We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure, welcoming, beautiful nature, clean, off the beaten path”
Review of Nature Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nature Resort
Reviewed 16 August 2017

My partner and I stayed here in February. We traveled for 3 months to Belize, Panama, Colombia, and Peru and this was one of our most memorable experiences.

The cabanas were a beautiful way to ease in to our vacation together, clean with a private bathroom. Access to laundry and really great local food!

We floated down the beautiful Belize river learning about nature and wildlife with Russel seeing great blue herons and howler monkeys by day and crocks by night (even got to hold a baby!) We went fishing, for nature walks, visited the small but interesting museum next door and played with the local pups.

We saw the Lamanai Mayan ruins - travelling down the amazingly beautiful river by boat (we fed a spider monkey!)

We hung out with locals in the area who were opening a resort of their own down the road. They offered a great and great company. We also went swimming down by their place.

Bring mosquito repellent and go on all the tours!

We will definitely go back and are grateful for our time spent there!

Room Tip: cabins at the front can hear howler monkeys pretty close by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed with Roy in June 2017. We were the first ones who experienced the new room above the restaurant. The room was very clean, spacious, had 3 beds, and a nice bathroom. It had a quiet and excellent working A/C too. The wifi was working great in the room. The dinner and breakfast served in the new restaurant were awesome. The property is great for kids. Micheal the ground keeper gave us a tour through the labyrinth of paths of the Baboon Sanctuary. We also did the crocodile night tour with Russell. Our boys (14, 11, 9) were thrilled when he snatched a baby crocodile right out of the water. They could hold it and pet it for a bit. We also saw 2 crocodiles swimming right next to the canoe. A little scary for Mom but not for the boys! All in all we saw at least 20 crocodiles (eyes were glowing when Russell scanned the river with his flash light).
The drive to the airport is easy and takes not more than 45 minutes.
We had a great time at the Nature Resort!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank carolinthalmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RYoungNatureResort, Owner at Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Share your experience with your friends.
Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We have been visiting the Bermudian Landing village in Belize for the last three years. Every time we come to the area, we stay at the Nature Resort with Dr. Young. The place has grown and improved so much over the past three years, but Dr. Young has always been an amazing and helpful host. Our last visit was in mid-March of 2017, we had a group of 7 total. Three of us were in the two Cashew cabanas, and the other four stayed in the Howler Monkey rooms. We also ate nearly all of our meals on site in the new dining room Dr. Young had built recently. The meals were well-priced, fresh, and delicious.

While there are many hotels in the city to choose from, it's worth the drive out to Bermudian Landing. You will soak up much more local flavor out in the jungle and there are many local treasures to enjoy. Within walking distance is the river as well as the Baboon Sanctuary where you can learn about the local natural history and see/feed monkeys. It's also a very short drive to the Belize Zoo further south, and west to Altun-Ha ruins. If you do want to go into the city for shopping or to catch a water taxi out to the cayes, it's a quick 45 minute drive.

The rooms are modest by American standards, but perfectly clean and comfortable, with well functioning A/C and showers. Every year the rooms are slightly better than the year before - Dr. Young takes pride in the resort and is constantly working to improve it. The grounds are beautiful, and each cabana has a deck with chairs/hammocks to relax outside and enjoy the jungle surroundings.

We have stayed at other hotels in Belize/on surrounding cayes, and this is hands down our favorite!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RYoungNatureResort, Owner at Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This little 2 1/2 -3 hr tour(longer if you would like) truly wonderful. A slow and easy guided canoe ride along muscle creek at night .
There were three of us so we traveled with two canoes and three guides with spotlights and extensive knowledge of the creek Russel Micheal and the new guy Kevin, they were great people to be with, very easy going.
We spotted exotic jungle birds and crocodiles,I actually held a baby croc.
This was a clear moonless, star lit evening. I would say my highlight of the night was when we were at a wide part of the creek,the water was so calm it provided a mirror like reflection of the stars, and with all the fireflies at the banks, it really seemed as though you were floating through the universe. Truly a life time and life long memory that I would encourage anyone to experience.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Garry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

My cabana was modest, but beautiful. The plot of land it's on has friendly horses, cats, and dogs that roam freely. Fall asleep to the sounds of the jungle out your window. The nature hikes in the morning with Conway and Geraldine are amazing, they're very knowledgeable and interesting people to chat with in general. Take the crocodile night tour with Russell, he's wonderful and you're guaranteed an adventure. The owners of the Nature Resort will cook you traditional meals (not included in the price of your room), they are absolutely delicious! If I get back to Belize I will come back here.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RYoungNatureResort, Owner at Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your comments. We look forward to having you again.
Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
38.2 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
14.9 km away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
594 reviews
33.3 km away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 km away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
35.7 km away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
71 reviews
36.6 km away
Bella Sombra Guest House Kings Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Resort

Address: Community Baboon Sanctuary, Bermudian Landing | P.O. Box 377, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Belize City
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Resort is a small resort nestled in the Community Baboon Sanctuary in Bermudian Landing, Belize District. It provides a good opportunity to see the Howler Monkeys and explore other flora and fauna of the rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Resort Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing