We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Luis Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Luis Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
fullerton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My wife and son and I stayed here over new years 2011. I was very impressed on the local and the quality of the rooms and the staff. Granite counter tops, very quite and a great view. will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    73
    24
    16
    15
See reviews for
68
94
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avila Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

....arrived three nights ago exhausted with the intent of sleeping and napping with light exercise and freedom from thought of the swirling world outside. The room was sparkling; the kitchen and bath well stocked with tools and amenities; the view from the little patio was of the bay and the pier.
....slept well, did a walk around in the morning, and came back to the room to discover my 17" Apple Powerbook MISSING! So I went down and spoke with the concierge, and then the manager. The manager asked a few questions and then stepped into the back office only to emerge with my briefcase containing computer, address book, and accessories intact, which it turns out, was found outdoors next to the lobby door the prior night. To say that I was relieved would vastly understate my transformation in that moment. All staff present were delighted that the bag had found its home, and congratulations traveled among us all.

I will say that the three day stay here was highly palliative and refreshing. The building is quiet, the staff is friendly, helpful, and respectful (and honest, obviously!). The location is ideal within the village as it's near to everything yet removed from the bustle.

If you want to experience a restful hiatus from the norm of your life, book a room at the San Luis Bay Inn.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here for a week in a 1-bedroom condo. Our room faced the beach so we could hear the waves hit the shore and see a great sunrise. The rooms were spacious and the staff was friendly and helpful- especially Kevin the concierge. Our daughter came for 2 days and stayed in one of the studio units which was very nice as well.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are hard to get- ones facing the parking lot also face the beach which are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We had a one bedroom suite with a nice view of the beach and pier. We enjoyed watching the sunrises and sunsets. We had no complaints about the room but it would have been nice to have been on a higher floor. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub on several occassions. We all enjoyed the pool and hot tub. There is a nice, but small, work out room and a fun game room. We ate at Fat Cat's and Custom House. Both were quite good and you get 10% off for being guests SLB Inn. We also ate at Spash in San Luis Obispo, and it was quite good. We liked this resort, really enjoyed its location and beauiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keybjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We enjoyed our stay, however we really wanted an ocean view. We reserved 8 months in advance and are timeshare owners, however not owners there. We had two other couples with us that booked through the intranet and got rooms facing a wall. As a timeshare resort, it definitely takes care of its owners first, not always a bad thing. Our room was recently remodeled and was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and complex was quiet. It’s a quick walk to the town of Avilla, which is a great place to eat, drink wine, shop or simply walk the beach. The weather in Avilla Beach is always better than Pismo Beach. The fog seems to rarely settle there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jack.goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
2.0 km away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.5 km away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.7 km away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
5.1 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
7.9 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Bay Inn

Property: San Luis Bay Inn
Address: 3254 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Avila Beach
Price range (per night): $198 - $355
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Luis Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your San Luis Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Bay Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel San Luis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing