We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fly Fishing at El Pescador” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fly Fishing at El Pescador”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was my first trip to El Pescador, having been to 2 other lodges in Belize. I can truly say that this is a first class operation in all regards. The guides are extremely professional and experienced, the food was delicious and most of all, the staff was over the top in service and hospitality.

Room Tip: There are also Villas available for rent that can accomodate up to 3 couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    44
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
117
209
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

All the comments previously made about El Pescador's staff are true. I don't know how they do it but every single member of the staff is brilliant, friendly and unquestioningly willing to help in any way at all. If the owners could bottle this ethos and sell it to the large hotel chains, they'd be millionaires. That's not to say that this is a perfect resort - the dogs sometimes kick off at odd times in the morning and one of the meals we had was below par. I don't really care to be honest - have stayed in some seriously starred and expensive places before and they would die to offer customer service as good as we had. If anyone has any specific fishing questions then pm me. I am unconvinced about the fishery. The bones are small and abundant (as advertised), the tarpon are there but fly shy and we only saw one permit in five guided days of fishing. We stayed on the cusp of a weather change so this might be the reason for this. Either that or we're worse anglers than I'd thought! We stayed ten nights in one of the smaller rooms. It was clean and comfortable. The food was in the main good, bar was excellent and we had a great time with fellow guests. Would return here unhesitatingly, especially with family.

Room Tip: If you're not fishing, the villas are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaherty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

A perfect resort for anyone interested in fishing or diving. Excellent for families as well. Villas are spacious, clean and handsomely decorated. Fishing and diving and snorkeling are excellent. There are opportunities for day trips to Mayan ruins, caves and the rain forest. Food is high quality and plentiful. The staff is attentive and service is great. Having cocktails the night before our first fishing adventure, we were a little apprehensive. A couple who had fished that day for the first time assured us that we would have a ball. We asked them about equipment and they assured us "It just happens". Management and staff are like family. We will surely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millerhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Belize and we stayed at El Pescador. First of all we don't fish. People kept asking us why we would stay there if we're not fishermen? Well it's like this..........a beautiful very well maintained resort just enough off the beaten path to make it interesting. The staff made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and took care of our every need. The one bedroom ocean front villa we rented was private, quite luxurious and right next to a great salt water pool. The food was delicious. The drinks cold.

It's easy to get to San Pedro. We rented a golf cart for most of our stay. The water taxi's run on a regular schedule and are fun. You can also use a bicycle or walk if you are up to it.

We highly recommend you consider El Pescador if you visit Ambergris Caye.

M & C Donahue
Illinois

Room Tip: If you can, splurge on a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMikeandCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Me, my boyfriend and another couple visited El Pescador in August 2011. I've waited to write a review so I could compare it to our most recent trip. The service from the employees is far beyond anywhere else, everyone gave 120% and that was so nice. All transportation was handled by the resort which was extremely convenient. We went to this resort for the fishing, we are all fishing enthusiasts and had a great experience. Our guide, Tomas Paz is the BEST in Belize, ask for him by name! The resort was clean, the food was good and the water was beautiful.

However, even though the staff was the best I've ever had, the manager was probably the worst. He was extremely rude, condescending and put me down more than once. The resort was too expensive in my opinion. My most recent trip was to Hopkins Village and it was more than half the price and we had a better time. The fishing is more expensive in El Pescador, you have to eat at certain times and everything is on a schedule. The resort was clean and nice but not for the price. I knew when we left that I would not return to El Pescador but would return to Belize. I love Belize but not the terrible treatment from the manager. I feel San Pedro and Amberguise Caye are nice but over priced and touristy. San Pedro had a bunch of peddlers selling junk and asking if you wanted to "party". It was busy and nothing like the quiet spot I was looking for. If you want to truly get away and have tons of activities to do at your own pace, go to Hopkins Village!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaraAnn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.7 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.0 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.5 km away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.6 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.9 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): $247 - $1,137
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing