We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
500
134
54
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
134
54
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexico rocks treetop suite action divers water taxi green parrot honeymoon suite in town ambergris caye dive shop fish minute boat ride thatched roof golf cart perfect honeymoon the entire staff belize city sea grass
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Beautiful resort with wonderful staff. Great restaurant with bar. Anytime we wanted fresh coconuts all we had to do was ask and they were picked straight from the tree. Private clean beach with hammocks in the water. Although the pool was awesome and clean, the beach is only a few feet away. Comfortable beds with turn down service and beautiful tropical flowers and petals that adorn your room. Thatched roof with AC and ceiling fans. Refrigerator in rooms are stocked daily with bottled water. Personal safe in rooms and complimentary toiletries smell great. 24 hour security guard makes you feel safe. Must snorkel at Mexico rocks and swim with sharks that don't bite. Recommend this paradise to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheshmisoshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This was a 4 night Chill out after a great but busy tour of Guatemala. We loved the traditional hotel - not too chic, but extremely welcoming and accommodating. Towards the end l reacted very badly to a 'doctor fly' bite, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, taking me into town, at no cost, to the doctor. They checked that I was ok the next day.

Room Tip: Cabanas round the pool have a beach view. Most are semi-detached, and there is not much privacy on the decking- however it was not a problem
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Portofino is a wonderful little resort on Ambergris Caye. It doesn't have a ton of rooms, and that is a good thing. What it does have is tons of charm, great island flavor, and an excellent staff! The setting is gorgeous, and they offer almost everything you need for your trip- from diving and snorkeling to golf carts and bikes to towels and beach chairs. They also make reservations for you wherever you'd like. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and after seeing most of the resorts on Ambergris Caye (it's not that big) we were very happy with our choice! There are other nice options, but most are bigger and more stale feeling. Portofino was the perfect choice for an island getaway!

Room Tip: Best room- Upper Mansion- entire 2nd floor-private veranda best view on the beach- full kitchen and living room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hoghey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

On our visit to Belize - reason why we booked this resort for our 9 night stay in Ambergris Caye- so disappointed - highly overpriced, terrible value for money.
1 - daily complimentary boat ride to San Pedro which they advertise - non-existent or rather at 6 am (!!!!) - alternative water taxi st 30 bucks PP
2 - VIP cabana their most expensive accommodation after the honey moon suite - sparsely furnished, not even a small coffee table
3 - TV not working neither was wi- fi - both resumed on our last day after strong complaints from us
4- towels weren't changed in the evening as a result we had to dry ourselves on damp towels in the morning, due to the high humidity
5 - no parasols on the beach!!!!
6- swimming pool underwent a "treatment " while we were there with chemicals, as a result we were advised not to swim in it for 2 days - or more as the water never cleared
7 - complimentary breakfast was bad - one muffin , some fruit and a pç of dry toast with a spoonful of marmalade!!
8 - chairs in restaurant and bar were hard wooden chairs where you sit up straight, not comfy chairs where one can enjoy a drink
9- nobody in charge - the guest relations manager Raul was however a good problem solver as far as he was capable of
10-no one cared to ask in these 9 days if you were happy with your stay, even though the owner was often sitting at the bar in the premisses -
11 - Awesome people: waiters Rafael and Marcelo - they cared for their guests - remaining staff needs to go back to training- must also mention Sabdi and Dorcas for their attitude, professionalism and finally the positive thing was the food which was great, well prepared and very tasty.
As a result we were very lucky to be able to walk every day to the neighbor resort, Costa Blue where we spent our day under a parasol on the beach, enjoyed amazing food and drink sitting on great cushioned chairs, playing sand games they laid out for their guests and looking at their well manicured and extremely clean surroundings.
You need to upgrade Portofino if you charge the prices you do then it has to be good value for money for your guests - not a charter standard resort, mediocre and old. And I know for a fact that other guests have the same opinion.
The 2 star I gave was only for the food

Stayed: January 2017
5  Thank margarida g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Hi Margarida,

Thank you for your review and your most honest opinion about Portofino, it was indeed as expected. Our resort is located 6 miles from town and upon check in our guests are always informed that we offer complimentary boat runs into town but this is based on our arrival and departures going out each day. This is posted on the board daily and updated accordingly. Guests have the option of taking a ride into town based on our scheduled time or simply jump on the local ferry which goes into town every 2 hours making stops at all the resorts, standard cost for this is US$11.00 per person each way. Our guests also have the flexibility of renting a golf cart should they feel like touring the island and enjoying this on their own. Unfortunately we were unable to schedule your transfers into town based on your personal request as this would be at an added cost to us. Upon check in our guests are also informed that we offer turn down service daily therefore if at any time your towels were not changed should we have been informed we would have been happy to get this corrected and avoid this from happening to you. Our pool is treated every night for the convenience of our guests and we were never aware that our guests were not able to use it as this is never the case or was not brought to our attention. Our operations Manager Raul did check up on you daily to find ways how we could make your vacation better and it is in our honest opinion that all the staff who encountered you tried to accommodate you as best as they could. We do thank you for the great comments on our food, we always take pride in the services offered here at Portofino and at our Restaurant. We are sorry that Portofino was not to your expectation and wish you all the best in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

My wife and I stayed for a week in January. We had a Tree Top Suite which was well appointed, comfortable and was huge. A balcony complete with loungers and a hammock completed the comforts. The restaurant was very good with lots of choice of dishes, including vegetarian options for my wife: the chef even made a special meal one evening when my wife felt like something different. The bar area, adjacent to the extensive outdooor pool, was always welcoming. The main plus, though, were the staff who were just brilliant. Always helpful, always smiling and always prepared to go the extra mile to make sure that we were happy. Off the beaten track, not for those looking for a party experience, but for a quite, luxury holiday it's hard to see that it could be bettered. Thanks to everyone at Portofino for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - it's down to budget, really
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Hello David,

It was a pleasure having you with us last month, thank you for the wonderful review of Portofino and our Restaurant, we truly appreciate it. We are truly thankful to our great staff who are always the highlight of our guest's experience. Thank you once more and we hope to have you visit us again sometimes in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews