We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Avalon Bay!”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We enjoy the hotel every year to celebrate our anniversary and will continue to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rcndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 343 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Villa Portofino offered a one-night special package for the month of March. We really felt special since the hotel stay included a round trip Catalina Express, round trip taxi transfers, and continental breakfast. The room was clean, with a great comfy bed, plus the rooftop patio provided tables, chairs, and chaise lounges overlooking Avalon Harbor. Patrons enjoy the deck with food and drink while watching local boat traffic and people watching. Great hotel across the street from the beach!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We recently went to Catalina for a quick night away- I had not been since I was a child.
We reserved a courtyard room, and upon check in we quickly realized we needed to upgrade.
The Courtyard room was small, with no sitting area and the main window was a sliding glass door which also served as the entry to the room. Needless to say if you wanted any privacy the room ends up being totally dark as other guests will be walking infront of your windows.
Our upgraded room had a small sofa and a gas fireplace which was nice- but no views at all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VTtraveler_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Ours was also a winter special and it couldn't have been more splendid. The room was clean, with a great comfy bed and the staff led us in so many helpful directions. The rooftop view is to die for, but there aren't many views of Catalina that aren't. The location was the best and we had many choices when making our arrangements. When we go back, and we will, that's where we'll stay. Just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the shops to be a little quieter, but so close that everything was within a few minutes walking distance. Totally charming!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great location, service, newly remodeled rooms and awesome roof top deck with view of harbor... Everything is close to everything in Avalon

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPS92-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,131 reviews
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
648 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $150 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing