We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beauty and Quiet is within Reach.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aptos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Aptos B&B and Inns
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beauty and Quiet is within Reach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

This was our first time to a B&B. I wanted a weekend getaway and he chose the city. In Aptos, Ca, there is the most wonderful place that you could ever imagine. Our weekend is in the middle of the week, Tues. and Wed, so we had the place to ourselves. SOOOOO BEAUTIFUL!! You turn off the street and enter this jungle of green with flowers every where. Ten acres of beauty. We were greeted by Claire, who showed us to our room.

Kris, the owner, is just delightful. She helped us with our plans for the day and recommended wonderful dinner places. Plus helped us with an adventure to the aquarium. We walked the grounds finding so many wonderful things. White wisteria growing out our one entrance to our room. We had the Hidden garden room, three ways to enter, all gorgeous. We did not have a jacuzzi in our room, ours was in the hidden garden. Flowers, champagne, and peaceful all around. Does not get any better than this.

Breakfast was an experience all by its self. You will not think that you are getting shorted, everything is plentiful. Everything was delicious with great coffee.

If you are looking for a little getaway, honeymoon spot, wedding place or vacation, this is it. I have already told my family that I'm ready to go back. The only down side is that our stay was not longer.

Room Tip: Hidden Garden Room, Large, Quiet, w/ hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannetteMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Very very comfortable bed! It felt like home away from home and the owners are very friendly and personable. Location is great- very close to Santa Cruz and Monterey/Carmel. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants a quiet, private getaway in a cozy country home close to the beach

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britcush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Upon arrival, you're greeted by Kris, the owner. She's a warm and welcoming person. She makes you feel at home. Atmosphere is casual, warm and welcoming, relaxing. The area surrounding the house is quiet.

The rooms are big, bed is comfortable. Kris makes a delicious breakfast. During our stay, we had the savory breakfast - goat cheese soufflé with grilled asparagus. There was also sweet rolls. Everything as delicious.

If you need a weekend away from your busy life to relax, come stay here. It's wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsjohuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

Stayed in Sunporch room for the second time. Like the extra bed in the nook where my daughter can read until all hours without bothering Mom and Dad. Our hostess made a special breakfast for my brother in law with very little notice -- on the same morning that she made delicious huckleberry french toast for us and a vegan veggie tofu stir fry for another couple. House is full of lovely Arts and Crafts style furnishings and fixtures, but result is very comfortable and cozy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barkelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

This is a hidden gem...quiet, a step back in time. This is a farmhouse converted into wonderful country styled rooms..with historic texture...you will sleep better here...you just will.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onetwo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aptos
3.9 km away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
9.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
14.6 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
3.6 km away
Seascape Resort
Seascape Resort
#3 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6901 Freedom Blvd, Aptos, CA 95003-9620
Region: United States > California > Aptos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aptos
Price range (per night): $248 - $302
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, effortless, delicious! Your stay at Sand Rock Farm Bed and Breakfast includes beautiful garden views from every window, fountains tucked among shaded pathways, comfortable beds and Jacuzzi tubs, spa robes and earth-friendly amenities. Wake to the smell of coffee brewing and scones baking and enjoy a leisurely, hot and hearty breakfast served to you in the dining room or on the deck beneath the giant oak and redwood trees. Our easy access location right off of Highway 1 just south of Santa Cruz is a great jumping off point for visits to Monterey, Big Sur, Santa Cruz or even closer, Aptos, Capitola, Nisene Marks State Park and Manresa State Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing