We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No island ambience & water that stank”
Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
China Town Hotel
Ranked #30 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2017

I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 4wk Geckos tour through Central America and it was the only accommodation I didn't like. The place has the atmosphere of something I imagine you'd find in downtown Beijing (unsurprisingly I guess) - with drab colours, an outdated feel and a shoddy casino out the front - and I feel it's such a shame to stay here given the wonderful laid back beach vibes found everywhere else on the island. It has a pool but it's not a beautiful one.
Worse than that though was that the water coming out of the taps in my room stank!! It smelt like it was contaminated with algae or sewage or something and it was bad enough that I decided I'd rather go without showering than get under that water.
On the plus side the beds were large, the place was clean and there was A/C and free wifi. Can't comment on price because I didn't book it. Also my room was up 3-4 flights of stairs which might bother some people.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for China Town Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Have just got back from a night out and my room mate and I have realised a few things of ours are missing! Not too happy. Only materialistic items, but when your travelling for months you need clothes... that have now been taken! The only people that have been in our room is the cleaners and us. On the plus side, the air conditioning is fantastic.. that's about it!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Katelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

As travellers rather than tourists we only need a comfy bed a good shower and working quiet aircon in a safe environment. They provided att of that and we had a largd room with 2 double beds. This hotel hosts lots of tours and as such is well patronised. Barely a 3 star.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

The staff is great!! Super noisy. Very tiny rooms. Limited privacy. Good wifi!! trip hazards all over the place. No fridge in room. No A/C just fans unless specifically noted. Some shady McShadersons about in the bar / restaurant downstairs.
No elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour. A bit back from beach so not sure about rooms that supposedly have sea views. Air con did work very well - vital here as gets very very hot. Swimming pool sits in full sun so a bit warm. Staff will not give out wifi password - you need to take your device to reception & they will log you on.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MareeandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.3 km away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
0.2 km away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
0.2 km away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
0.1 km away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#29 of 32 in Caye Caulker
268 reviews
0.5 km away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#7 of 32 in Caye Caulker
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: $87 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — China Town Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to China Town Hotel, located on one of Belize's most peaceful island, Caye Caulker. Our hotel offers a quality of service that will appeal to all sectors of the guests. From the moment you step into our reception area, you will be greeted by our courteous and friendly staff members that will offer you all the service that you will need to make you feel right. China Town Hotel is a very short walking distance from one of the main entry of the island. The water taxi terminal. It's also a block away from the captivating waters of the Caribbean Sea. Many of the main business are only minutes away from our location such as the local bank with ATM, Pharmacy, BTL, Caye Caulker Airport and golf cart rentals. We are also one of the few hotels that have their own restaurant and supermarket and bar. Perhaps, it's the simple pleasures that will delight you the most, if you can take advantage of the roof top that's fully equipped with relaxing lounge chairs. Just lay back and soak up some of that Belizean Sun Shine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing