We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff is great”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The property is located well, in Atascadero and decorated very nicely. I had an inside room overlooking the pool, so it was nice and quiet. They have a self serve breakfast with the usually things, waffles, eggs & sausage, choice of cereal, raisin bread, bagels, muffins and of course juice and coffee. The rooms had a small overstuffed chair and a desk and chair plus a refrigerator and microwave. A good choice while you are in the area. I stayed 5 nights.

Room Tip: The outside rooms can be a little more noise because of car parking. I preferred the inside room ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear it was so nice! I will pass along all of your lovely comments.

I hope you will return to see us again.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    182
    52
    21
    8
See reviews for
175
147
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Like the title says, everything you need for a comfortable stay. The rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, comfortable beds, efficient bathrooms, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, etc.
It is in a location that is convenient to downtown Atascadero and all that it provides.
The hotel wraps around the pool area. The pool and spa are the proper temperature for beating the heat, and the heat was on during my visit, over 100 degrees during the day. I did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfast which is served from 6 to 9 AM. The beds were so comfortable, and the curtains blocked out the sunlight so effectively that I slept through breakfast both mornings. They also have access to a full health club that is adjacent to the hotel. Just leave an ID at the front desk, and you're good to go. This place is a very good value and I will be back on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. We are so happy you enjoyed everything!! And thank you for making the time to comment on your stay. If there is anything we can do for you in your next stay, just let us know. We look forward to your next visit!

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel is ideal for a stopover as it is 5 minutes from highway 101 - it provides nice clean and comfortable rooms for a very reasonable price. We stayed for 2 nights towards the end of a touring holiday and found it a very relaxing place to stay. The hotel has a small pool with extremely comfortable chairs to relax on (chairs are not usually comment worthy but when I mentioned this to the receptionist she said I was the second person to tell her that that day!). Having a nice place outside to sit and relax was a real plus for us - pushed the rating upto a 5 as that time relaxing enhanced our stay so much.
Breakfast was the usual motel fare - but with the addition of omelettes, sausages and watermelon.
If you are interested in wine tasting there are a lot of vineyards to visit nearby.
There were a few places to eat in Atascadero - a short drive away. We had a delicious lunch at the Fig cafe - but it is only open some evenings.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are so glad you had such a wonderful time!! We do hope that you will get the opportunity to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The hotel was clean, breakfast was great with lots of choices. Pool area is nice. People who worked there were nice and helpful. We got a room with a king sized bed and felt it was a little small. Overall, good hotel for the low price. It is also located right off the 101, with convenient freeway access.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am glad you had a nice time with us. We do have oversized rooms available, which are very spacious. I do hope you will get an opportunity to stay with us again and hopefully get to try our spacious rooms.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This hotel was under construction in the pool area, but we could still use everything. The pool area is nice It was a nice location and the room was nice. The breakfast was great. I was there visiting my kids. They came over and used the pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaroneeBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again soon!

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
2.0 km away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#1 of 7 in Atascadero
414 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
885 reviews
16.0 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
673 reviews
16.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Colony Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Address: 3600 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price range (per night): $121 - $374
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect place to stay on California's Central Coast. Located in Atascadero, CA and surrounded by the special charm and excitement of Paso Robles Wine Country, BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect location for wine tasting, bike riding, golf, visiting the historic missions, family outings, and hiking. Motorcycle enthuses enjoy traveling the spectacular coastline leading to the Pacific Ocean where you will enjoy Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Harbor and quaint seaside shops, all minutes from the newly refreshed BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, Atascadero California. Hotel guests enjoy a fully appointed health club, Kennedy Club Fitness Center, which includes workout equipment, basketball courts, racquet ball courts, an Olympic size swimming pool, yoga and zumba classes and more. BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn welcomes you to the Central Coast for family fun, a romantic get-away, business meetings and wine tasting! Corporate, military, AAA and senior rates are always available. Visit our calendar of events for attractions and events in San Luis Obispo County such Hot El Camino Nights & Car Show, The California Mid State Fair, The Tamale Festival, Paso Robles Wine Festival and Vine Street Showcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Colony Hotel Atascadero
Best Western Atascadero
Atascadero Best Western
Best Western Colony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing