We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Aurora Hotel. Room was adorable.[quaint] View out to the water was amazing. Took our breakfast up to the outside deck....beautiful to look out over the town & the water. So quiet. Great loacation. Could walk to the water,shops,restaurants,coffee shops. We will be back to Catalina Island and will be staying at the Aurora Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annlee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    78
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
184
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego,CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Enjoyed room 213 with a view of Avalon Harbor and the village. The room was small but very well apponted with all you'd need. However, this room is on the corner of the building and a main street goes right by. Traffick until 8pm ish was disturbing as was the morning 7am traffick of golf carts,ect. I'm sure an alternate roon would be just fine as I'm a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Go to Catilina express web site for package deals of boat,room and taxi. Optional spa deals too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sendlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

I bought the couple special for my boyfriend and I which included the hot towels, hot stones, clay mask, door talent, facial, and body scrub. All was for only $275 dollars. 90 minutes of pure bliss. Melinda's hands were amazing. The whole experience was great. Great customer service.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MouseNoNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This review is late - we had our fabulous Catalina vacation back in December, but I'm just not getting around to our rave review. The staff were very professional and interested in making our stay as pleasant as possible. Our room was a bit small, but the view was nice and we loved the rooftop balcony. My only complaint (and it is a small one) is that the bathroom was a bit cramped, but the bed was comfortable and the hotel was nicely decorated. The breakfast wasn't bad either, although we certainly preferred going to one of the great waffle places in the city. We felt like we got a good deal for our dollar.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brook G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights for our 15th wedding anniversary. Diana, the hotel manager made special arrangements for us prior to arriving and created a package just for us, including boat rides to and from the hotel, taxi service and a beautiful junior suite. The hotel was immaculate as was the room. Staff was friendly and helpful with any questions or needs we had. The top lounge was wonderful and well furnished complete with a gorgeous view of the ocean. We enjoyed continental breakfast every morning and complimentary snacks, coffee, tea and fresh fruit was available everyday. I cannot say enough about the room and service. It made for a very special experience. I will return in the fall with my son for his 18th birthday and there is no other place I would stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price range (per night): $294 - $713
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing