We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mini vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mini vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great casual and relaxing place to stay if you are not into fancy and having an ocean view is more important than gold frame pictures on the wall. If you are lucky enough to be there on a clear night with the full moon, you will have the most beautiful view. Rooms are clean and decorated differently. My 15 year old who has never seen a turn table and records, was fascinated by seeing one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fariba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    129
    26
    30
    24
See reviews for
95
247
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reedley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

After our first stay in December, we couldn't wait to come back! We absolutely love this place...the staff is so friendly, we love the unique and homey feel of each hotel room, and the location is ideal (right across from the beach!). The sun deck is our favorite place to hang out on a hammock. We love the free water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and popcorn. We tell everyone this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyG1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Awesome Hotel..Very worth the stay and price is even better....Just loved Ed! Made you feel right at home. The roof top is the best and the Morning Breakfast Basket from Joe Mammas was the highlight...more than I expected....The Birthday Cake was waiting for us in the room, and what a room, the Family Suite! Next trip the Oceanview Suite for sure. The sitting and eating and TV area was so decor and warm with the fireplace you dont want to leave..Always something to drink there no matter what time. Just love it....Will be back very soon, please visit the Inn at Avila Beach you wont be sorry! (only one thing the bed was very hard for me)

Room Tip: Family Room with 4 or more for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Breakfast in bed - really good just got better. My husband and I have been staying here a couple of times a year (for 30 yrs) and love the special touches the property keeps adding. If you are into fancy this is not the place for you. If
having the best ocean view and having the beach across the street are important to you this is where you should be. Add in the cool rooftop sundeck, lots of nice touches like the enormous new tv's, robes, coffee and popcorn in your room, complimentary bottled water and now the option of ordering a wonderful breakfast basket brought to your room. Well done Mr. Kidd. See you in July!

Room Tip: Ocean front are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

As I sit here on day 4 of our 4 day stay here at the Avila Beach, all I can say is I wish it were another 4 days! As a getaway for our anniversary this has been wonderful. If you like mainstream, cookie cutter hotels - the Inn at Avila Beach is not for you. The place is funky. From the vinyl record player to the decor, to the way the place has settled and leans... It just has character. The staff is great. They have wine glasses, DVD's (nice big screen in the room) plates, and beach gear to borrow for free (no nickel and dime charges). The wine glasses work really well if you have a balcony room, where you can sit and enjoy the site and sounds of the ocean rolling about 100 yards away. If you don't have a balcony room, then you can move to the sun- deck where they have plenty of lounge seating, BBQ's, ice and and an awesome view. Love this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.5 km away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 km away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.4 km away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
4.3 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.8 km away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Property: Inn at Avila Beach
Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price range (per night): $215 - $476
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Ocean Front Avila Beach Hotel. Imagine Your Best Friend's Beach House. That's Us. Tucked away in the sleepy town of Avila Beach - located smack dab the middle of San Francisco and Los Angeles on the Central Coast of California - rests the Inn at Avila Beach. Although we invite our guests to enjoy as much relaxation as they wish, we are everything but boring. We are different - on purpose - and that's the way we like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing