We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“tourist trap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The room itself was tolerable, although I can't stand wallpaper and mauve coloring. Our rooms weren't ready when we got there and the front desk assured us they would call us when they were ready and they finally called about 2.5 hrs later as we were walking through the door anyways. I had my grandparents with me who need a daily nap after lunch so they needed the room to sleep. we all tried to take naps but due to the construction (the beep beep beep of trucks backing up combined with heavy machinery engines) on the street outside kept us from resting. I know that's out of the control of the hotel, but at least tell us, or offer a discount or offer a room on the other side of the building. The next morning was woken at 7 by the same and when I called to complain to the desk, the security guy was apologetic and assured me the manager would call me back so I could tell him the problem but that never happened. My grandparent's shower sprayed water all over the bathroom (up over the shower curtain) and the bathroom smelled moldy. Otherwise ok location, clean rooms, just tacky with the motif. for the price, stay in one of the more modern hotels closer to the beach

Room Tip: make sure no construction going on with your side of hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 47Dan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    131
    73
    31
    27
See reviews for
71
152
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I had the most grumpy front desk!!! I was tired by the time we checked in because we arrive in the island early...and the first thing I encountered was an unsmiling, grumpy and "dont care if you felt welcome or not front desk"!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Convenient to the mainstream of business price was right and room was clean. Front desk was friendly and there is a place to keep your luggage on the day you leave near front desk if u want to shop before you leave the island. It isn't attended but turned out fine for us. The AC could have been better seems like I remember. Wasn't real hot but a room with three hot natured women we always want COLD air. I only wish we could have stayed a couple more days to not feel so rushed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agendab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Hotel St. Lauren was dubbed "Hotel Pepto-Bismol" by our tour guide (I think affectionately) and it's a quaint Victorian building just a few blocks from all the action. We made a quick overnight trip to Catalina and overall we were satisfied with our stay. It was a decent value. Check in was fast and friendly. Our room was ready so I was glad we didn't have to leave suitcases in the unsecured room. (Note that they were willing to keep electronics behind the desk and I don't think there's much theft on the island.)

I recommend room 501 or 511 because they have a shared front deck that overlooks the harbor--the same view as the great patio on the 6th floor. Our room was very large. The other street-side rooms on the 5th floor have cute balconies with a nice view too. But, it's definitely old and in need of some cosmetic updates. The carpet was dingy and stained (the big iron imprint on the floor was humorous!), the TV was tiny (we never turned it on) and the faux-antique furniture was unremarkable. The walls are thin but luckily we had no noisy neighbors. If it's the summer, you might want to check when the patio closes before staying on the 5th floor; when those chairs move around it's very loud in the room. None of that detracted from our stay, but you should know what to expect (homey, not the W).

What I will complain about is the linens. The sheets and towels really need to be upgraded, and the mattress wasn't particularly comfortable. I do like that they had robes in the room.

For the price, location and views, I would stay there again. If I want to be really spoiled I'll look elsewhere but I recommend the Hotel St Lauren with the above caveats.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I can't believe the positive reviews. I'm pretty tolerant but this place is a dump. We stayed in a "suite" with a 12" TV across the room that you couldn't see from our lumpy bed while loud, gas powered golf carts drove by all day. The tub had mildew and there was a hole in the wall. The staff was ho-hum at best but probably closer to rude.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dsm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.3 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Property: Hotel St. Lauren
Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price range (per night): $136 - $318
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing