We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Service, Good Location, Good Price, OK Breakfast and Loft Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Ranked #45 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Howdy,

Bit of a background, family of 5 (Me, Wife, Twins 15yrs old, 12 yr old) along with Mother in law. Total of 6 persons. 4 day trip to the sea of humanity known as Disneyland during the holiday season. Flew down to Orange County on Friday Morning Arriving at 730am. I had called ahead when making reservation and the nice lady told me they will hold my luggage while we enjoy the parks for the morning early afternoon and then we could check in. Great, sounds like it will work. Made the reservation online and downloaded the Marriot Mobile app on my phone.

Landed at John Wayne, got shuttle and got to hotel at about 830ish. While on the shuttle en route to the hotel, got a message via the mobile app, our room was ready. WHAT! Wait, huh... no, has to be a mistake, check in isn't until 4pm and most places nowadays wont let you get into a room this early, we had fully prepared to just check our luggage at the desk and walk to the park and come back later to check in. Plus that would give us rest time since we were up early for our flight. Shuttle arrived, walked in, talked with the front desk clerk, and sure enough, our room was ready and available for us right now. AWESOME, couldn't believe it. This was such a great way to start, we went to our room, unpacked, freshened up a bit and walked to the park. KUDOS, and THANK YOU.

Front desk and every worker we interacted with were professional and friendly during our entire stay.

A bit about location of the property, its on Disney Way, its about 15 Minute walk, in the morning, the walk is easy, no problems. At the end of a long day, that walk seems to last forever...... To me its right at the outer edge of what can be considered as walking distance to the park. Kids in strollers, doable, kids that only need strollers while at the park not doable, family with tweens and teenagers (like mine) doable. But like I said, its right on the edge of walkable distance, there were times when I considered Uber at the end of the night. I looked into ART, there are two stops for two different lines that serve the hotel, but in end I opted to walk. 15-20 minutes.

Breakfast: Good Breakfast, hot selections, bagels, yogurt, cereal, waffles, standard residence inn stuff, no complaints, hearty and fullfilling and beats Disney prices. Where the hotel suffers is the size of the breakfast room and volume of people that eat breakfast. It is a large hotel complex that specializes in big families etc, so the breakfast area was always CROWDED, the workers did a good job of clearing plates/tables as fast as they could but there comes a point where the volume of people versus size of room, amount of work to be done etc becomes overwhelming. Kind of like drinking from a fire hose. It was challenging, especially if you want to eat before going to the park when the hundreds of other guests want to as well. Not quite sure how to fix it other then larger area and some more staff, but thats well beyond me. Again, workers were great, just a physical space and volume of people issue.

Our Building was #21 and our room was right next to disney way, not gonna lie, it was loud, street traffic, sirens etc, but we were exhausted every night so I slept good, but if you want/need quieter room request building away from Disney Way.

Loft room, king bed up in the loft, 2 queens in a bedroom and a sofa sleeper, bath upstairs and downstairs. The rooms are smallish for the amount of people they hold, but this trip, for us we spent minimal time in room so not an issue, but if we had a different type of vacation where we spent more time in room, not sure this would fit our needs as it was cramped.

Bottom line, would i stay here again = yes
Staff are awesome
Breakfast is good but location a little cramped
Loft room is smallish and request a room away from Disney Way.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbnuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa M, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear sbnuggie,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed our great service, good location and price. I am also happy that we were able to accommodate an early check in and you had the opportunity to freshen up before going to the parks. As you mentioned, our property within walking distance, only .50 miles away from the parks and the ART shuttle stops at our property for our guests convenience. I am happy that you would consider staying at our property again and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Alexa Martinez | Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

My daughter & I just came up for the weekend, so it was just an overnight stay. We got there really early before check in time so the young lady named Kait took my phone number & called us when the room was ready. Comfortable enough & clean. This is still one of the older styles, so only downside was we were up stairs, so had to lug stuff up a number of stairs. No complaints.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa M, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Carla W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that your one night stay was comfortable and we were able to check you in early. I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you and your daughter when you come back to Anaheim.

Best regards,
Alexa Martinez | Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Stayed here for 1 night. Our main stay was at the Disneyland Hotel for a convention, but we arrived 1 night before our confirmed reservations and needed a place to stay within proximity.

The layout of this hotel is typical of an older style Residence Inn, where the suites are in separate "buildings." Depending on which building you are in, you may have to walk a few steps away from the parking area. The room is typical of a Residence Inn suite. There are no elevators, so if you are on the 2nd floor, you have to take the stairs. Room was clean and fresh smelling.

The best part of this hotel is the complementary parking. As far as I know, this is the only Marriott property around Disneyland that does not charge for parking. I hope management doesn't change this policy because it really is what makes this property stand out. The complementary breakfast is standard Marriott fare, and while it is busy and chaotic, staff did an excellent job keeping items well stocked. Food items never ran out, which is amazing.

The property is within easy walking distance to the maingate on Harbor.
Staff were friendly and profession. Minor issue with the stay included a light fixture that was non-functional but was corrected immediately by maintenance. Was not a fan of the building we were assigned to, as getting luggage to and from was a bit of a challenge.

From a value standpoint, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adventuretravelernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa M, Sales Coordiantor at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear adventuretravelernc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate. As you mentioned our complimentary hot breakfast buffet can get a bit busy but our team does a great job at maintaining it full. We are thrilled to hear that you would stay here again and hope to welcome you back to our property soon.

Best regards,
Alexa Martinez | Sales Coordiantor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

This is my new favorite Hotel walking distance to Disneyland. The suites are huge can easily accommodate a family of 6 or more with little ones. The modern look and feel of the hotel gives it a high end feel a treat for travelers. The hotel Buffett breakfast did not disappoint as well. I rarely give 5 stars for hotels and this deserves 5!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeni1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa M, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Jeni1212,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed our property. We hope to welcome you back to our property soon, when your travels bring you back to the Anaheim Resort Area.

Best regards,
Alexa Martinez | Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We stayed at the Residence Inn, Anaheim Maingate. We requested a handicap accessible room. The first room we were given had steps at entrance so we could not get scooter in doorway. The second room was not accessible, the third room was accessible, but not entered easily as the stairs are located right in front of door. It took some manuevering but we finally got in. Unfortunately, the rooms are very dark, the carpet is dark brown/black and should be replaced.

The TV picture was very fuzzy and we did call maintenance and it did work while he was there, but changed channels and it stopped working. We tried to plug in the scooter and the plug had no cover and was sticking out of wall. The noise from the air conditioner or fan next door kept us awake most of the night. The beds are comfortable, but the pillows are lumpy.

The Residence Inn has always been our go to hotel because it is within walking distance to Disneyland. The employees here are amazing, always friendly and helpful. The grounds are well kept and from the outside it does look great. I think maybe it's time for an upgrade in the rooms!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa M, Sales Coordiantor at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear JoAnn C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. I understand how frustrating it was to switch rooms multiple times, in our hotel we pride ourselves with giving our guests great memorable experiences and we are very sorry that we did not achieve that with your stay. I have shared your feedback with our team to ensure that this was an isolated issue. I do hope to have the opportunity to give you a better experience next time you travel to Anaheim.

Best regards,
Alexa Martinez | Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.9 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.9 km away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
0.8 km away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 km away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.7 km away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802-2902
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $189 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, complimentary parking, wireless internet, business center usage, and more. Our guests have access to purchasing Disneyland park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills available for guest use. Pet Friendly ($100 non refundable pet fee for up to 2 pets per room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing