We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if the Hibiscus is full...”
Review of El Rey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Rey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2017

I paid about $60/night, which qualifies as being overpriced. Credit cards accepted. Room was perfectly fine, clean and comfortable. Good strong A/C. Shower OK--no shortage of hot water. Located in a residential neighborhood about five minutes' walk from some markets and an incongruously good American-style delicatessen. Breakfast served for a small fee at the hotel. Drinks and snacks sold at the front desk. It's a completely decent place where you'll be safe and secure, but the Hotel Hibiscus is way more conveniently located and better value for money...

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

A reasonably nice hotel with good aircon and clean rooms. The laundry and rooms I felt were a bit overpriced however was the cheapest place in Belmopan!

Would avoid belmopan if travelling through as there is nothing to do!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you so much for your candid thoughts, we certainly appreciate each and every reaction even if they are not always glowing or about loving our "diminuative City" which is just over 35 years old and only came into existence in the late 70's. Regarding laundry, We charge US$ 7.50 for a full machine load for washing and drying as a service to guests while laundrets in Belmopan charge US$ 25 - we offer this low cost to help travellers stay fresh on their journeys by simply covering the cost of the: water, electrics, staff and machine repairs, sorry if you felt this was rather high. If coming from Guatemala everyone finds Belize more expensive since our on costs are much higher. Glad you enjoyed your brief stay and yes we are the most economical hotel in the city for rooms with A/C and centrally located and a 10 minute walk from the bus depot - we also have more fancy schmancy rooms too with added comforts for your next visit to Belmopan. We often hear guests maligning that there is "not much to do" in Belmopan, but in reality the city is offering more to its visitors every year as it continues to develop - presently there are almost 50 different dinging options, a vibrant farmers market, entertainment spots, a nightclub, family friendly parks and open spaces, two very well presented museums, banks, retail stores, Government buildings, embassies, football fields, tennis courts, basketball courts and plenty of other retail and outdoor facilities. For a small city of a tad over 12,000, (20,000 if taking in the surrounding 5 communities) similar to a small village in USA or Europe, there is enough to keep us residents busy. For our visitors there is a national Park on the outskirts of the city (Guancaste) and within a 45 minute drive some of the most amazing tour options in Central America, which is why many of our guests choose to stay 3 or more days to be able to venture out in each direction daily for a new adventure. Sorry Belmopan did not totally meet your expectations and hope you will give the city another consideration on your next pass through. Happy to explain in detail all the close by tour options in person. Again thanks for being a kind patron and safe travels within the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We were 3 couples traveling from Belize City down to Placencia, and wanted to spend a couple days in the Blue Hole National Park area. Belmopan was right on the way, and the El Rey Hotel was just what we wanted. It was in a local area which was nice to walk around and there were shops just a couple blocks away, as my friend forgot his flip flops!
In the morning, the choice of world coffees was fun and delicious, as was breakfast.
The rooms were basic, but very clean and nice, and all the hotel staff was great!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you so much for your comments Patrice, we were thrilled to have you and your friends stay with us the night, and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Belize adventure. I am on the way back from a meeting in Honduras in the next few days and loaded up with some really amazing new regional coffees, will save some for you on your next trip through Belmopan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We chose this hotel so we had a launch and landing for an inland tour. Super friendly staff. Nick, the owner was great, as well as the night time desk receptionist. Both owner and front desk staff were very helpful with other areas of Belize and transportation. Clean rooms with private bathrooms were just fine! Great affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms further back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cmi5840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you very much. My wife and I try hard to provide clean affordable spaces for a short or prolonged stay in the City. You hit the nail on the head with your comment about Belmopan being a great base for exploring West, South or East with much to do near Belmopan. Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to meet you and we do appreciate your business very much. Trust you had a fabulous continuation of your Belize vacation to the coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay with my family.
The room had its charm.
It's warm and welcoming hospitality.
The staff from we entered came out to assist with our bags.
In my daughters words a quaint and beautiful hotel.
My favorite was having the option of choosing your coffee of the day depending on what region of the world you felt that morning.
For a different stay and not just a basic, same room.
This is your stay.
Thanks El Rey Hotel.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Javier W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for your comments, we were thrilled to have been able to host you. As I travel around the world and as friends come to visit, there is always a bag of new and exciting coffee in the plan! Glad you enjoyed our big and varied selection, it remains one of our very unique little guest attractions. Thanks for your positive remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
19.6 km away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
673 reviews
2 km away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 km away
Villa San Juan
Villa San Juan
#7 of 17 in Belmopan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Belmopan Bed & Breakfast
Belmopan Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 17 in Belmopan
14 reviews
0.8 km away
Hacienda Tropical Guest House
18 km away
The Green Valley Inn
The Green Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Unitedville
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Hotel

Address: 23 Moho Street, Belmopan, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range: $58 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small property with a big heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing