USD 130*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 180*
USD 160*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 94*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tropical Guest House(Belmopan)(Great Value!)
USD 51*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 126*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 174*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa San Juan(Belmopan)
USD 114*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 131*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 270*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
777
117
21
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
777
117
21
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree houseoutdoor showerblack hole dropian andersonbotanical gardenscheese tastingthe riverhowler monkeyscanopy viewbuffet stylean adventureother gueststreehouse roomcheese makingjungle lodgefamily stylezip lining
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

After reading all the previous reviews,I was extremely disappointed! We absolutely love Belize, and we already had spent a week in Hopkins Bay , but we wanted to spend a couple of nights closer to the Cayo district. We thought we had preordered a treehouse room for our family of five( two 6 year olds and an 8 year old), but we were mistaken . We were given #7 jungle room, which was ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE! It was situated right next to a cheese house and its generator/ air conditioner roared all night.The room was also very close to the road and a workshop , so there was almost nonstop noise. The room was actually 2 small connecting rooms with screens instead of windows and walls.The kids room had a few drapes, but the master had nothing and the sun rose by 5:30 AM. The fan in the master was set so high that unless we were standing , we felt no air movement and there was NO AIR CONDITIONING!!. The temp was in the high 80's with high humidity!Because we were on the jungle floor, there was no air movement and the heat was oppressive. The mattress was also as hard as a rock. They had no mosquito nets- just mosquito coils ( basically incense) , which bothered my allergies but did nothing to repel the mosquitoes. We got bitten alive by biting flies, mosquitoes and spiders. The room was infested! I basically felt that we spent $240 American dollars to sleep in a tent in a jungle alongside a major highway. We love the jungle and have camped deep into the Peruvian Amazon and the jungles of Papau New Guinea, so I can take oppressive heat and bugs. However, in those situations, any discomfort was offset by the amazing animal life and natural wonders you see. All we saw at Ian Anderson's was bugs ,and we were minutes from a major highway. There were no outlets in the room and no WFI except in the lobby. There were 4 phone charging plugs in the room, but only 1 worked. Unless you have your own car you are basically forced to eat every meal at the hotel, as I am not aware of any taxi service to town (20min). Meals are provided 3 times a day and otherwise there is no other food that you can buy at the resort. There is no in room fridge, and the prohibit any food in the rooms.They appeared to have a lot of great tours through the resort, but Robert was so incredibly rude to my children, we opted to do private tours with Amado (amadocastillo360@yahoo.com). On a positive note, the botanical gardens on the grounds are beautiful and the breakfast buffet was very good. Also the lush setting next to the river was very picturesque from the lobby. We absolutely love Belize and we'll definitely be back, but not to Ian Anderson's Cave Branch.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoda G, Director of Sales at Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Lynn,

How disappointed we are that you were disappointed! You experience however is the perfect example of how little research was done prior to your visit with us. We noted several points that may be helpful not only for you but also to any readers who stop in to check the reviews... They are as follows:

1) Caves Branch is clearly not for everyone. We make specific points to stress this and even have a page dedicated to this effect on our website. It details that things you will and will NOT find at Caves Branch such as air conditioning and hairdryers for example as well as our rooms being fully open but screened to keep our bugs.

2) This page also mentioned that we are NOT sanitized from the Jungle- we are part of it. Again, this suggests that our lodge is NOT for everyone and in which case, rooms- CAN have critters in them and we expect that if you make the choice to visit, you are aware of this. We do not offer nor advertise mosquito nets as your rooms are again fully screened. At check-in, our staff detail that doors should be kept closed as much as possible in order to avoid having winged insects take over. Outlets are also not available in most rooms and especially not in the Suites. Minibars are NOT advertised, offered or even referred to in any of our guest rooms Again-concerns that could have been identified and cleared up if our website had been reviewed.

3) Since you booked through Expedia and it is evident that you booked late on the afternoon prior to checking in with us the following day. We normally send out a detailed confirmation letter that explains what you can and should expect during your visit. Also, in reviewing your booking on Expedia, you clearly booked a Jungle Bungalow- that comes complete with photos of the room that you selected- you then were not "given" just any room, but rather what you had reserved.

4) When you checked in, Robert personally handled your arrangements and offered- prior to taking you to your room- a FREE UPGRADE from a Jungle Bungalow to a Riverview Treehouse for your 2nd night which you declined! He had already upgraded you from a Jungle Bungalow which was the room type you paid for to a Jungle Suite, which you accepted. The suites are styled for families with kids as it offers a bit of privacy from the bedroom, with bunkbeds in the living room area.

5) Due to our location in Belize, we are not near any other dining establishments or options. That is just the way Belize is- in remote or rural areas, few dining options are available. Hence the reason that most of our guest select and purchase All Inclusive Travel Packages that include their meals and activities. We do not "force" anyone to stay with us or eat with us but if you are wanting other dining options, then sadly, this is not available in the early morning or late evenings except that you dine with us. (At check-in, Robert also advised that if you had your own vehicle you had the ability to eat in nearby Belmopan or San Ignacio but all you needed to do was let us know so that our kitchen staff could prepare appropriately).

6) Although meal times are at set times (Dinner is served at 6pm and breakfast is served at 8am) bar snacks ARE available from 11am through to 5:00pm daily. Food then, is available outside of set meal times.

7) Since you booked so quickly with us and checked in right with very little time after booking, it is then evident that you had already booked your activities through the vendor mentioned. You had already come prepared to do these with him. Had your reviewed our website in detail or even briefly you would have noted the wide range and selection of adventures and day tours offered- many of them are located on our estate and only minutes away from the lodge.

8) Lastly, it may have come across to you as Robert being rude to your children, however when it comes to the safety and well-being kids as well as guest- basically ANY visitor- he was absolutely correct in asking that they NOT dive into the swimming pool and refrain from the continued jumping. Being as we are remotely located, getting urgent medical attention is not easy and this is something we stress to ALL of our guests. We do expect that families with young children provide them with the guidance and appropriate parenting needed to avoid medical emergencies but when this is not forthcoming, it then becomes our staff's duty to call attention to the situation and do our best to avoid any unfortunate incident and injury.

All said, we do apologize that you did not find Caves Branch to your travel taste and do appreciate your review nonetheless. We are happy that you did find breakfast to your satisfaction and that the views of the river and gardens were to your enjoyment. We do hope that when you visit Belize again, you will have the time to thoroughly review the hotels that you stay at- prior to check in- to ensure that the same experience does not repeat itself. Providing ALL visitors to Belize with the best possible experience is our united aim. Wishing you and your family all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

My 13 y/o daughter and I were here for a good 7 days or so.

The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. We were treated like family and laughed a lot with all of them. Ian himself stopped by to introduce himself, say hi, and chat with his guests a few times as well.

During meals you're paired with other travelers at your table by rooms, which we found to be a great idea. You get to meet other people from all over the world, share your experiences from the different activities, and make new friends. Great offering of food at the buffet at every meal too.

They have a couple of unique and exclusive activities, like the Black Hole drop and Waterfall cave hike. We did both and had a lot of fun doing both, which was led by their fun and knowledgable guides.

At night we played games, hung out at the pool, and chatted with new traveler friends.
My daughter who was nervous about a lot up front, said it was by far the most fun and now her favorite place that she's ever visited.

Really the only downside of the stay were the mosquitos. We got eaten alive, but that has nothing to do with Caves Branch.

A very authentic, family-oriented (whether you have kids or not), and professionally run place. Thanks so much for everything Caves Branch, we hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoda G, Director of Sales at Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear pkthatsme,

We are absolutely THRILLED to read your review and especially about the part where you daughter feels that this is her favorite stay ever! This is exactly the reaction that we are always aiming for and wanting to create for each of our visitors... Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As to the mosquitoes, we do live in the jungle and the part of the world where these little buggers are prominent. For our readers who are planning to visit in the future, please be sure to bring bug spray with you for those times of the day when they are really out. Because we are located deep in the rainforest, they do tend to come out during early morning or late afternoon periods and especially during rainy times so again, be sure to add a few bottles of the stuff. We certainly do look forward to hosting you again in the very near future- just remember our Return Guest Loyalty Program which we encourage you to take advantage of....Wishing you all the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I have to admit that I was hesitant in booking Cave's Branch. We are independent travellers and we rented a car to drive to the hotel. The majority of the other guests had booked the 'package' including room, meals, and tours. Most days we did our own things and never felt pressured to book tours with the hotel. We did join in for breakfast and dinner. It was fantastic to hear about other people's caving tours and war wounds (usually just mud and sweat!)

The accomodations were FANTASTIC! Considering you are in the jungle and it is HOT, we were never uncomfortable. We enjoyed the outdoor jungle showers, which are private, so no worries about streaking through the jungle!

Definately splurge for even just 1 or 2 nights for the treehouse! We had the opportunity to stay in both the bungalow and the treehouse and both were gorgeous. The treehouse, of course, was AMAZING!

The staff here are the most authentic and kind people. They truly wanted us to enjoy the hotel, jungle, and their community. We have travelled to many places and customer service has become more of a script. Not here!

We considered staying closer to San Ignacio, but we only spent one day there and as we passed the turnoffs for other resorts I had considered, we realized that the location of Cave's Branch was far better - closer to the airport, and only 10 minutes to Belmopan for Ice Coffee at Formosa Cafe.

Driving in Belize was pretty easy. My iphone loaded our location on maps without data or a local sim card.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kells_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoda G, Director of Sales at Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear kells_on_holiday,

Thank you so much for your review... We are so honored and thrilled to know that we were able to change your mind regarding our lodge and in a turn around, we scored a WIN! We enjoyed hosting you and are simply delighted that you found your room to be comfortable, the meals to be tasty and enjoyable and although you did not mention doing any of the activities, we would hope that on your second visit (which we hope can be soon) that you will add those to your list of things to do at Caves Branch!
Best wishes from our family to yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This was our second stay with Cave's Branch, and will certainly not be our last. The entire staff is just so wonderful. Everyone at the lodge really just makes you feel so welcome. The food is amazing, and very plentiful, including cheeses made in-house and fresh fruit from the property. We traveled with a friend with special dietary needs, and the chef made a special main course for her every night. I just wish they still had the kefir and kombucha on the breakfast buffet!

We stayed in one of the treehouses this time, which was a very different experience from the jungle cabana we stayed in last time (also awesome!). The view was amazing and the treehouse itself was huge. The room is half screened in, so that it's open to the surrounding jungle. It also allows the breezes to come through, and even though it rained during the night, we never got any in the room. The outdoor shower is great - even better than the one inside, which was quite nice. Just make sure you bring a flashlight for the walk back to your room after dinner! ;)

The adventures were great. We did the Seven Waterfalls cave tour, which is always excellent. Make sure to bring pants you can really move around in, and shoes with good traction that you don't mind getting wet. We also did the Black Hole drop, which is a very misleading name for an absolutely amazing adventure. We skipped it the first time, because it sounded like you rappel down into darkness, which didn't sound very interesting. Our friend wanted to do it though, so we did, and it was amazing! I'm so glad we did it. The hike through the jungle is pretty intense - a lot of up and down, and some pretty steep and slippery parts, so again - good pants and shoes. The rappel is actually into a sinkhole that is absolutely gigantic and has jungle growing in the bottom of it, and the mouths of two caves. It was the most breathtaking view of the entire trip, 100% worth the hike, and we will absolutely be doing it again the next time we go. Carlos was our main guide for this one, and he is incredibly knowledgeable not just about rappelling, but about the jungle and all the flora and fauna there. Really an amazing tour overall. Interesting, informative, and exciting!

Also just a general thank you to everyone at the lodge - two of our group got sick while we were there ( completely unrelated to Caves Branch), and they were so kind and really looked after them, and we can't thank you enough. No one likes being sick on vacation, and you guys really were just amazing. Thanks for being such kind and thoughtful people, you really make Caves Branch special :3

Room Tip: The jungle cabanas feel more private/intimate, and the treehouses are great for groups and an amazing view. Really can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoda G, Director of Sales at Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Elizabeth V,

We cannot thank you enough for your very informative and thorough review... We are so incredibly happy to know that you enjoyed your second visit with us! We are of course thrilled to know that you explored the rainforest on the Black Hole Drop adventure.... while the name Might be "misleading" however as the sinkhole does have the appearance of being "black" when standing at the rim and looking down, hence the name. The Waterfall Cave is one of our staff favorites and we are again glad you explored that adventure as well- great examples of the real adventures that one can expect when visiting with us.

Thank you also for reminding readers to bring the appropriate pants and shoes for the adventures- this is SOOOOO important, in order to really relax and enjoy the tours without having to worry about personal safety to that extent... Again, thank you so much and we certainly do look forward to your next visit with us very soon!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We spent four nights at the Jungle Lodge and are still pinching ourselves. The people are just SO NICE. Some special "shout outs:" Freddy and Edward at the Bar. The nicest two guys! Loren as a server. A gentle, kind man with a large smile. Angela at the front desk. LOVE HER. SO FUNNY. All of our guides - especially Yummi in Guatemala. We did the Waterfall Cave Adventure, Takal Mayan Ruins and the Black Hole. Food was great and socializing with the other guests was as nice as you would imagine. Made some really good friends in just 4 short days. A special place to take a family!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoda G, Director of Sales at Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Dan R,
We are so very very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us... Thank you so much for your comments and the "shout outs"... Please consider visiting with us again soon- we would LOVE to have you... From everyone here at Caves Branch- THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews