We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Surprise”

Hidden Treasure Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 188 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 40
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hidden Treasure is located about 1.5 miles South of San Pedro Town on Ambergris Caye. Travel South on the main cobble stone road then take the first right immediately after Royal Palm Villas. Look out for our Road Sign and Let the signs lead the way through the Escalante Neighborhood! It's off the beaten path but not hard to find.You can also make an early reservation and we will be delighted to arrange for a complimentary shuttle service from any resort that is situated South of the Bridge.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Surprise”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our group had great meals but the NY Strip was a little fatty. The best Pina Colada ever! Good wine at a reasonable price. The chocolate dessert was enjoyed by all.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our restaurant. We have discuss the your concern regarding the new york steak with our chef. Thanks once again for your candid review.

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    283
    100
    28
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very out of the way - but worth it.”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Wow - It really was a hidden treasure. The food was excellent but it was a little pricey. Definately worth trying at least once. Small, only about 12 tables or so. Service was very good. No complaints at all.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookster63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to serving you on your next vacation to Ambergris Caye.

Ruben
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is a totally lovely restaurant. And truly "hidden" - tucked away in a non-descript residential neighborhood south of the main downtown area. It transforms itself at night into a candlelit oasis. The night we were there they had mellow live music too.

The food is top notch, service impeccable, and there is something magical about dining outside at night on a candlelit veranda. Highly recommended searching this out - and you would be wise to make reservations as it does fill up.

Lastly, they offer free van pickup and return (not sure if they cover the whole island, but certainly the whole south island area). That was an added bonus as we had been biking/snorkelling all day and were beat!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for such a descriptive review of your dining experience at Hidden Treasure Restaurant. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to write this great review. It is good to know that you enjoyed the complimentary shutle service that is provided upon request when making early reservations. Our shuttle covers all resorts and locations South of the Bridge.

Thanks once again,

Ruben & Elvia
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food & Drinks”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A great spot with wonderful atmosphere. They will pick you up and return you to your hotel. Romantic, great food, wonderful atmosphere.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandboy70, Owner at Hidden Treasure Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for writing this review of our restaurant. We appreciate it very much

Nashlie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable-But a little pricey”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Made reservations (highly recommended), had the restaurant pick us up/bring us home to our resort (taxi was complimentary- nice touch) and had a great meal. Food was very good, service was very good, atmosphere was again, very good. No real complaints or issues. I just thought that the price was a little high for what you got. Again, nothing wrong with this restaurant, and I would recommend it, but there were other local restaurants that we desired to go back for a second meal before returning to Hidden Treasures.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hidden Treasure Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hidden Treasure Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing