We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable with a Twist of Circa Early '70s Florida Keys” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable with a Twist of Circa Early '70s Florida Keys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The El Pescador Famil (as they like to refer to all of their staff) is without equal. They truly delivered on a 10-day vacation I toke with my wife. Top notch fishing guides are premier attraction for fisherman. Any family member that isn't justifiably obsessed with the outstanding fishing in Ambergris will surely find comfort and peace on immaculately kept grounds of the lodge. The decor in the bar smells of Tom McGuane and early Buffett. Three - (3) pools are on the grounds (two of them saltwater) give the patrons pleanty of place to cool-off and get refreshed after a day of fishing, scuba, snorkeling, or just plain adventuring. Check out the lagoon behingd the lodge...kayaks are provided to guests so that you can venture out between the mangroves and explore even more waters. There are some very unique day trips on the mainlaind if you get a little island feverish. Go to th ATM cave...it is truly a rugged and special experience. The owner (Ali) could not have been more warm and accomodating. We felt like we were long-lost relatives from the mainland and they treated us with true-felt love! We will be returning to this little slice of the worl...oh yes we will. Tip: If your a fly fishermand and you have never fished the salt before...you better work on finding some windy days and start practicing. The salt can be unforgiving to those who only throw for trout! Enjoy!

Room Tip: If your traveling with a group of four or more be sure to get a Villa...they are wondferful. All of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    44
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
126
218
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our week-long stay at El Pescador was super in so many ways. We spoke with Ali, one of the owners, several times before traveling to Belize, and she provided information not only for our Ambergris Caye stay but for the rest of our trip throughout Belize, too. My husband's fishing guide was excellent, as was Laurie, the director of fishing services. Divemaster Alonzo and his amazing first mate, Manuel, made sure our scuba and snorkeling trips were fun, safe and interesting every time.

We rented the upstairs of one of the villas, and it was perfect for our family of 3. We used the provisioning service recommended by Ali, so the villa was completely stocked with our favorite foods when we arrived. The resort also arranged babysitting for our 8-year-old daughter, for the times my husband and I were both out diving and/or fishing. Raquel, who lives on-site, was wonderful -- even showed up at 5AM one day to accommodate an early diving day -- and taught our daughter to fish off the dock using a hand line and shrimp borrowed from the lodge's kitchen. She got so good at this that she ended up catching a good-sized snapper that the cooks prepared for our lunch one afternoon.

The atmosphere was very relaxed, which we liked. If I had to nit-pick, I would say that the pools weren't warm enough to really enjoy. But we were there in January, so during warmer months they are probably great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Just returned from our trip with another couple to El Pescador. As before the weather was great. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Rooms are spacious. My fiancé fished for the first time and had a blast. The guides were helpful even with us being beginners. The setting is charming, food is excellent, and everyone was laid back and having a good time. We also enjoyed diving and some of the best snorkeling ever. Dinners are family style and the other guest were all interesting and welcoming and incredibly geographically diverse. We will be back for sure. Even considering getting married at El Pescador. Can't say enough about how hard the staff worked to satisfy any request we made. A real winner.

Room Tip: we were in a villa. Awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilson, wy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We just returned from a 10 day stay at El Pescador in Belize. We have visited there before, but this time we went with our 2 girls (ages 3 and 1). We had the best vacation ever! The girls especially loved the pool, the beach, fishing from the dock, and the food. We had great weather and took advantage of the on-site babysitter so my husband and I could go diving on several days.We dove with Alonzo and it was great. We saw sharks, turtles, rays, barracuda, eels and tons of fish. The experience was awesome. We went to town for dinner a few times and especially loved Elvi's kitchen. We also loved Caliente Restaurant for lunch.

Since we were last at El Pescador, we noticed several improvements including new dining tables outside, a canvas shade near the bar, and new couches outside the bar. The food was really good and it was explained that the staff has been working with a well known chef in town to improve the menu and add to the dining experience. That has really paid off as we loved the food.

We were disappointed that the Capricorn restaurant (next door) is not as good as it used to be and despite better advice, we rented a golf cart with the girls to go to town, and we should have stuck to the water taxis for a better experience. Those were the only things we might have changed.

The staff is great, the resort is beautiful and we loved our trip. We hope to go back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite in the lodge which was perfect for us with the small kids. We had p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lismore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

From the moment Ricardo picked us up from the airport to the moment Steve & Isa escorted us out on the dock to leave, El Pescador became our "Home Away From Home". I can not say enough about the staff & owners. They always had a smile on their face, willing to help, and made you feel like family. They are what makes El Pescador so special!! I am ready to go back just to visit them!! The food is exceptional!! You will definatly NOT go away hungry!! We did eat in town a few times, but only because we wanted to try some of the restaurants on the island. The resort itself is well kept....the beach area, in my opinion, one of the best & largest on the island. They raked it every morning & it was always clean. Beautiful palm tress & other natural landscapes are also what makes it so breathtaking. It is truly a tropical paradise! We stayed in Villa 2-3 and were not disappointed. The views were amazing! The living area very comfortable. Kitchen area stocked and ready for use. Bathroom a little small, but adequate. Bedroom an average size & king bed comfortable as well. Loved the balcony & hammock... relaxed on it daily. There are 3 pools...2 saltwater & 1 freshwater. They are always clean. El Pescador is a fishing lodge, but there is plenty of other things to do if you aren't a fisherman. We fished for one day and did 2 snorkel trips. They also have bicylces & kayaks you can take. You can easily ride the bikes up & down the beach. It is only 2 miles to town, so it's an easy bike ride. We did this a couple times. Also, if the El Pescador boat is making a trip to town, you can hop on & ride with them...free. You will then just take the water-taxi back. If you want to do some snorkeling around the reef...just ask for a kayak & you can paddle out to the reef, tie off on one of the buoy's and snorkel at your leisure. There is some GREAT snorkeling along the reef. Would highly recommend. I could go on & on about our wonderful stay at El Pescador......so, if you'd like to know more, ask questions, receive tips, or see pictures....just send me an email. I'd be glad to help. El Pescador isn't a "Fancy" place, but we didn't go to Belize to be Fancy. If you want to experience the natural beauty of the island, the warm, friendly people, and the comforts of home...then El Pescador is the perfect place. If you let it, it will become your "Home Away from Home".

Room Tip: Villa's are the way to go. The lodge rooms are clean, but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TexasSunshine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.7 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.0 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.5 km away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
7.1 km away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.9 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): $242 - $1,111
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing