We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
154
7
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
7
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kayak surfing water sports adventure island belize city lead guide no pressure other guests feel comfortable great escape favorite part facilities are excellent buffet style played volleyball board games sound of waves crashing an amazing job falling asleep
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We took 7 family members from 19-76 years old and there was something for everyone!! From the windsurfing to coconutology class, it was the dream Christmas vacation of a lifetime!! One of the best reasons to go there is the sheer number of types of high end gear from which to choose. From beginner paddle boards to surf kayaks to fishing kayaks, everyone of us found gear that fit us at our own pace. Many of us went planning on reading lots on the beach, but it was so fun to go to all the guide lead programs that we wish we could have stayed a month!! The food was fabulous!!!! And the staff made us all feel so welcomed and safe! And their night programs were a blast too!! We learned about island and sea critters, we danced and sang, we played volleyball and board games and had a ball listening to the comedians! Thanks, Magdaleno, German, Kyle, Steve, Louis, Marcy, Laverne, Pol, Martin, etc, etc!!! You guys are the best and made the trip what it was!!!!!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FrancesBoggess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Our trip was excellent, we loved our experience. Our whole reason for coming was we wanted good snorkeling and we found it! The variety of sea life and the abundant coral is not something you find many places. Our favorite part of the trip was the friendly, involved and very necessary guides. I thought that MJ did a great job communicating expectations and procedures. He was extremely friendly and made everyone feel comfortable. All his attention to teaching and safety was great. Well done! German, Steven and Neri were all wonderful too! And the cooks did an AMAZING job!!! Love the food! Everyone we interacted with was fabulous.
This is the kind of island resort that is best for people who want an unspoiled island with plenty of adventure. It is NOT the sort of place who want lots of amenities and luxury. We LOVED the whole thing!

Room tip: All bungalows are located right on the ocean
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ehnbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

My daughter and I were looking to escape the "holiday hoopla" this year and decided to try the Slickrock Adventure at Glover's Reef. We had so much fun! From being the hood ornaments on the Batfish (the boat that takes you to the island) to falling asleep to the sound of waves crashing right outside our window, we couldn't have asked for a better get away. The guides were friendly, helpful and always around when we needed them. The cooks were amazing and even let us watch them at work. All of the food was prepared fresh everyday and it was delicious! The cabanas, while basic, were comfortable and well maintained. (A note: it is always very windy on the cabana side of the island). There was plenty of equipment and the instruction was beneficial. Safety was emphasized, too, so there was no reason to not try something new.

We could socialize with the other guests, or not. We could participate in the many activities, or not. No pressure, no judgement. Even when playing the silly evening games. With no internet access, it was truly an opportunity for everyone to enjoy each other's company. And we did!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTPSandyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Our family of 8, including a 4 and a 6 year old, ventured to Slickrock for a 10 day vacation. It was a 3 generation trip and the staff accommodated all the varying levels of expertise and interests in the wide variety of activities that are offered. The lead guide, MJ, was not only extremely talented in the water sports; he was a great teacher/communicator. Luis and German had enthusiasm and expertise to spare and you always felt included in any activity you wished to participate in. We also enjoyed the knowledge they had about the history of Belize, the flora and fauna of the island area, and the low or high tide nature discovery which they made fun !
We always looked forward to meals. The food was fresh, buffet style, featured Belizian cooking techniques and presentation. For the kids, Marcy and Aurora( the kitchen wizards), saved aside a portion of food without the sauces which showed they really care about their guests, even the little tykes! Homemade luscious desserts twice a day....you will not lose weight despite all the sports!
You can hang out in your thatched roof cabin , lounge in your private hammock or share a cocktail(we picked up some coconut rum in Belize City at the local grocery store we visited on our first night) in the dining room or on the picnic tables. We had rousing games of dominos and we all enjoyed no wifi, no internet, no phones!
We had such a nice time we hated to return the real world. It is a wonderful place...”we could not have asked for more.”

Room tip: We loved the breeze flowing through cabins 2,3,4,5!
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SJG05483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We did the half week adventure with Slickrock on the Long Caye island in Glover's Reef. We had the most incredible time. They have been running this resort for decades and they have all the details figured out. The food was excellent, the guides were great, and the activities kept us busy all day. Of course, you also had the option to just relax and enjoy the beautiful beach, sunrises, and sunsets.

This is an eco-resort that uses solar power for all the electricity and rain water for all the water usage. This resort also has all the toys to enjoy the water and the reef - kayaks, wind surfing, access to dive trips, paddle boarding. (Note that to snorkel you do need to bring your own gear.) Their website is very detailed and very helpful to get you prepared and have the best trip ever.

Glover's Reef is a protected area so the fish and marine life are plentiful and the reef is in very good shape. There are some areas that do show signs of bleaching. But the reef by the "Wall" is massive and absolutely breathtaking. This trip is so good, that there are many people that return for repeat visits. In fact, I feel the "Wall" calling me back!!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chuimaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews