We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family experience”
Review of Rodz Grille

Rodz Grille
Ranked #13 of 25 Restaurants in Angels Camp
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stopped off on our way back from skiing in Bear Valley. We were 2 families with 4 kids between us. They had no problem seating our large party. I was a little worried about taking a shot on this restaurant but was wonderfully surprised. They have a huge menu.

I thoroughly enjoyed the fried chicken. I'm still dreaming about it. My buddy had breakfast. Beware, the portion sizes are big. My son's hot dog was huge. I even finished it off with a blueberry.

The best part was our waitress. She was so sweet. My daughter left her jacket there and she ran across the street to the Mark Twain Museum where we were visiting and gave it to us.

It was such a wonderful visit, we drove back from the Bay Area the following weekend to have lunch there again and spend more time at the Mark Twain Museum.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    38
    31
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“took a chance and??”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

It was great. All kids and wife were happy including myself. Great service.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank luv2traveltropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Wa.
Level Contributor
291 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good food, long wait for meal!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Typical family diner. Our food was good, waitresses were pleasant and tried to be accomodating, but getting our food took forever!
Not many choices in Angels Camp, but if in the area again, I'd try someplace else.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imawandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK food, great for kids, family”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This place is a good diner type eatery if you need a low hassle, kid friendly place to go while staying in the area. Obviously locals eat there. I had the chicken fried steak which was good and filling. They were very accommodating to my 3.5 year old son and had plenty of coloring books to keep in occupied. This was nice after 4 hours on the road with him. Also, they served Breakfast all day.
The salad bar was pretty basic, not like some whole foods thing so dont get your hopes up.
Bill for 3 people was $32. Not bad.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank californiatripper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good salad bar, but ...”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

There aren't too many choices in Angels Camp.
We decided to try Rodz Grille. Three of us ordered all you can eat at the salad bar.
Salad bar was great, price very resonable (about 9$). One of us ordered spaghetti, they were just average. Staff was friendly.
This is a basic American diner, nothing special.
However, if you like salad - that's your place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaus1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rodz Grille also viewed

 

Been to Rodz Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing