We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very personalized tours with great guides...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suya Tours

Suya Tours
Ranked #32 of 73 Tours in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very personalized tours with great guides...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I did a couple different excursions with this company. They are a smaller outfit that offers very personalized friendly service. The first trip was to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. There was a group of 4 of us, 2 of us dove at Hol Chan and the other 2 snorkeled. Then we all snorkeled at Shark Ray Alley. I really appreciated the size of the groups as there was a guide with each pair of us. Their dive gear was in need of repair which wasn't a big deal on a shallow dive like Hol Chan but wouldn't have been good on a deeper dive. The second excursion was to the zip line and cave tubing and that was great as well!! Again, we were a small group of 3 with our guide Luis. I would definitely recommend this company and would use them again :)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank wizmar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    16
    3
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend Suya tours!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were in Ambergirs Caye for one week and went on four snorkeling tours. All were wonderful. They set up a tour for just 3 of us. We snorkeled with a guide who pointed out so many things that we would have missed. We enjoyed Mexico Rocks so much we went twice. It was a short boat ride with only 3 or 4 people. Hol Chan and Shark Ally were amazing but more people and other tours so less peaceful.
We called or went in to set up our tours. Everyone was great and very helpful. We can't wait to go back.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Footloose0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best fresh fish BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We started off the day snorkeling at three different stops. It was very fun snorkeling and the guide was very helpful getting everyone ready to get in the water. We had young kids on our boat as well as someone who has never been snorkeling. Our guide Daniel was very attentive to each persons needs and helped out the young kids and first timer. He even pulled them with a rope with a floaty at the end until they were comfortable. Our other guide, Victor right away went off to catch lunch. Daniel joined him to hunt for our lunch at the second and third snorkel stop as they were having a bit of trouble finding the fish that day. Eventually they did catch enough for lunch and we headed off to a deserted part of the beach where they cooked our lunch over an open flame fire. After checking out the beach and hanging out for a bit lunch was served. It was one of the best meals we have ever eaten. Perfectly seasoned and cooked. The conche was so good that was our first time trying it and all the fish caught were even better. It was served with rice and beans, tortillas and cooked plantains. There was also some great BBQ chicken served. We were offered many drinks throughout the day including water, beer, rum punch and a variety of soda's.Victor even spend the time when questioned about the coconuts to climb up a tree and get some fresh coconuts which he opeded up for us to drink and eat the insides! Would highly recommend this trip, it is worth every penny spent.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank caljb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
251 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Outstanding service Carlos is awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We've been to San Pedro 4 times now. We've gone diving every year, the first 3 years with Aqua Dives(Aqua Scuba) and were very unhappy the last year. We met Carlos last year but had already prepaid for our dives, but we had our rental agent contact him for us and he came and talked to us the first day. We decidied to only dive one day this year, but wanted to do his beach/bbq snorkeling trip and Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley. The sea was rough the first few days of our vacation, but Carlos was at our door each day explaining how he was trying to plan the week for when the ocean calmed down. Once they did the beach bbq trip was amazing, Daniel and Cheecho? were great guides, caught lots of fish and lobster and actually cooked up the best meal we had the whole trip, the tortillas were the best I ever had, nice and thick to hold all that wonderful fresh seafood. Carlos himself and Jorge took us out to Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley and were awesome guides, very attentive and full of knowledge. Unfortunately for us, Carlos couldn't get enough divers together for the day we we're going to dive and he had to have Ramon's Village come pick us up. That didn't go so well, Ramon's didn't treat us all that well and treated us like we were beneath them. Next year we'll make sure we get to go out with Suya instead. Plus we'll make sure to do some other tours as well.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehoopany, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing attention to detail, so you enjoy Belize as much as they do!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Suya Tours SAn Pedro, Belize is a awesome company!! Carlos met us at our hotel room and explained in detail the tours available. We snorkeled in the HolChan reserve and Shark Ray alley the first day. It was my first time; and yes I panicked. But our guide put the lifevest on me, changed my mask, and gave me the orange rescue tube to hold on to as he tugged me around!
Second day with Gavino, again the very best attention to detail and friendly service!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dillydally2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suya Tours also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Suya Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing