We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
743
70
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
743
70
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish casita mountain view suite outdoor bathtub the river plunge pool paddle boards our honeymoon lookout tower private casita flower petals sister resort fresh flowers mayan ruins housekeeping staff jaguar reef orange groves hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is a must stay place if you are traveling to Belize and want to get a different part of Belize other than beach properties. The food at the restaurant has wonderful food and a good pool. The only knock I would have is the lack of chairs available around the pool, but we did not have a problem just sitting at the edge with our feet in the water. There are many tours that go out of this lodge including cave tubing, bird watching, and a Mayan Ruin tour. Nothing but phenomenal employees working this lodge, you can tell they are proud of the place they work! Friendly too!

Everything about this lodge is beautiful. Our Spanish Casita was tucked away in the mountain and felt very private. The river had paddle boards and kayaks available to rent for free.

We had an issue with 2 of our tours being scheduled on the wrong days when we booked through Viva Belize, but we worked with the front desk and they were gracious enough to allow us to keep our originally scheduled tours and didn't make it seem like a big deal. This is even though they scheduled both tours for us as private tours at no additional cost. So big shout out to Alexander!

We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmaybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a lovely getaway place to experience the jungle! The casitas are large & lovely each with a private deck. They are air conditioned & have fans. Lots of room to spread out. The resort was filled with lush vegitation & peacocks. Had 1 pool which could be crowded and/or noisy but you could go at times when it was quiet. There were many excursions offered: cave tubing, see a blue hole (not the big one) & 2 locations where there are Mayan ruins. Food was yummy at the restaurant with local Mayan/Spanish people serving it up. Lots of rum drinks at a great price $5 or Belikan beer but don’t go for wine or other drinks as double the price. Be sure to bring insect repellent & anti itch spray!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

My husband and I spent 3 night at Sleeping Giant, March 10 - 13. All of the reviews that we read on Tripadvisor are true! The location, rooms, staff and food were wonderful. We had a mountain view room, which was absolutely fantastic, despite the many stairs to get there. Not sure if a river view room would have been better as a couple of times we opted out of going back down as we were feeling the stairs! The mountain view rooms are very private with their own plunge pools, which are kind of like private hot tubs. Amazing views of the Sleeping Giant from our balcony. We never closed the curtains and one night watched amazing lightning in the middle of the night.

We went on two excursions from SGL. The first was the St. Herman's Cave tubing, which was really neat. This tour is rated as "easy" and it was a bit too difficult for an older couple in the group, as you do have to go down steep steps into the cave. Make sure to bring water shoes, though if you don't have any they do have crocs you can borrow. We were supposed to do the Sleeping Giant Cave Tour the next day, but after hearing that we would have to wear long pants to avoid cuts as you end up in tight spots in the cave, opted to change our tour, especially after already seeing a cave. We did speak to some people after they did it and they said it was great but quite challenging. We easily switched our tour to the Mayan Ruins tour, which we were supposed to do later in the week once we moved to Jaguar Reef Lodge. The Mayan Ruins tour was very interesting - definitely recommend doing that one. I would recommend the cave tubing too.

The grounds of the SGL were beautiful and you are in the middle of the rainforest. The stars at night are amazing. Hoped we would see or hear monkeys, but no luck. Did see a toucan and other beautiful birds down by the river. We went on our own night walks and found neat wildlife. They do have an organized night walk that another family did and they saw all kinds of interesting insects and creatures. We did the hike up to the gazebo and it is quite a climb, but worth it! We would have been better in shoes, not sandals, but we didn't want to go make the trip back up to our room to change footwear!

I definitely recommend staying at this resort...it was perfect.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank JanetOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Our Spanish casita was beautiful and spacious. We very much appreciated the no wifi no TV policy in rooms--much more relaxing. Casitas 6, 7, 8, and 9 are by a lovely little creek so you can listen to the rushing water. Casita 1 and 3 looked too close to the road.

Food was pretty good, not great.

For tours, they use Upside Down Yours from Armenia--they're excellent. If you book directly through them it's a private tour and costs less too.

Room Tip: Casitas 6, 7, 8, and 9 are by a lovely little creek so you can listen to the rushing water. Casita 1 and 3 looked too close to the road.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

First off, this location is incredible. There are several jungle boutique resort properties in the area and there is a good reason, it is a gorgeous part of the country/Latin America. Sleeping Giant is an enormous property. Citrus orchards, farm, lush grounds, and terrific jungle hikes abound.

We stayed in one of the mountain rooms as well as a room on the creek. Due to the timing of our stay, it coincided with a large group of students. we had to change rooms. In the end, that was a good thing as we got to experience both locations. The mountain suites are worth the hike (and I mean hike) up a lot of stairs for the view. You are in the jungle, so there are lots of bugs. Screens would have been nice to have on the windows so you could enjoy the air without the bugs. We also noticed our outdoor tub was overdue on its jet cleaning...

This property is a Viva Belize property and they heavily market excursions. Almost to a fault, because you should experience time to relax and restore on the property. Additionally, they charge for some excursions that are standard at other properties we've stayed at in Belize. Ex. Morning Bird Watch

We were probably most disappointed by the restaurant and bar. It was fine, not great for any meal during our stay. The service/servers nice and good, but we found the menu options very limiting and not to our liking. We're big foodies and not picky eaters. We've had many incredible meals in Belize, but these were not among them. Better appetizer selection/or bar eats would greatly enhance things and we'd suggest switching up the menu for dinner. During our 4 nights, we had a hard time finding things we wanted to try or repeat. There are not options to dine nearby, so you eat every meal on the property. Additionally, it would be great to offer pool food and beverage service, but this was not an option while we were there.

A final note, their reception staff was some of the best we have ever encountered, friendly, helpful and extremely welcoming.

Room Tip: mountain suites for sure
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SissyandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews