We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Once Construction Is Finished”
Review of Nature Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nature Resort
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We were at The Nature Resort in early January 2016. It will be a gems once construction is finished ( anticipated by end of Jan, early Feb 2016). It's just down the road from The Howler Monkey Resort, but we felt it had a more open and welcoming vibe. We stayed in a spic and span clean double bungalow (on stilts with thatch roof), very comfortable beds, hammock out on the veranda, howler monkeys growling away in the background--all this with excellent wi-fi--to boot!!!

The resort borders the Howler Monkey Sanctuary on 2 sides, so lots of jungle to explore. They offer night tours (with Russell - dubbed Crocodile Dundee 2), and day time river tours. We took advantage of both tours and found them to be exceptional--very informative AND fun. Roy, the owner ( a retired mathematics college professor), was very kind and accommodating. Everyone at the resort was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Lincoln, one of the resort employee, specifically went to find us and drew our attention to a flock of toucans...yes..a flock of TOUCANS!!! who knew they travel in flocks??

I would definitely stay here again. But this time around, I'd rent a car. Driving in Belize is fairly safe and easy.

Room Tip: All bungalows are stand alone, so all offer good views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grasshopper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2015

Awesome experience with the howler monkeys. Stay longer than one night if you want to get the real flavor of the village and the environment. Having the studio apartment allowed us to cook for ourselves. Good bus service in and out of town. One of a kind experience.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

The Nature Resort is in a tranquil setting in the heart of the community baboon sanctuary. The cabins are cool looking and very comfortable. The porches make for great places to gather and rehash the day's activities. The food is good, don't miss the fry jack for breakfast. Roy is a great host and will help you arrange all manner of adventure. We took a bird watching trip to crooked tree, explored the ruins at Lamanai, and tubed the Cave Branch River, all aranged by Roy.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We stayed at the Nature Resort for our first night in Belize. We had no problems making our reservations by email. Roy responded quickly, answered all of our questions (of which there were many!) and accommodated all of our requests beautifully. He met us at the airport, had coffee ready when we arrived at the resort (one of our requests), showed us the lovely Cashew Cabanas where we stayed (worked great for 2 couples), fed us a totally yummy dinner and breakfast (be sure to ask for fry jacks!), and arranged an AWESOME river tour with Russell.

The rooms are simple, and you are in the jungle so there are bugs and critters. Everything worked fine for us, however. We heard the howler monkeys during the night, which is exactly what we hoped for. Bird life and the jungle around the lodge are lovely. We were allowed to check out late at no extra cost, which gave us time for a shower and nap after the morning boat tour. The meals were served outdoors, when we asked for them, and were very tasty! We met Roy's wife (who cooked our dinner) and a couple of his daughters. Roy himself was happy to tell us about the history of the village and CBS and point out birds and wildlife around us. Everyone was very friendly and helpful!

The actual Community Baboon Sanctuary (CBS) is a fascinating and admirable effort, and the Nature Lodge has you right next door to the museum and center of the CBS. We learned a lot about it from both Roy and Russell, and were pleased to be directly supporting the efforts of the Belizeans right there in the villages. The website for the CBS is somewhat out of date. There is no restaurant now, for example, but the museum was interesting, and the river tour was one of the highlights of our trip! We saw lots of howler monkeys, iguana, exotic birds and one little crocodile. Russell was very knowledgeable about everything - plants, animals and culture. We would all definitely recommend the river tour - and Russell, and wish that we had had times for other adventures there. The tour ended with Roy and Russell picking us each a fresh coconut off the tree and opening it so we could drink the delicious juice inside.

This is not a luxury resort, but we did experience a taste of real Belize village life and culture in a very comfortable and enjoyable way!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had tried calling to make a reservation both by phone and email, neither of which were working. When we showed up our driver talked to the guys at the Bacon Sanctuary and was told to go pick up a woman at the school across the street so she could let us in, but then we had to stop at her house so she could get the key to the bungalow. She had offered meals if we would need any since she is the one who cooks them (she is also the housekeeper), and she seemed put upon when we agreed to wanting dinner that night. We ended up going down the road to the mini mart for some PB&J and chips rather than getting the meals.

At first glance the room was clean and spacious. But after finishing checking in we found two cockroaches in the fridge, and every drawer in the chest of drawers had small turds in them.

The next day our toilet clogged (it has a very weak flush!) and when we saw Roy, the owner, checking in a couple new guests we asked him for a plunger or some help. He said he would help after getting them checked in. The housekeeper told us Roy would be by the evening we arrived; he never showed. I ran into him the next day at noon and told him we'd be available for a couple hours; he never showed. We saw him again as the other couple checked in and asked for assistance; he never returned. We were left without a working toilet all day and no way to contact Roy or the housekeeper seeing as Roy doesn't even live in Bermudian Landing. Instead, Roy knew we were leaving the next morning and he wanted payment, so he showed up at 7am, waking us up, to ask if he should come back later for the toilet.

As for our neighbors, their shower didn't work. And at one point a breaker was flipped, but the fuse box for both rooms was in our room. Had we not been staying in that room, that family may not have gotten the electricity back that night since the management are so inaccessible.

The land is lovely -- I saw an agouti and a possum, the sound of the bats at night added to the scene, there were horses and egrets feeding in our front yard in the morning. Plus the location is very convenient right behind the baboon sanctuary. But the management was very poor, which made for a difficult experience. Be forewarned that the WiFi is only at the sanctuary, not in the cabins. If you go when it's been raining expect your feet to get wet as the ground was mostly flooded and very little sand or gravel had been put down to make a drier path. And you might want to choose a room with the fuse box... Just in case.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
38.2 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
33.3 km away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.9 km away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 km away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
35.7 km away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
71 reviews
34.2 km away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Resort

Address: Community Baboon Sanctuary, Bermudian Landing | P.O. Box 377, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Belize City
Price Range: $64 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Resort is a small resort nestled in the Community Baboon Sanctuary in Bermudian Landing, Belize District. It provides a good opportunity to see the Howler Monkeys and explore other flora and fauna of the rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Resort Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing