We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Danville
1 review
“A special getaway”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, 1 block from a fabulous beach. The accommodations are very comfortable and very clean, and as numerous others have mentioned, there are a tremendous number of extras (books to read, DVD's to borrow, cookies, pie, croissants, wine, cheese, and on and on!). It's really one of the most pleasant places I've stayed and I travel for both pleasure and business quite a bit. I can hardly wait to get back! And, yes, the staff at the hotel is outstanding..so helpful and nice to work with.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkmac1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    103
    25
    22
    12
See reviews for
100
593
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

What an amazing place to bring your family and simply unwind. Avila La Fonda Hotel is the exact sanctum where stressed out people need to come and recharge their inner-self. A short 1 block from the beach, the hotel is perfectly situated in the center of town. I LOVE this quaint hotel; the Spanish decor, the service, the positive energy and everything else. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank changarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband & I had seen the Avila La Fonda hotel on a previous day trip to Avila and thought it would be a wonderful place to stay. We were not disappointed. The rooms and the facility are georgous with special touches such as a stained glass window in the bathroom. The service and the extras like the croissants for breakfast, the watermelon slushies in the afternoon and wine in the evening make La Fonda an exceptional place to stay. We also loved the beach town of Avila that is not only beautiful on the ocean, and has nice shopping & restaurants, but doesn't seem to be overly crowded.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NXB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We went out there to Avila Beach not knowing what to expect. Avila Beach is a beautiful little place, but it was made greater by La Fonda Hotel. The Hotel was awesome. I'm a big fan of Spanish and Mexican architecture and the hotel had that style and charm. We went out there to Avila Beach to get engaged and everything wouldn't have been as great if it hadn't been for our stay in La Fonda. I still can't get over the great things the hotel had, the free things, and the kindness of the Hotel and its staff. You won't regret staying at La Fonda!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have stayed at La Fonda at least 12 times within the last 3 years. Always a pleasant stay, great rooms, nice atmosphere, freindly service. Although there prices have incresed in recent time you can get a fair deal during the week. We will continue to stay at La Fonda during our central coast trips

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auctionguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.2 km away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
698 reviews
1.5 km away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
642 reviews
0.2 km away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,353 reviews
8.4 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,926 reviews
4.5 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Property: Avila La Fonda Hotel
Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price range (per night): $367 - $709
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing