We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
USD 166*
USD 159*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 131*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Juntos Cottages(Teakettle)(Great Value!)
USD 84*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dream Valley(Teakettle)
USD 118*
USD 115*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 123*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Calico Jack's Village(Seven Miles El Progresso)
USD 132*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hidden Valley Inn(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
USD 267*
USD 212*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveller rating
773
117
21
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
773
117
21
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree houseoutdoor showerblack hole dropian andersonbotanical gardenscheese tastingthe riverhowler monkeyscanopy viewbuffet stylean adventureother gueststreehouse roomcheese makingjungle lodgefamily stylezip lining
Filter
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 936 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at caves for the 2nd leg of our honeymoon. We had booked a jungle cabin and stayed in it for one night before being upgraded to a tree house. The tree house was fantastic and would recommend paying the extra to stay in one, they are very very cool and by far the most luxurious jungle accommodation we have ever stayed in. We stayed for 4 nights and did 3 trips, the cave tubing, the black hole drop and the waterfalls trip. They were all amazing especially the black hole drop and the waterfalls trip, don't be put off by their higher rating of exertion as you can go at a pace that suits you although they will get the heart rate pumping!
The food was great and breakfast and dinner you have with all the other residents and is a chance to catch up on the days events and compare notes.
All the people we met were really cool and fun which added to the experience.
The staff were really helpful and friendly. We can't think of anything we would have changed about our experience at caves and hopefully will one day go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I searched around a lot to find the most safe.. adventerous trips we could do, to celebrate my little sister's 50th birthday. We could not have found a more wonderful place to test our nerves, under completely safe circumstances with the most terrific of guides. We did the Waterfall Caves tour and the Black Hole Drop. Both were a test of our spirit... a test of our physical ability... and a huge uplifting experience once we had finished it. We were not "babied", "pushed" or "led up the path", we were allowed to do it in our own time, with guides we completely trusted. Many was the time we could have given up, but with gentle kind encouragement we continued. So glad we did. If you want somewhere to PROVE to yourself... you still GOT IT, then these two tours are a must. Thank you Caves Branch, for providing two of the most exciting experiences of my life.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gkinuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at Caves Branch for one night at the end of July 2012. Our accomodations were very comfortable (family of 5 with 3 teens) and we had a room that was beautiful--large king bed, and lower level with a bunk bed and separate twin--perfect for kids. We thought the baths were lovely and used both indoor and outdoor showers. We loved the pool and enjoyed walking around the gardens. The were in the midst of construction on a new cheesemaking area (I think) but that had no impact on our stay. Food was excellent but slightly pricier for dinner than we had expected--there aren't many other options in the area to choose from if you don't have a car. Staff was very helpful. We did have a slight mix up when we left for Ambergris Caye with what we thought was a flight change but it all worked out in the end.

We booked one adventure tour that we all really enjoyed--the waterfall caving expedition. This involved about a 30 minute walk (easy) through the jungle to the cave where we put on caving harness, helmets etc. Then about 30 minutes into the caves we started swimming (crystal clear water, warm, lots of spectacular formations, and NO crowds--just the 5 of us our 2 guides and a lovely Dutch couple). We climbed 7 waterfalls ranging from maybe 8 feet tall to about 30 feet over about 1 1/2 hours and then jumped down (or you could be hooked in and belayed down if you chose) the waterfalls on the return trip. We all loved this--quotes from our teens (boy 17, girl 16, boy 13) were "this is the best vacation ever". Really a super activity for adventurous people (we do lots of hiking, climbing etc). We would have liked to do several other activities but did not have time as the remainder of our trip was for scuba diving on the Caye and those accomodations were booked before we found Caves Branch. If I were doing it again, I would spend 4 days on Cayes scuba diving and 3-4 days inland doing riding, ruins tours, zoo, and more caving etc. I would return to Caves Branch and have recommended it to friends. We are not big resort people and really enjoy more adventurous travels. This was excellent for our family and what we like to do.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was an absolute amazing place to begin out Honeymoon adventure! Upon arrival, the staff and every experience was top notch. We stayed in a tree house suite overlooking the jungle. Although we didn't spend too much time in our room we still got to enjoy the roof top tub at night, the outdoor shower, the hot coffee and pastry every morning delivered to our door, and the orchestral jungle sounds to lull us to sleep each night!! This place provided the remote feel of a Jungle lodge, with a family style, adventurous atmosphere. We did two adventures; the waterfall cave tour, and the cave tubing. I highly recommend them both! While the cave tubing was a fun way to explore some of the caves and the jungle at a leisurely pace on the river, the waterfall cave tour provided the adrenaline, mayan artifacts, history, and many many many natural forms that you rarely get to see anywhere else! The staff was great and the family style meal times allows you to meet people from all over the world! I would recommend Caves Branch to anyone who wants a taste of adventure/adrenaline and is open to making new friends!

Room Tip: Tree house jungle suites are perfect for the honeymooners or those who want to stay in jungle luxury. It is quite the hike up to the tree house so it is not a place for anyone who has trouble climbing 122 stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Autumn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

When I was given the opportunity to stay at Caves Branch I was a little reluctant. “Stay in the Jungle. No phone, no internet…..what??” Well, was I misguided.
What an incredible experience. I have never slept so well, the staff is perfectly adapted to their job and the food was very good. No major presentation, just breakfast 8am and dinner at 6pm, don’t be late. Everybody sits at a series of long tables and dinner/breakfast is served. You are encouraged to interact with the other guests right away which brought me out of my shell. Very enjoyable. I felt welcome, pampered and appreciated and met many new friends. Everyone having a good time, laughing and enjoying board games, cards and the simple life. And then the guides come along to take you on various adventures that will challenge you but the beauty of the country and its many natural attractions will move you.

Room Tip: If you can and you have a mate with you, stay in a treehouse up high. Its a bit of a climb to get there but sooo worth it. The rooms are incredible and you will never regret it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WALMBAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews