We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coombs House Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
House of Tartts(Apalachicola)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Gibson Inn(Apalachicola)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Inn(Apalachicola)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
St George Inn(St. George Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(St. George Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Buena Vista Motel(Mexico Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mainstay Suites(Port Saint Joe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveller rating
713
278
112
65
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
278
112
65
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcookiesquichebreakfast was deliciousmain buildingbeach chairswine and cheeseveranda suitesold mansiontupelo roomjasmine roombed and breakfastin towna wonderful stayforgotten coastgeorge islandfrench toast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is our third visit to the Coombs House. This year we decided to stay for 2 nights as one night did not give us the time to explore the lovely shops in town. We also had time to visit St. George Island. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We always enjoyed the breakfast and the lovely dining room. We loved the Owl Cafe for dinner and Bosc Oyster for our wonderful oysters on the half shell. We will be back, as we enjoyed the Coombs House and the charm of historic Appalachacola.

Room Tip: We personally like the rooms that open on the veranda, upstairs and downstairs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I feel like I didn't stay at the same inn as many of these other guests. We came for our five year anniversary. Our room was very pretty, but was not insultated well. We could hear everything from the rooms around us. We were also located on 98 and by 7am it was too noisy from traffic to sleep in. Both bicycles we tried to use were broken. Our two person jacuzzi tub spat out debri every time you turned it on. The breakfast was not at all what we expected. On the first day, we arrived only 50 minutes after opening and most items had run out. These items were not replaced, you just got what was left. Our "hot" food was cold on both days and not particularly good to boot. The innkeeper was very nice, but the woman who checked us in was rude. Honestly, not worth the money at all. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was always clean and tended to by 11am after we returned from breakfast in the main house dining room (which is delicious and plenty of variety). No complaints about the Coombs House Inn whatsoever. Downtown is 2 blocks away with delicious seafood and oyster options galore. Highly recommend Tamara's Cafe and Owl Cafe/Tap Room for lunch/dinner and Verandas is great for brunch. We had a very pleasant stay and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19, away from the main house which meant a much quieter environment. Room is big enough for 2 people with one luggage per person. Bathroom a good size also.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was our second time staying at the Coombs House, and it was as wonderful as I had remembered. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. This includes the beds and bedding. The rocking chairs on the second story porch are a nice touch. It is very obvious that the house is well cared for. The people seem to love working there and take a lot of pride in the house. If you have never been to Apalachicola, I highly recommend it. It's a great little town.

Room Tip: Don't shy away from staying in the villa if the mansion rooms are booked.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGGGNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this historic, beautiful little inn

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinajordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews