We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Ramon's was all around great! the location and the beach are the highlights for sure. You can walk to town in minutes. They also have by far the nicest beach. We were always able to get a chair. You can snorkel off the end of the pier and see amazing fish anytime of the day.

The restaurant was OK, we got the beach cookout one night which was good, but a bit pricey. Luckily you can walk to a million other places in a short amount of time.

The staff was always helpful and friendly. The guys at the dive shop were really great, setting up a special trip for us as well. They also jumped in after a camera that blew off the edge and helped me dry it out with the scuba tanks.

The rooms were a bit off. We stayed in room 13, it was a corner cabana and one of the few that had a TV. As there are no windows to air things out, the thatched roof rooms do have a specific mildewy smell when you first walk in. It is not noticeable after a few minutes. The only other complaint was the shower getting hot and cold as other people mentioned. Not a huge issues for me, it went away after a few minutes.

We saw a few other places during our stay and I can't imagine trading the location and beach at Ramons for any other amenities.

Room Tip: We stayed in #13. Its a Garden view room. It has a TV ( one of only 4 rooms). It is also right near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Chivalry is alive and well at Ramon's! I'm glad to hear the gentlemen on the Ramon's Village Divers team were able to rescue your camera.
Yes, the Ramon's pier is home to a vast array of tropical fish and interesting sea creatures, thanks to the artificial reef we built years ago from pieces of old coral, stones, relics from old ship wreckage, etc. What nature has done with it since then is truly amazing! Glad you enjoyed it. Come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,019 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Fourteen of us just returned from Ramons Village the end of February and it was one of the most enjoyable trips we have ever had. Everyone that works there are like family. They truly seem like they enjoy your company and it isn't about money. There isn't a simgle one of us that wouldn't return in a heartbeat. For 6 of us this was a return visit and most of the staff remembered us and were there 3 years ago. Ramon made it a point to visit with us regularly and we all had a good cry when we left. I would like to mention that we had a soldier with us that is now a "quad" and restricted to a whellchair. When we started making reservation Ramon's was NOT handicap accessible. Our friend thought he should not come back Ramon went out of his way and said that by the time we got there he would have everything in place. He met his promises and made this a great trip for our friend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

From start to finish, our stay at Ramon's was a true delight! Animal Lovers: See my recommendation at the end of this review for a great activity while visiting. Now, back to Ramon's Village Resort and the lovely experience we had there....

We were picked up by the first of many friendly staff at the San Pedro Airport by golf cart, but truth be told, if one has minimal baggage it is easily walkable. Still, what a nice touch that made us feel anticipated and very welcomed. Upon arrival at the resort, check in was quick and easy, and we were directed to our cozy room with the A/C already on and chilled ice water waiting for us.

The rooms are as cute and tropical funky as in the photos. Our room was island motif perfect! Everything in the room felt fairly new, and it was quite well maintained. Several reviews from 2006 and 2007 were not complimentary about the rooms, but do not worry....they are very clean, well maintained and we had no complaints at all. Wifi is available for a small daily fee and the strength was consistently good enough for email, and to watch Netflix movies after a long day of sunning and swimming. There are no tv's in the rooms, which is a good thing. There is one in the bar if you simply must watch some tv, but with the wifi, once can stay connected to "home" if need be.

The grounds are impeccably maintained by numerous groundskeepers, who work very hard to ensure that the plants, the pathways and public areas are perfect. They were welcoming and friendly in every encounter we had with them.

The on site restaurant, Pineapples, is actually quite good, and we found the food fresh, well prepared, and the service casual, friendly and welcoming. The staff make it clear that they
are there to ensure that guests have a great experience. The daily menu specials offered are a very good value, and we enjoyed this restaurant often during our stay. Guests can sit inside in a beautifully decorated dining room, or can dine outside with a pool and ocean view. Pineapples also serves food at the pool if you so desire. It is appropriate to dine in swimwear if you like, as the resort is SUPER casual.

The Purple Parrot Bar is responsible for all of your adult beverages, and they serve in Pineapples, at the pool, in the large lanai overlooking the beach, and on the beach. Special kudos to Nathan, who made sure that my blooody mary was always there when I needed it, along with a big smile and friendly chit chat. All of the servers are great.

Ramon's offers numerous diving and snorkeling adventures, and our experience was very positive. We felt safe, were well entertained during the boat ride to the preserve, and it was a very good value for the money. Boats were in demand on the day we wanted to go snorkeling, and we were taken out by a backup boat from another dive company, SeaDuced. They were excellent and we had a very good day of snorkeling at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. The fish, plant life and animal life was astounding! Much better than Hawaii in my humble opinion as a snorkeler. Divers raved as well.

Ramon's Village is in the heart of the little town of San Pedro, and many restruarants are within walking distance via the beach or small road should you wish to explore outside of the resort. There are few cars on the island, but plenty of golf carts. We did most of our walking on the beach when looking for dining options, and there are many very close by. Shoes and sandals, well, they are not required at most eateries on this uber casual island. By midway thru our trip, my husband put his sandals back in his suitcase!

The beach adjacent to the resort is sugar sand perfection, impeccably clean, and the water very swimmable. The pool is well maintained and surrounded by lush plants. Again, tropical paradise!

On our last morning at the resort, we swam one last time in the stunning blue water, took that last barefoot walk on the beach, and said Farewell to a wonderful place. Francis safely delivered us by golf cart to the small airport for our flight on Tropic Air, and gave us a warm handshake and hug goodbye. This is how the people of Ramon's are....

I give Ramon's Village Resort an A+++ for an island getaway. If you are looking for a casual and quiet place to relax, to sun, swim in the beautiful turquoise water, snorkel or dive, eat diverse food, chat with friendly locals, read and KICK BACK, Ramon's is the place. It's a combination of Fantasy Island, Gilligan's Island, Key West and is everything the website represents it to be. It is well suited for families with older children, but not so much for little ones due to limited kid's activities. Couples, honeymooners, friends traveling together, and solo travelers will all enjoy Ramon's.

Animal lovers: Amgergris Caye has a very humble and hard working animal shelter, the SAGA Humane Society. They work diligently to shelter the stray animals on the island, promote spaying and neutering, and to help them find good homes. If you have a few free hours, and especially if you are missing your cat or dog left at home, SAGA would love your volunteer time to walk some dogs or play with some cute island cats awaiting adoption. The shelter is a mere few blocks away from Ramon's. One afternoon I visited, signed in as a volunteer and took several dogs out to walk on the beach. It's a great break for these poor dogs who just want some attention, exercise, and can benefit from some one on one interaction. And seriously, what can be more fun than walking a dog along the sugary white sand on the beach in Belize? I LOVED it and I encourage anyone with a few spare hours to visit the shelter and spend some time with a dog or two. You'll help a dog in need have a fun experience, and it will be a rewarding and very fun experience for you as well. This was one of my favorite activities while in San Pedro!

Room Tip: While the ocean front rooms are obviously desireable, the seaview rooms behind them are just as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuburbanWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

After reading your description of Ramon's Village, if I didn't already own it, I would certainly want to! We're so happy that you liked our little piece of tropical paradise and we sincerely thank you for the praise you gave to our staff for the excellent jobs they do to make Ramon's Village the very special place that it is. Thank you also for supporting SAGA - a very worthwhile cause. Ramon Nunez, legendary host of Ramon's Village, is one of the founding members of SAGA (named after the first animal that was rescued!) Don't be a stranger - come back to visit us often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We just returned to Northern Minnesota from two spectacular weeks at Ramons Village Resort on Ambergris. This was our first trip to Ambergris and Ramons had come recommended from friends. WOW., we were not dissapointed. Accomodations unique, more than a hotel room or condo. Lots of personality and very clean, The whole staff from top to bottom was exceptional, it was like visiting in someones home. The front office with Carlo and Lester was extremely helpful, no request to large or small. The wait staff in the restaurant (I believe they sleep there also as the same are there for 7 AM breakfast as for 8 pm dinner). All were friendly, easy going, and anticipated wants an needs before asking. Most were Characters and made dining a charming experience. VIDAL has asked that we spell his name in capitals (being one of the most charming characters on the staff) and extremely modest?
We fell in love with Ambergris and Ramons, wish we never had to leave.

Room Tip: back garden rooms have no air ventilation and can come with a few bugs, cannot open windows so must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you - we pride ourselves on being unique! We appreciate your kind comments about our staff. Truly, they are all remarkable (and most are humble! lol). Our staff seems like one big family because they've all been together so long - some have been with us 20+ years - and we hope they stay forever! So, when you come back next time, Lord willing, they'll all be there to greet you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just got back from our week long stay at Ramon's. Overall, we were extremely satisfied with our stay. Our kids loved the thatched huts and kept thinking we were staying in "Gilligan's Island" The grounds are impeccably clean and well kept. The rooms are in sync with the island motif which makes the experience unique. Well groomed sandy paths between rooms and the facilities made it easy to "ditch the shoes" and become an "islander". The staff is absolutely wonderful. I'm sorry I can't remember everyone's name, but Jack, Mark, Ron, Vidal, Roberto... were all fantastic. Jose the guard was great as well, Everyone was eager to share the Belizian culture, language and stories with our families. The food was good and reasonable. I felt very safe at this resort and had no problems letting our children and their friends play hide and seek at night time. Getting to know Ramon was a really cool experience. Secretly, I'd love to have his job!! The diving shop was a bit on the pricy side as compared to other similar shops. But, it was very professional and managed. I scuba dived for the very first time and had no doubt that safely was a foremost concern in their minds. While there, we walked all over the island and often wished they had a hot tub. Snorkeling off the peer was great!!! I would suggest taking your own snorkeling stuff so that you don't have to rent it. The fish life under and around the peer was spectacular. Definitely be on the lookout for fisherman cleaning out the fish which attracts sting rays right to the peer. You might find yourself snorkeling with a large ray!! The staff was very good about finding and pointing out wildlife to our children including iguanas, owls, birds, geckos etc. The central location works out well including a nearby clean grocery store and tons of restaurants. The airport is really close. in conclusion, staying at Ramon's is like staying with family. During our departure, I got genuine hugs and well wishes from the staff. It was like saying good by to family/friends. I left my email with many of these guys and hope to remain in touch in years to come. Guys, if you can read this...muchas gracias por todo!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValiantMongoose, Owner at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

We LOVE it when parents bring their children along for the fun! You can never make too many great memories, and we enjoy being part of them. We know that feeling safe when visiting a foreign country is a top concern for travelers. That's why we provide 24-hour security at Ramon's, with very friendly and personable security personnel. We're glad we were able to be a part of your first scuba diving experience! Ramon's Village Divers, our on-site dive shop, is the oldest and most experienced in Belize. Every member of our Ramon's Village Divers team is a highly trained, highly skilled professional. Yes, safety is our #1 priority. Anyone diving with us dives with the assurance that our equipment and boats are properly maintained and insured, and our dive guides are certified - very important when choosing a dive outfit. Thank you again for making memories with your new extended family at Ramon's Village Resort!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.2 km away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,055 reviews
2.1 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
356 reviews
4.8 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
475 reviews
6.7 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $203 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing