We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
416
28
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
416
28
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loved athens golf cart lone star grill black orchid ambergris caye pelican reef bedroom unit sister property flights of stairs dinner reservations miles south of san pedro fish pool bar granite countertops the security guard in town washer and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My wife, our four kids (aged 22 to 13) and I just spent a week in paradise. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa on the 4th floor with what has to be the most spectacular view on Ambergris Caye. The accomodations were as advertised - attractive, well-appointed, comfortable and clean. That description also applies to the entire property. I cannot say enough good things about the staff -Eliazar ("E"), James and Jonathan are very friendly, professional and talented. "E" arranged all of our excursions and gave excellent advice on activities and restaurants. We spent a lot of time in San Pedro, but we were all glad we decided to stay just outside of town, and the south end of the atoll is the place to be. If you go to Athens Gate you will not be disappointed. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leofam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Athens Gate hosted our recent destination wedding for a party of 50 guests. The owners, Rhonda and Joe Lawrence, are excellent hosts and made sure that every detail was covered and performed in a first class manner. Their leadership and professionalism reflects in the overall atmosphere of the venue. Words can't express our gratitude to Rhonda and Joe for their work to plan and execute a wedding event that seemed almost stress free and effortless. The wedding was a wonderful event and all in attendance were awed by the Athens Gate facility, staff, and overall experience. The catamaran, fishing, and snorkeling trips organized by Athens Gate are spectacular. We were impressed by the genuine friendliness and caring attitudes of the staff which includes Eliazar, James, and John. These three gentlemen and the cleaning staff were key players in an effort to make our wedding and honeymoon the best in history!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drodgers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at this amazing hotel for my sister's wedding. Eliazar, James and Jonathan were very friendly and helpful!! I would love to go back to Athens Gate!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soleas0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Beautiful place and the service is the best!! Joe and Rhonda have a first class operation. "E" the concierge is magnificent, he was very organized and always hooked us up with the best of the best!! Fishing, snorkeling, restaurants, golf carts, you name it we ask he had it set up in no time!! And then James the bartender was wonderful!! Piña coladas to die for, Rum Punch and Coco Politicians were great too! The Villas were well equipped with all state of the art appliances, furniture and beautiful views of the reef!! My brothers wedding was one we will never forget!! Rhonda put it all together and made it so special for them!! I will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dxarms22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Loved staying here!! The personal attention was unbelievable! I've stayed at the Waldorf in N.Y. and the Beverly Hills Hotel in Beverly Hills. Athens Gate is now my favorite! Thanks so much Joe, Rhonda, E and James....y'all are the best!!! We will be back to stay soon!!!

The Browns
Poetry, Texas

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews