We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Rey Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
USD 166*
USD 130*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 131*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juntos Cottages(Teakettle)(Great Value!)
USD 84*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dream Valley(Teakettle)
USD 118*
USD 115*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 123*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Inn(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
USD 267*
USD 208*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calico Jack's Village(Seven Miles El Progresso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
40
20
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
20
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdogs barkingair conamazing coffeeresidential neighborhoodnice hotelclean roomsrecommend staying hereblue hole national parkgreat place to staybelize cityenjoyed our staynickearplugs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2017

This place clean, convenient and the staff is friendly and helpful, however, unless you are used to dogs barking all day and night, you won't get any sleep here. We booked for 5 nights, the first night was fine, but the next 2 I could not sleep at all, the dogs barked literally for 5 minutes at a time every 5 minutes. We left and spent our next 2 nights somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrystalsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

We sincerely apologize for the dogs those two nights, though we are powerless to intervene. Sadly, there is no pound in Belize and stray dogs go from neighbourhood to neighbourhood until the City council does a round up, a few times a year, which always wrenches at our hearts as animal lovers. We notice that some of our guests are more sensitive than others to external noises, many times i mention it on the odd night that they do cause a stir and i sometimes get the reaction "what dogs?" - truly sorry this cut short your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 other girls for our medical placement in the local hospital. Really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The host was friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The nightly rate was slightly more than some other places in Belmopan if traveling on a budget but reflected the quality of the service. The food here is really great and is also very reasonably priced. Ate breakfast here every morning and some lunches/dinners. Would recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jess I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Many thanks for your kind remarks and we were happy you chose to stay with us. Great news - we introduced a new category of room "Economy rooms" which now mean we have the lowest priced AC rooms in the city. We opened up 4 rooms with this category and they are snapped up very quickly most nights, so we know that people appreciate this development. Hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to Belmopan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

The El Ray is a warm and welcoming place. The rooms are all different, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean and well maintained. The restaurant is small but serves really delicious local breakfast with an amazing coffee selection. The staff are incredible and Dahlias cheesecake is some of the best I have ever had.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank kymm95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2016

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us! We certainly hope that you will make El Rey Hotel your home away from home when visiting Belmopan again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Clean, Chilly air con, friendly staff.
Best was the comfy bed, WiFi was never an issue, fast.
Moderate price, but a great value.
Requested early check in, the desk staff was friendly and welcoming.
Quiet side street near Embassy Row, UB and capitol centre.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Geof L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in the last leg of our family trip to Belize. We booked this place specifically for the AC room. The room was clean and cozy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food from the kitchen wasn't that bad either and the world coffees were a nice touch. There isn't much to do in Belmopan itself but it is a nice location for access to other areas of the country. We took a trip to the Belize zoo, a guide picked us up for a cavetubing adventure as well as a trip to the ATM cave tour (a must do!). It was a nice place and the walk over to the bus station and nearest restaurants wasn't too bad either.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Santo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews