We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribe Island Condos
Ranked #50 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had Unit 12, a three bedroom condo that faced the ocean. The view was fabulous. The condo was a bit small and there seemed to be little privacy due to its layout as one of the bedrooms was a loft. However it was very clean, well equiped and comfortable. The property manager Eric was very helpful and assised in arranging our golf cart rental and taxi's to and from the property. The other residents of the complex were very friendly, even inviting us to their monthly potluck dinner. The small market on the corner had all of the essentials and we were just across the street from Suya Tours which was convenient for arranging diving and snorkeling. This is a relatively expensive island ( ten US dollars for a bag of doritos) so bring as many staples as you can. We had a few loads of laundry done mid-week (because there was no maid service) and it cost $30. However, it was a very unique experience and we really enjoyed be so close to the ocean. We would definately come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed in unit 22 a one bedroom ocean view unit on the ground floor. The room was clean and had everything we needed, new silverware and glasses, cute dishes, microwave, TV with channels from all over the world, plastic margarita ware for the poolside and beach, a full sized refrigerator, stove, and good wifi. This resort is at the 2.5 marker south of town which means that a golf cart rental is a good idea and the managers will arrange one to meet you at the airport if you ask. We just walked across the street from the airport and rented one ourselves with no problems. I almost packed a deck of cards when the weather report said partly rainy but I shouldn't have worried. The water is so shallow that the snorkeling was good even in the rain. We were in the water almost everyday for a week, snorkeling, boating to the blue hole and boating to the mainland Mayan ruins at Lamanai. The companies will pick you up at the dock if you request it. There is a payphone at the palapa near the pool, but we didn't find it until our last day and did all arrangements in person or by email. The rooms have air conditioning but we never used it, the fans and ocean breezes kept us comfortable.I was awakened by birds chirping every morning, my husband and I enjoyed the quiet after a full day on the water. The beach in front of the condo is cleaned daily but the water is full of seaweeds ( which turtles and manatees like to eat in more secluded areas) and the island doesn't have great beaches. I saw two manatee in the water from the small plane coming to the island, and two more in the water near Bacalar Chico. We snorkeled at Hol Chan three times and saw something new every time. The guides are really among the best in the world, we tried three different touring companies and they were all helpful and knowledgeable. Most food is shipped in and is very expensive, roadside stalls have the best fruit and vegetables and the tap water is good. Ambergris Caye is no Cancun. Despite a huge influx of expats, it retains its Caribbean charm and lack of glitzy "luxury". These condos reflect the island's spirit. I would recommend this condo for couples and families who enjoy each other and the sea.

Room Tip: Some rooms connect to adjoining rooms for large groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ciniecalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was my first trip to Belize and this condo was where my Brother had stayed the previous year so we opted to do it again with him. The condo had all the we needed, but it was more on the value side ad opposed to being pampered. We were pretty much on our own. There was no maid service, though in hind site I should have arranged that. We had 2 units and they cleaned one of them mid trip but they didnt do ours. The location was good, about two miles south of town. The beds not very comfortable but I am a little bit picky there. There is a tour operator next door (Suya Tours) and one down the way at Athens gate (Tuff e Nuff Tours) we used both of them and were pleased with the service. There is a little store down the street and a restaurant by Athens gate called Joes. It was great food.
For the money, this condo was perfect.... You really do need a golf cart tho, because its a bit far from town to walk. They did have bikes to use there but only two.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed at Caribe island, Unit 7, from 12/10/2011 until 12/23/2011. We really enjoyed our time and the location is really great. Our unit was as end unit on the bottom floor with a terrific view of the ocean and dock. I found this unit on VRBO, www.vrbo.com/260316, and couldn't be happier.
Downtown San Pedro can be quite chaotic but since this condo is 2.5 miles south, it feels like a different world. We rented a golf cart to make the trip easier, although golf carts are apparently made of gold in Belize. There are also bikes that can be borrowed but they aren't in the best shape and, after a few breakdowns, we decided a cart was the best bet. Plus, you can explore more of the island with a cart.
The condo was tastefully decorated and in really good shape. It came fully furnished and had a full kitchen, including one of the most important appliances, a blender. Some of the amenities include: cable TV (which was out while we were there), a breakfast bar in the kitchen, a queen size bed and a pull out sofa-bed, AC, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, the aforementioned blender, cookware, and walk in shower. It's so well stocked that you could live there indefinitely.
The owner, Mark, made sure we had everything we needed. He even followed up halfway through the stay to make sure everything was going well. When someone wasn't working, he was fast to resolve it...from 2,000 miles away. I would rent from him in a heartbeat and we probably will next year.
Be aware that these condos are individually owned so your experience may vary if you rent another unit. We did make friends with several other owners while down there and they were all great.
The best part of this condo is the view. With the swaying palm trees with hammocks strung between them, the manicured beach (which they rake every morning), and the dock with palapa, it's quite an amazing sight. The snorkeling at the end of the dock is great too.
Stay here, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: Stay in Unit 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevodadevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Three generation trip to Belize. We stayed six nights in #12. Great experience for all of the family. Eric and Ana helped us so much prior to and during the stay. It's 3 miles south of town and it was a great place to enjoy the island. With Suya tours next door...we could enjoy the island, the condo, and the tours from one great place. We enjoyed it and we would come back here next time.

Room Tip: #12 holds 8 people very comfortably...make sure to rent a golf cart during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.2 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#37 of 53 in San Pedro
182 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
178 reviews
4.6 km away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#33 of 53 in San Pedro
165 reviews
4.5 km away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#23 of 53 in San Pedro
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Island Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Island Condos

Property: Caribe Island Condos
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#45 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): $120 - $177
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Oceanfront condominium complex with various sized units that can accomodate up to twelve persons. The Caribe Island condo resort is a small, full-service resort that is located on the Island of Ambergris Caye, just outside the town of San Pedro in Belize, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Island Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Island Condos Hotel San Pedro
Caribe Island Condos San Pedro
Caribe Island Condos Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing