We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
87
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart restaurants bars sister resort miles north of san pedro sandy point a wonderful stay full kitchen bring bug spray secret beach ambergris caye sea grass spent a week beach front other resorts bce villa coco
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2011

From my experience of doing research online about where to stay, that most places websites simply don't do them justice, this is an understatement for Belizean Cove! Although, I don't think it's possible to put this beauty and luxury onto a website, it's something that needs to be experienced for yourself.

My family and I stayed in the 2 bedroom condo which had every single necessity you would need if you were at home times 100. The kitchen, which was large and open, had everything you would need to feed a party of 20. We had a fridge for our stuff and an wine fridge separately. The living room was cozy and had amazing views of the Caribbean sea and the dock and the property-wide pool which my kids never got sick of.

Since I was traveling with a 7 year old and a 1 year old, this made it challenging for me in most pools because my baby constantly needed to be where my older one went. With this pool there were great divisions of shallowness that he always thought he was with his brother.

And the bed! When they say "fit for king" it must have been after sleeping here and waking up to sunrises that are seen directly from the pillow! (Traveling with a baby you get to see the before the sunrise even happens - so this was a huge perk!)

However, the staff were the ones that made the difference for us! There attention to detail and the extra out of the way things they did for us, really made it a wonderful stay. We took out the bikes to explore the island, and since few people travel with babies, they didn't have one with an infant seat, but within 30 minutes they located one and we had a great bike adventure!

For our departure they did everything they could to make sure we got to where we were going, since we weren't leaving the island and they made sure that our private water taxi took us where we had to go and arranged it with the next hotel we headed too.

We traveled Belize for over 2 weeks and stayed in a variety of hotels and vacation rentals, but this one blew us away on every level! Plus, the insane sunsets didn't help our saying good bye to this gem!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Imagine feeling like a millionaire secluded in your own 1600 sq foot 3 bedroom super deluxe condo-8 total units-pool outside your back door- beach beyond that-amazing attention to architectural detail-this place is the most amazing-beautiful wonderful you are ever going to see.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TOPROWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We just returned from Villa Solemar about two weeks ago. We had a really wonderful time at the villa. The villa was beautiful and spotless! The housekeeping staff was meticulous and arrived daily. The onsite management, Josh and Carla, were extremely helpful and nice. I had the benefit of communicating with the owner, Debbie, prior to our arrival. She was so extremely friendly and helpful. She offered a ton of tips, advice and suggestions prior to our trip. Overall, we truly had a wonderful stay at Villa Solemar.

The boat rides to town were always an adventure! LOL! This was everyone's first trip to Belize. So actually, everything was an adventure and brand new! In town we tried several restaurants. All of which, we enjoyed - Capricorn (good -- right next door to Belizean Coves), Red Ginger (excellent), Elvi's (local food and very delicious), Wild Mango (good) and Blue Water Grill (very good).

Belize is known for diving and scuba diving. One of us went diving and had a good time. Overall, Belize is not a beach location. So, knowing that in advance will level set your expectations.

Having access to a pool right outside the patio of the villa was very convenient and fun. I cannot recommend Villa Solemar enough! I guarantee you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hopeful74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We (me, my wife, and two kids aged 12, 15) just spent four nights in unit #4 (3br/3ba) at Belizean Cove Estates. This place is beautiful, it's spacious, luxurious, and the views are amazing. However, not all was perfect; the shower in the one of the bathrooms was stuck on hot (they didn't have the replacement piece), and in the master bathroom, the water pressure and temperature control were so poor, that it was not usable either. So, we all used the third shower (which worked well). My wife also was not impressed with the house keeping staff because they tended to come late in the day and would ask what needed to be done instead of just cleaning the room.

When you stay at Belizean Cove, you get access to the pool at the nearby Coco Beach resort (10min walk down the beach). The kids loved swimming and using the water slide / rock wall at the Coco Beach pool. We walked down there every afternoon. It was great. .

Getting to / from town was a little bit of a challenge. Belizean Cove is three miles north of town. We mostly used the water taxis; however, if you use them to go into town for dinner, note that there are different companies available. Belizean Cove deals mainly with Tuff-E-Nuff's taxi, but that leaves the cove at 7:00pm and then returns at 8:30pm or 10:30pm. 8:30 is too early to finish dinner, and 10:30 is too late. The other companies offer a 9:30 return as well (which we wish we had known about earlier; we rushed to meet the 8:30pm two nights). We rented the golf cart one night to drive into town for dinner. It was a fun experience, but there were a TON of mosquitos on the route, so be prepared.

All in all, we had a great time and loved our stay on Ambergris Caye (and San Ignacio as well, but that's a different review). Not sure if we'd stay at Belizean Cove again; we did love being near the Coco Beach pool, but it might have been nicer to be close to town (the Phoenix looked very nice)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Belizean Cove Estates was more than we had hoped for to say the least. When we first walked into our villa we were instantly in love. The villa was spacious and the finishings impeccable. We were told that the buildings were 5 years old, but they looked brand new, you can tell that a lot of attention goes into maintaining them.
What really sets Belizean Cove Estates apart is the wonderful staff there. Our house keeper Sharlene was amazing! She not only cleaned everything but always managed to organize the chaos of things we left for her (sorry Sharlene!) The grounds keepers were always out working to clear the never ending tide of sea grass, or rushing to clean the pool after a storm. Carla in the front office is able to help you get connected to anything you may need. Josh was one of our highlights of the whole trip! His insights and humor really made the trip a wonderful experience.
We used Tuff E Nuff for all of our excursions and had a great experience with them. Rico and the boys really know how to have fun. Billy our dive master was great, his knowledge and safety habits were very reassuring to us. We met some guy on the beach named Stephan who was really trying to get us to go on excursions with him. He made us feel very uncomfortable, I don’t think he had any license to be doing that and he got upset with us when I asked about it.
We used a provisioning service before we arrived at the villa and strongly recommend it to others. There is a store near by at Captain Morgans, but it is small and overpriced. It was wonderful to have arrive to a full fridge.

Room Tip: Look into using a provisioning service to have food waiting for you when you arrive.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mountainmanjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews