We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely the best place to celebrate our 40th anniversary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apalachicola River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apalachicola River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best place to celebrate our 40th anniversary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in The River Cottage and couldn't have been more pleased. With the two master bedrooms, large living room, full kitchen, separate glass enclosed jacuzzi room and spacious private deck, all overlooking the river, we didn't have that "we're staying in a hotel feeling." It was our own little piece of heaven. We loved the special touches in the bathroom with the towels and washcloths rolled and tied with purple grosgrain ribbons, and the great supply of Paya Organic toiletries. The large bathroom also housed a washer and dryer, but since we were celebrating our 40th, we didn't take time to use them.
The town is also charming with the most friendly people. We are avid picture takers, and found many interesting old building and fishing boats to photograph. We rose early the three mornings we were there to watch the sunrise, but because of rain clouds only the first morning produced a spectacular show. There was still something magical about starting the morning on the river as the sun lightened the sky and the oyster boats went out for their daily catch. The seagulls also provided unendless entertainment. Can we say, Paradise?
The breakfasts at Caroline's were awesome. I so loved the lemon pancakes with the raspberry butter that I had them all three mornings. My husband enjoyed the seafood breakfasts, and we both agreed they were some of the best meals we have ever had.
This has become our new favorite place and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The River Cottage is very spacious and could easily be shared by two couples. It is also very priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank floridamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    109
    39
    15
    13
See reviews for
36
195
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Many places claim to be what Apalachicola actually is: a soothing dunk back in time. And this hotel is where to lay your head when you're there. It's perfectly situated right on the river, with a view that is a natural meditation to look at: birds, grasses, water, puttering fishing boats. You won't want to leave a waterfront seat, and you won't have to here. From drinks at the Spoonbill bar, to dinner at Boss Oyster (the fried seafood is THE fried seafood to try, utterly perfect, especially the sweet, oceanic-tasting local scallops), to breakfast at Caroline's, you're never more than a few steps from the beauty. The room we stayed in, the jacuzzi suite, felt like someone's homey getaway. Little touches, like nice bathroom fixtures, carefully wrapped towels, and nice sheets showed great hospitality, but it had the comfort of a well-loved retreat. You can almost feel the relaxation past guests left behind, lingering in the chairs. Breakfast, included in the price, is the biggest surprise. It is 100% homemade and better than a fancy five star resort's. Fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade (warm) biscuits, amazing maple French toast, and buttery super-fresh shrimp with grits. Our family loved our time here and would go back in a heartbeat. Apalachicola doesn't pretend anything. It's really what it is.

Room Tip: We liked the jacuzzi suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealFoodPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed here in April 2009 and enjoyed it, the only thing we noticed was a musty odor when we entered the room. It was not bad enough to keep me from going back and I am pleased to say no musty odor on this trip, August 11, 2012. Caroline's free breakfast is great and the free drink at the Spoonbill Lounge was welcomed after driving 450 miles. Sunrises over the river are wonderful. The only reason I didn't give it a five star rating is the price. but I have been told I am a cheapskate. I was disappointed in the Boss Oyster. It was the highlight of our trip in '09 but this year was quite a bit different. I will go to the Boss Oyster site to vent. I will tell you I recommend PaPa Joes..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apalachicola, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Way over priced poor quality marginal service don't bother

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

What fun to stay right on the Apalachicola River. Lots of shore birds swooping down for treats as charter boats unload their catches. Room was large and clean and beds comfy. Even the pillows were good which is unusual for moderately priced accommodations! The AC was wall unit which cooled well but the on and off noise was disturbing. The room price included a bar drink......good drink but bar was noisy and smoking was allowed so we chose to take our drinks to our porch. Breakfast was also included and WHAT A TREAT. We ate in the screened outdoor restaurant. Lots of fresh, hot coffee and freshly squeezed OJ. The menu was filled with tempting dishes. I chose Crab Benedict which was delicious. The crab cakes had lots of crab and little filling, the sauce was light and tasty, and the poached eggs were firm as per my request. My companion enjoyed a succulent oyster omelette. Be sure to dine at Boss Oyster which is on the property. Succulent, large oysters served on a bed of ice with just the right saltiness. Don't be put off by the exterior of the place. It's sorta Route 66 tacky but in a fun sort of way. We will definitely plan to stay here next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room have best views with screened balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.8 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
32.4 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
29.8 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Property: Apalachicola River Inn
Address: 123 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price range (per night): $134 - $213
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing