We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Original Pancake House
Ranked #7 of 952 Restaurants in Anaheim
Price range: USD 0 - USD 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: The Colony
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We waited outside for 40 minutes but we had heard all the rumours about how good this place was, and why would so many people be waiting.
My eyes where blown once we got in, the size of the serves WOW.
The Taste was amazing fresh strawberries, the best bacon,
Do not miss this place well worth the wait.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank koutras
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2016

We were hungry for an old-fashioned breakfast, & wanted to eat in a locally owned place, not a chain. Asked a couple of residents in the area what they'd recommend: this was the place.

To say the restaurant is dated & small would be an understatement. It looks like not much has changed, decor wise, since it was opened in 1958. And, I don't think that is a bad thing. It had a nice charm, & was the kind of place where you'd want to go every Saturday for a really good breakfast you don't have to cook for yourself.

The pancakes are HUGE & so are the portions. My 3 egg omelette had to be closer to 5 eggs. Turns out they crack the eggs into a big container & beat them together a couple dozen at a time... then they estimate when they make each order. You won't be disappointed.

The server was great & helpful - our wait time was about 30 minutes, about what I would expect from a good local (& small) breakfast place.

If we go back to Anaheim, I'd definitely eat here again!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank scoeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

We used TripAdvisor for a quick search and decided on the OPH before walking around Disneyland. The old building was charming and the service was impeccable. The food was average, nothing to write home about. The fresh strawberry crepe, side of hash brown, blueberry pancakes, Belgian waffle, and sausage omelette were enough to fuel us up but we had high expectations coming in seeing the wait was long. Maximum capacity is 97 and we counted possibly seats for 65-75, hence our 20 minutes wait. Overall, I would recommend it if you want to try for the first time and see the charms of the place.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank TTH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2016

When visiting the HAPPIEST PLACE ON EARTH, and you have a car >>> Drive EAST a few minutes EAST to old town Anaheim and have the BEST BREAKFAST you will have on your trip!!

How many non-chain breakfast spots open @ 6:00AM? They do!!

Best PANCAKES this side of DU-PARS and their SPANISH OMELETTE was more like a delicious souffle .. ..

I'm sorry it's been about 5 years since coming here last and it won't be long until I return!!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2016

we had breakfast here during our vacations place is good but small and had to wait very long to be seated staff was nice

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank a2rresdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.