We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
Your porch view!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your porch view!
Your porch is made for relaxing!! Aerial view of Sunset Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Your porch view!
Your porch is made for relaxing!!
Aerial view of Sunset Beach
Living room with two queen futons
Dining area with view to living room; double doors to porch on left
Living room with two queen futons; double doors to porch to right
Dining area with view to living room
Living room with two queen futons; double doors to porch to right
Dining area with view to kitchen with counter seating
Fully equipped kitchen with counter seating
Fully equipped kitchen with counter seating; hall to bedrooms
Master bedroom with king bed & en suite bath
Master bedroom with king bed & en suite bath
Second bedroom with queen bed
Second bedroom with queen bed
Third bedroom with twins (which can be made into a king)
Third bedroom with twins (which can be made into a king)
Full bath off the hall
Condo floor plan (not to scale)
Your porch is made for relaxing!!
Cute San Pedro town is just a quick bike, golf cart, or cab ride away! (Or 40-60+ min beachwalk)
Your porch!
Building B--Condo B1 is the ground floor unit
Aerial view of Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort beach & pier
Your siesta spot at Sunset Beach Resort!
View of resort from water; this condo is located in Building B, on the left
Building B to the left & pool (Building A to the right)
Enjoy a tropical drink while on the pool 'bar stools'!
Pool grill and bar area
View from pool grill & bar area
We have kayaks!
Grab one & go!
Part of our bike fleet available to guests!
Lone Star Grill & Black Orchid Restaurant just a 3 minute walk from the condo.
Marin's minimart is a half a block away.
Island Time Beach Bar & Grill (with outdoor bowling!) is a 10 minute walk
Suya Tours is just across the street
How will you decide which tours to take?!
You never know what creatures you may find when you wander the beaches on Ambergris Caye!
Cute San Pedro town is just a quick bike, golf cart, or cab ride away! (Or 40-60+ min beachwalk)
We partner with PackForAPurpose in support of the local community.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Venture28...
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We loved the B1 Condo and hated to leave! Everything was perfect with an incredible beachfront and view. Juan helped us with the Kayaks and even took a couple of family pictures for us. Barbara was wonderful to work with and made setting up our trip a breeze. Rosa answered all our crazy questions and was invaluable for her insight and helping us to get a golf cart. I would highly recommend staying here for a perfect vacation.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
You were fabulous guests -- glad you enjoyed your stay so much & hope we can have you back again sometime! Thank you for your nice review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Condo-Great Location-Great Fun!!!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
5
people found this review helpful

Four of us stayed in Sunset Beach Resort Condo B-1 (Carolina Blue) from May 1 to 11, 2017. This is a lovely first floor condo with three bedrooms and 2 baths with an open floor plan and views of the beach/ocean and the beautiful newly rebuilt pier and dock. The condo is large and has a kitchen stocked with any appliance or tools you would need, including a small dishwasher, and even extra bug spray and sunscreen. The air conditioner worked great, the wifi worked better the closer to the pool you got, and there was plenty of hot water. Lots of towels and bed linens and our stay included a mid-stay cleaning by Janet, the housekeeper. The porch is wonderful with a hammock and swing for relaxing. The grounds are wonderfully maintained by Chapin, the resort caretaker. The pool is refreshing and there is a hot tub attached, but the jets did not work. There are plenty of chase lounges and chairs/tables around the pool and beach area. We used the charcoal grill several times. There is a gas grill, but it is small. Since there are only 12 condos, it is easy to meet your neighbors and enjoy a fun game of Corn Hole Toss (bean bag game). If you are going to be outside during dusk or dawn, beware of the mosquitos and sandflies!!!! We almost got eaten alive our first night coming back to the condo from town around 6:30pm. Make sure you apply bug repellant during this time. There is Sargasso (seaweed) in the water, sometimes more than at other times. We saw workers cleaning it up along the shoreline every day.

We rented a golf cart for our transportation on the island. But to get to/from the condo and Tropic Air Terminal for our arrival/departure (especially with all of the luggage), we had Manolo, pick up us in the taxi ($10.00usd+tip for one-way trip for 4 people and luggage).

We cooked most of our meals at the condo rather than eating in town at restaurants. Finding all the food we needed was challenging, but fun if you like to shop around…we called it “forging for food.” U.S. Dollars (usd) are accepted in Belize…just believe that one (1) US Dollar equals two (2) Belize Dollars (bzd)…all change is given in Belize coins. Our recommendations for various items:

GENERAL GROCERIES / PAPER PRODUCTS / MISC.
• Island City Supermarket: We had read that this grocery store was 10-15% higher than others in San Pedro, but learned from a local source that the store was under new management. We found their prices very reasonable and most items were had not expired yet. (Tip: check all expiration dates.) Ask them about their VIP Discount Card (10% discount off purchase of $20.00bzd or more, restrictions apply on certain items). Cost of various products: box of Oatmeal ($3.50bzd), small bottle of olive oil ($3.95bzd), half gallon of 2% milk ($10.95bzd), one pound of sharp cheddar cheese ($19.95bzd), small bottle of soy sauce ($3.50bzd), one dozen eggs in carton ($4.50bzd; eggs are 3 for $1.00bzd and carton is $0.50bzd; tip: take carton with you each time you go to the store for eggs)

PRODUCE
• On Tuesday mornings (maybe even Wednesday & Thursday) meet the boats that come into the docks near Back Street with fresh produce to sell. We got prices for items on our list from 6 or 7 vendors before buying anything. The prices here are almost half the price of similar items at fruit and veggie stands/stores in San Pedro. Our mistake was not buying enough produce the first time. Cost comparison (dock produce vs. in-town produce): one head of romaine lettuce ($3.00bzd vs. $4-$5.00bzd), tomatoes ($1.50bzd/lb vs. $2-$2.50bzd/lb), white potatoes ($1.50bzd/lb vs. $2.25-$250bzd/lb), onions ($2.00bzd/lb vs. $2.25bzd/lb).
• We did find a couple of fruit/veggie stores on Back Street that had fresher produce and better prices than the supermarkets or the Greenhouse.

MEATS
• CHICKEN: we went to the Quality Poultry Products store on Front Street (Barrier Reef Drive) and brought two whole chickens and cooked on the charcoal grill and had several meals (including chicken tacos). Cost: $23.58bzd (9.0 lbs @ $2.62bzd per lb) or about $12.00usd.
• FRESH FISH/SEAFOOD: either take a boat and go out fishing for the day (or half day) or check out Mario Seafood Service (Tel 660-0473, located on the west side of the airport runway) that sells fresh fish and seafood. We did both and had an abundance of fish to eat. Cost: Conch $13.00bzd/lb, large shrimp $18.00bzd/lb, small shrimp $12.00bzd/lb, snapper $15.00bzd/lb. If you order 25 lb or more, they will deliver. Lobster was not in season at this time.
• PORK/DELI MEATS: We brought spare ribs, deli meat, and cheese at the Ambergris Sausage Factory. We discovered this place later in our stay and wish we had found it earlier. The frozen spare ribs were on sale for $5.00bzd/lb and had lots of meat on them. Most of the meat is frozen (except for the deli meats and cheeses).

BEER, WINE & LIQUOR
• BEER: Belikin is the beer of Belize. You can buy it wholesale from the Crystal Belikin Beer Depot, which is located south of San Pedro. To get there, travel south on the main road (Coconut Drive) until you have to make a right. After making the right turn, keep going straight past the gas (petro) fuel station intersection and the depot will be about a block down on your left-hand side. Cost per case of regular Belikin beer (24 bottles): $65.00bzd that includes GST and $11.00bzd deposit ($5.00bzd for crate and $6.00 for bottles). Empty bottles and crate can be returned here or at the Belikin Beer Distributor located across from Island City Supermarket and Island Academy.
• WINE & LIQUOR: (Warning: liquor and wine is very expensive to buy in San Pedro.) Each person is allowed to import one litre of wines or spirits, duty free, into Belize. We each brought a bottle of liquor in the duty free shop in Atlanta before our flight to Belize City. Upon your arrival in Belize City and before picking up your luggage and going through customs, visit the Arrival Duty Free Shop located in the baggage claim area. There each person can purchase up to 6 litres of spirits or wine (or mix and match). We brought a case of wine (12 bottles) and the duty free store put them in a box that we were able to check as a piece of luggage on our Tropic Air flight to San Pedro. Also, Tropic air required the duty free liquor we brought in Atlanta to be placed in our checked luggage.

CHOCOLATE
• The Chocolate Boutique (located on Front Street): gives out free small samples of dark, milk, and white chocolate.
• Mahogany Chocolate (located in Mahogany Bay Village): They have the most delicious “cold chocolate” drink that only cost $1.00usd for about 2/3 cup. Three of us shared one and it taste like melted chocolate ice cream!

FRESH BAGUETTES, BREAD & PASTRIES
• Delices de France Bakery (located in San Cas Plaza across the street from the Tropic Air Terminal): This is the new French bakery in San Pedro. They have REAL french baguettes and we got a fresh loaf every day. The apple tarts were also delicious. The owners (Florent and Sandra) are from France and extremely nice. We also got their sandwiches for lunch one day....really good, and each got a croissant the day we were leaving!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
What a thorough & helpful information for future guests and thank you for allowing me to put this on the resort page's blog! Glad you had a good stay and hope you can come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My wife, our adult daughter and I booked this condo for 3 nights. It is a 3 bed condo and is very nice and very well stocked with kitchen supplies, games, books, dvds and a flat screen tv. There is a grocery store a 2 minute walk away for stuff for snacks and breakfast.

Would highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thanks for the recommendation & very happy you enjoyed it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yung V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a group trip!”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
4
people found this review helpful

This condo was exactly what we needed. The location is about 2 miles south of San Pedro Town, but it was very enjoyable. The surroundings were peaceful and calm, the perfect place to unplug and unwind. It was very easy to get a taxi ride whenever we needed to go to town....just call up Manolo! There's also lots of bikes available for borrowing. There were 6 of us and we all took a bike and rode into town one afternoon. It was a lot of fun! We took the beach route going there and then the back street coming back.
The condo had everything we needed. The kitchen was packed with utensils and cookware, so we made breakfast every day. Suya Tours is literally across the street; super convenient. And a tiny market just around the corner. It had the basics like water, a few fruits, eggs, etc.
We also loved the coconut trees all around. There were a few coconuts lying around the side of the house and Chapin, the grounds keeper helped us open it with his machete! The hammocks were also a big plus! And
The only thing I could see improving is the wifi inside the house was very weak. If we wanted to get connected, we would have to be near the back of the house or on the porch. The router must be outside near the pool. It didn't bother us much, but if you need to do business while on vacation, it might be difficult.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Thanks so much for the nice review & glad you all had a great time--biking on the beach is a blast, as is everything else! Glad you were able to unwind & enjoy a freshly opened coconut! :) Internet in Belize is not as strong as in the US or Canada, unfortunately. I work online & use one of the great data plans if there is a problem, although usually the wifi works ok for me! Hope you can come back sometime for some more hammock time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Getaway”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were traveling over the first of the year with 12 family members and needed a place to accommodate all of us. The Sunset Beach condo's were perfect for us. We rented two condos and had enough bedrooms for all of us. B1 had a great open layout that allowed all of us to gather for dinner. Although there are some great restaurants in Ambergris Caye it was fun as a family to shop locally and make our own meals and the fully stocked kitchen allowed us to do that. You can walk out the veranda doors and be right on the beach. They have great sand laid out in front of the condo's as the waters edge is rocky and not conducive to walking on. There were nice lounge chairs laid out on the sand for relaxing and tanning. There is also a nice dock with a ladder that you can use to get in and out of the water away from the rocky shoreline. The condo had all the amenities we required and we would definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Yay!! Very glad your family had a great time and that the two condos worked well for you. Great that you made such good use of the kitchen! I think some people prefer using the dock's swim ladder because there is sea grass in the water (found all over Ambergris Caye & is what feeds the sea life, making the snorkeling & diving so amazing!), I am not sure that there are many rocks. People have had great fun snorkeling around that dock -- hope you saw some cool sea life!! Look forward to having you back again--thanks so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing