We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
233
139
36
24
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
139
36
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mysterywrap around porchhistoric hotelno elevatorblack catcoffee cakethird floorold floridarocking chairsrooms are smallmodern amenitiesoystersghost storiesclaw foot tubfront porchcontinental breakfaststep back in time
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

It's old, it's charming, and it's interesting. The maintenance on this old wooden classic must be non-ending and outrageous. Without beating the same horse every other reviewer has, I'll just say we enjoyed our two nights. Many nice amenities: free continental breakfast, nice bar, great sitting porch as long as one is upwind from the cigar smokers, cable TV (a little confusing at first), and free WiFi (albeit weak at times). A big plus for us was the no pet policy (but more on that later). The restaurant serves dinner only. A short pub menu is available at the bar before dinner. We would definitely go back.

But...the phone didn't work (as pointed out by others), The wall-mounted A/C took some fine tuning to keep one of us from freezing from the direct draft, the ceiling fan was on its last legs, and the rubber disk for the tub plug didn't really work. No elevator will restrict handicapped visitors from staying here - only one, very expensive suite on the first level. Parking is on the street and this can be very inconvenient when things are busy. We just left our car parked and walked everywhere.

During our stay, the clientele were older travelers and Snow Birds, mostly - not the rowdy sort, so except for around the bar, pretty quiet. A very few dog owners claiming "support" dogs did get rooms - I never saw support animal vests on the animals (hmmm?) Another large group of rough "Rainbow People" or Deadheads," or whatever, piled out of two old vans with two large dogs. It was hard to tell who slept in the vans and who got rooms, but there were plenty at the free breakfast. I asked the receptionist about their dogs and she said they were "support" animals. Yeah...right!

The hotel has a resident inn cat and that was fine, but the "not pet friendly" policy needs to be better policed. And regarding security, there are multiple ways to enter the porch and guest room areas bypassing the front desk. Some of the room windows opened to the porch and were difficult to lock - at least ours was.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main drag of town face the east, if one doesn't like afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Flew into Apalachicola for a weekend get away with a group of old fighter pilots. Found the Gibson to be a great place to stay, eat and enjoy drinks and cigars on the veranda. Close to downtown activities with an eclectic mix of modern amenities and old Florida charm. Food at the restaurant was outstanding and the drinks at the bar were excellent as well. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and accomodating. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

A charming find on our way from Destin to Tallahassee. Great care has been taken to preserve as much of the 1900's original furniture and decorations. The floors creak, the hinges creak, and there's a black cat (Salem) around. Did someone say, "Ghost?" (The Traveling Man) oh, but that's another story. You'll just have to stay here to learn more. Easy to fall asleep in the comfortable beds. Food has been great (fine breakfast oatmeal, wonderful evening fare) thanks to the fine Gormley Restaurant. Every meal was flavorful! Recommended!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Morris-Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Our room was tastefully decorated and the four poster king bed was wonderful. The room had a "claw foot" bathtub in addition to a shower. "Sam" at the front desk helped us decide on a room gave us recommendations on where to find the best oysters. The Gibson is a great old hotel and the on site bar and restaurant added a nice touch to our visit. Sitting in chairs on the porch having a drink was a very relaxing way to end our day visiting Apalachicola.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank cliving549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at the Gibson Inn several times in the past and were quite disappointed with our room (302) this visit. Not only was the bed uncomfortable and the pillows like rocks, insulation in the walls is lacking and the noise from other rooms and stomping up and down the stairwell at all hours made for a very sleepless night. Fortunately housekeeping provided softer pillows for our second night. The bathroom ceiling is unfinished drywall with screws exposed and the shower curtain rod is PVC. The hotel is conveniently located but parking is on the streets and can be quite a challenge to find within the block. There was no iron or blow dryer or other amenities you would expect to find at $160 per night plus tax. Had I not prepaid for two nights I would have tried to find other accommodations for our second night in Apalachicola.
On the positive side, we had a lovely dinner in their restaurant and the service was excellent. The bar is nice and the prices for libations is quite reasonable.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Swilhelm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews