We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
11
9
4
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
9
4
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on site restaurant living room room was clean old florida st john's river across the river full kitchen blackwater inn dock
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We are currently on vacation cruising the St John's River from Palatka to Sanford and back onboard our 36' trawler. We have stopped at 5 different marinas along the round trip route. Only one of them - Astor Bridge Marina in Astor, Florida - has air conditioned bathhouse. After a long day on the river in 90+ degree weather, it is so nice to have a cool place to shower and dress. Sometimes you wonder what is the point of showering if you are going to get all hot and sweaty immediately after your shower while you dress. The staff, Andrew, Kelly & Teresa are all very friendly and accommodating. And the Blackwater Inn is a short walk across the bridge for a delicious dinner. Kudos to Astor Bridge Marina and consider this my 5 star review of their marina. We will be back!

Room Tip: I cannot review the hotel as we stayed on our own boat in one of their marina slips overnight
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Loved this old time Florida motel! Location is right on the river, you can dock your boat just outside your door. If you don’t have a boat, they will rent you one. Room was clean and spacious. Easy walk across bridge to Blackwater Inn for food and drinks. No on site restaurant at this time. Great outdoor space to meet and greet your neighbors, definitely a return destination for us!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cudrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed ourselves. Management was great! Room was clean and the place was quiet. Place is being improved under new management. It's old Florida which we love. Although the restaurant is closed, the Blackwater Inn across the river is close and excellent. The boat dock is right in front of the rooms and the launch and dock were included with our river front room. We'll be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tiger312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

A short notice excursion down to De Leon springs necessitated spending the night to maximize position at the spring in the morning. My Wife found this establishment and we could not have been happier.

It was like stepping back to the street motels of 1972.

All brick and cinderblock with terrazzo floors.

Our unit had a queen bedroom with sleep sofa in the living room. There was also a full kitchen. OLD stove. Newish refrigerator.

We had some issues with bedding for the sleep sofa and called the number provided. Management responded IMMEDIATELY. She was super nice as well.

Our unit was, quite literally, FEET from a dock and the St John's River. Amazing sunset.

A/Cs were up to the task and were more than comfortable for the night.

We asked about the restaurant across the river and she gave two thumbs up BUT if it was full to head to Castaways up the street. We did and dinner at Castaways was fantastic

My only complaint would be the lack of deadbolt for the door in our unit.

Wife and I loved it and would easily go back

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank JEDUPEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We booked 2 rooms here on a river trip from Sanford to Palatka. The rooms are very big with a living room, kitchen and separate bedroom. It was very clean, nothing fancy but certainly adequate. The staff even drove us up to the local store to get supplies for breakfast. The restaurant that is on premises has closed down but you can walk across the bridge to the other side of the river for a nice meal. The bridge is loud at night so keep the AC unit running to drown out that noise. You can dock your boat right at the marina.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhylisBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews