We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
washington, dc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here years ago on our honeymoon, during Thanksgiving, and had a wonderful time. This hotel really embodies the spirit of Colorado Casual. The staff consistently went above and beyond the call of duty. The food was exceptional and presentation was beautiful. Our room was very spacious, immaculate and well-appointed and had postcard-worthy views. Location is right in the heart of Aspen: no more than a 2-3 block walk to where you would want to be. Easy trip to the local airport, even in the snow. I cannot imagine staying anyplace else in Aspen.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kam1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    72
    25
    13
    12
See reviews for
118
284
28
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I don’t have any photographs but I do have this lasting image in my mind. It is of being carried over a threshold into a Victorian room, the golden threads of my wedding dress trailing behind me.

My husband and I were spending our wedding night at the historic Hotel Jerome. As a gift the General Manager, Tony DiLucia, left for us chocolate covered strawberries and a bucket of chilled champagne.

Thirteen years later, in the midst of packing and looking for a new home, we returned for our anniversary and for a weekend of total intimacy.

I checked in before him and was handed a nice sturdy key that felt good and solid in my hand. I welcomed the departure from the electronic key cards, just one of the many small pleasures of staying at a hotel where the past is preserved.

There are 94 guest rooms in the hotel and the rooms are the largest in Aspen, standard rooms are 525 sq feet. Our 1200 sq foot one bedroom suite was beyond roomy with light filtering into the living room and a breathtaking view of Aspen Mountain outside the many windows. The bathroom had an oversized bathtub, a separate walk-in shower and a double-basin marble vanity. Other amenities included private-label beds, down comforters, feather pillows, high-speed Internet access and VCR/DVD players.

Holding on to the hand carved balustrade I descended the stairs to meet up with Susie Stetson, yes that is her real name, for a tour of the AAA Four Diamond award-winning historic landmark hotel.

Jerome B. Wheeler, then co-owner of Macy’s department store, had the three-story brick hotel built in the heart of town in 1889 to rival The Ritz in Paris.

The hotel also housed the local post office and became the hub of Aspen as it was the first building west of the Mississippi with electricity and running water. It also boasted the first running elevator, so slow that it took 15 to 20 minutes to get to the second floor.

In 1985 investors Dick Butera and Jim McManus bought the hotel for $6 million and put $27 million into a restoration. Structural engineers rebuilt its bones while masons sandblasted the face to liven up the deep red brick and sandstone.

Today the hotel still stands as one of the great hotels of the American West. Upon first entering the lobby one is greeted by a friendly receptionist standing behind the original post office desk. The slots for letters still remain.

Walking around the lobby we admired the cozy East Lake Gothic Victorian style with original light fixtures, blue tiles made out of cobalt and gold and wallpaper hand screened to represent the original Victorian paper. An oak grandfather clock still stands holding the ashes of an Austrian Pastry Chef who loved the Jerome so much he wanted to be buried there.

After the tour, I waited for my husband at the hotel’s J-Bar. A local’s favorite it has a beautifully crafted masculine bar and a tin ceiling and one can easily imagine the likes of Hunter S Thompson, Glenn Frey, John Wayne, Gary Cooper and before that the Tenth Mountain Division soldiers and silver minors kicking back a neat glass of hard alcohol or an “Aspen Crud”, an ice cream drink laced with Bourban served during prohibition.

In the morning we went down to the Garden Terrace dining room and gobbled down a delicious breakfast of eggs and roasted potatoes with Classical music playing in the background.

The Hotel Jerome is still one of my favorites and I highly recommend it for “If you haven’t been to the Jerome you haven’t been to Aspen.”

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of Aspen Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AspenRealLifeAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We had a great weekend in Aspen in October. The Hotel Jerome was a great place to stay, convenient to everything with really luxurious rooms and a nice, old-time feel. The pool and hot-tub on a brisk fall day were a nice addition, too. Breakfast was great, as was food at the J-Bar restaurant. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I had a business meeting near Aspen, requiring an overnight there. Hotel Jerome was fantastic. It looks it's age from the outside - clean, simple, functional, period architecture. , but this veneer The old west theme continues through the common areas into their enormous rooms. Beneath the veneer of the decor I found every modern convenience from a gigantic flat HD TV to free wifi, openable windows and effective, adjustable climate controls. Free bottles of water in the mini bar. It's dry at 7900 ft elevation, so you'll need the water.

The bed, pillows very comfortable. All linens, bath towels excellent. Soaps and bath liquids, too.

Their J-bar restaurant is famed for its hamburger, so i ordered one, customized perfectly to my preference and delivered promptly by room service. Exactly as advertised, it was great., as was my granola and yogurt Breakfast downstairs. Coffee was light brown water. Oh well. I went out to a local side street coffee shop for the real thing. That was worth the effort, too.

Free personal pickup at the airport. Very congenial, cheerful staff at every point of contact.
At breakfast were two other sets of guests. The servers knew them by name and engaged in a social banter with each, catching up on family members, adventures, and health. Clearly the guests were regulars, and the staff has been there for years. They obviously pay attention to their guests, myself included. I haven't seen this kind of staff awareness and attentiveness since a visit to the Oriental in Bangkok in1981.

Room Tip: Suites in the rear "tower" - only 4 floors - are really big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We checked into Hotel Jerome on November 1, 2011, the day ownership changed from RockResorts to Auberge, and we experienced a lot of confusion and lack of service. It was unseasonably cold and we couldn't get heat in our room. I made several requests at the front desk and was told engineering would be sent to the room but that never happened. I had to demand to speak with the manager to get help - the manager's assistant apologized and upgraded us to a suite. We went to their coffee shop, called The Library, for continental breakfast the following morning and their pastry selection consisted of four chocolate donuts that were left over from the day before. We received a newspaper and parking for our $30 daily "resort fee," so why not just call it a $30 parking fee? We did encounter a couple of good staff members, such as the evening bartender at The Library and the night manager. Hopefully the new management will turn this hotel around.

Room Tip: Rooms are very basic. You get a lot more in a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 km away
The Limelight Hotel
0.5 km away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.9 km away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 34 in Aspen
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
493 reviews
0.4 km away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
1.5 km away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 34 in Aspen
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort

Property: Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Address: 330 E Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#2 Business Hotel in Aspen
#3 Green Hotel in Aspen
#4 Family Hotel in Aspen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price range (per night): $508 - $2,051
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort recently received the "Hot New Hotel" from Travel & Leisure for its renovation. The Hotel Jerome's 93 guest rooms and suites have been beautifully redesigned incorporating the charm of the destination with modern amenities for a luxury traveler. Aspen's best new restaurant "Prospect" offers regional cuisine, the iconic J-Bar is a local watering hole serving lunch and dinner daily with classic American cuisine. The new Living Room lobby has been energized with a bar and stylish seating areas to relax and socialize. A new Auberge Spa offers treatments for guests that will soothe and pamper after a day on the slopes or a mountain adventure. Services include twice-daily maid service, nightly turn-down. Convenient local airport and downtown transportation is provided via chauffer-driven luxury SUV. Nestled in the heart of Aspen, this landmark hotel is just a ten-minute drive from the Aspen Airport, a 75-minute drive from Eagle County Airport and less than four hours from Denver International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Aspen
Jerome Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing