We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time at Catalina”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Time at Catalina”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Catalina for the first time and had a wonderful time. Mainly because the Hotel Villa Portofina, was so great. From check in to check out they provided excellent customer service and made us feel special. We stayed in the King Deluxe room and had plenty of room. We enjoyed the fireplace and large "spa like" bathtub. We would recommend this hotel to any one of our friends and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    140
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
255
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was our first trip to Avalon and Catalina. Having eyeballed the competition, I am sure I will stay at Villa Portofino when I return.

Room Tip: Ask for a "king bed" not a "queen bed" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Ex_camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Adorable spot. Great location. Right in the main town. Clean, comfortable. Seating area upstairs is really nice. Great spot to get a tan.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misseserica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Ca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here for our anniversary in September. Unfortunately booked this hotel based on the fact that they allow smoking. Smoking is bad I know so spare me the lecture. We stayed in the Miramare suite and the room was clean. A little pricey for the size of the room in my opinion but we wanted something with a balcony which made up for the lack of the room size. Good view of the harbor without all the "traffic" noise you can get if you stay in the front. Hotel staff was just o.k. I didn't notice anyone going out of their way to help me but at the same time no one was rude or anything. The BEST part of this hotel hands down is the rooftop terrace. My husband and I actually took a two hour nap on the lounge chairs up there one day and at night it is the perfect way to wind down for the night while enjoying a glass of wine. Overall I would probably stay here again if the price is right but would probably skip the suites since the rooftop terrace provides the best view anyway. No need for a balcony with a view when you have the rooftop terrace for free!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifereisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Hotel staff was wonderful. Great location to all downtown activities. Continental breakfast was fabulous. Loved the upstairs seating area, only wish it was opened at 0730 vs 1000.

Room Tip: Room in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,052 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
346 reviews
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
593 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
475 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price range (per night): $230 - $442
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing