We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heater/AC unit makes noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Heater/AC unit makes noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Loved this hotel. Used 15,000 points to stay on a Saturday night. Great room and bath. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast selection, including a pancake machine (push a button and wait 45 seconds). Two free computers in the lobby. Free parking. 12 miles to 'downtown' Napa. Additional 30 minutes to St Helena, and about the same to Sonoma (very cute town).

The only negative was the heating cooling system. You'd think in 2012, they could figure out a way to operate this without making lots of noise. It was the only thing ( a poor nights sleep) that ruined an otherwise perfect visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhammer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    125
    58
    11
    9
See reviews for
73
113
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
351 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here for a couple nights of Napa wine country visit. The facility is about 2.5 years old along Hwy29 which is next to the Walmart Supercenter (open 24/7!) and quite a few chain restaurants, so the location is even more convenient than the DoubleTree down the road which I stayed over the summer. The room, lobby, and breakfast areas were pretty clean. The staff from reception to house cleaning were also friendly enough. The only minus is the fitness center with half the equipment not really functioning properly, only one treadmill was working and the cross-training machine needs tuneup. Fortunately there were no one else using the gym during my visit so I could still work out on the rest of the machines.
Overall, an average, decent stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toga1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2011. The room was very large, clean and well decorated. The beds were uncomfortable, but we are spoiled at home. It was disapointing to not have wireless internet in our room. The front desk offered an ethernet cable, but it had a time limit to stay connected to the internet. That was frustrating.

The cleaning staff did not replace the coffee for the second morning. Bummer!

The breakfast was good enough. The pancake maker was a novelty.

It was a good location for us. We were very close to the freeway and did hear traffic noise, but we turned on the fan and it helped.

Room Tip: Might not want to stay in rooms by the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2All_Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The beds were so comfortable. The room was clean with newer decor. I would have no reservations about staying at this hotel again. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was pretty good...steer clear of the omelets with mystery cheese though....hahahaha. If you like pancakes you're all set.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonWGrandJunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskego, WI
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I planned a four night stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in American Canyon for our Napa/Sonoma getaway using mainly Priority Club rewards points. If you are a regular Holiday Inn Express chain visitor, this hotel has many of the same ammenities you'd come to expect - free breakfast, firm/soft pillows, etc. We were able to get a refridgerator placed in our room at no extra charge which was nice to have cold bottled water and picnicing supplies on hand. The hotel is situated somewhat strangely in that the back of the hotel faces a busy road and the main entrance faces an nice apartment complex. However, the back of the hotel is also where the pool, hot tub and terrace (enclosed in a high wall) are located. So if you ask for a pool view, you will also get more road noise.

The hotel itself is clean and the staff is very nice. We had a few issues in our room (the thermostat control had only one level of fan which had the unexpected bonus of drowning out the road noise, but was still rather annoying, our TV's power plug wouldn't stay in, and two nights in a row our phone rang once at 2am). Maintenance staff always arrived within a few minutes from our call. As for the phone calls, they compensated us with a free night's stay. The breakfast area is well attended to - well stocked and fresh. The have a nice business area with printer (great for printing boarding passes) and workout facility. In the lobby are shelves stocked with an array of snack items for purchase - mainly candy and chips. Nice if you have a craving for Cheetos last minutes. But there are are several restaurants and a Walmart within walking distance too.

The pool area was rarely used the entire time we were there, though we did enjoy the hot tub the night we arrived. It is not a large area but has adjacent to it a large terrace area with tables, chairs and loungers. It would be a great place to enjoy an evening night cap or a relaxing afternoon. It gets quite cold at night, but during the summer this might be lovely albeit a bit loud with the traffic noise.

With regards to its location to Napa and Sonoma, it would really depend on your plans. There is something about the relaxed nature or Napa/Sonoma that you lose when you are situated next to a strip mall and Walmart. American Canyon is quite a bit south of the heart of Napa/Sonoma wine country; however, this allows you to plan a day trip to either area with easy access to main roads without the trapsing over the mountains. The hotel is convienantly located to the Carneros region (15-20 min) which includes wineries such as Buena Vista, Ravenswood (Sonoma) and Domaine Carneros (Napa) or southern most Napa appellations such as Oak Knoll (Trefethen winery) or Stags Leap. Plan on a 40-60 minute drive to the northern side of either Napa or Sonoma County. If doing so, I'd suggest leaving your dinner plans for southern county establishments so your drive back isn't quite so long at the end of the day.

Overall, if your plans did include wine country and you wanted to put your money into wine rather than your stay, this would be a great location. Their room rates will be much more reasonable than a B&B or vacation rental, but you do lose a bit of the charm and romance with this nice, but standard hotel.

Room Tip: To avoid road noise, select a room that faces the main entrance and NOT overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michellecmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Napa American Canyon
11.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
4.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley
13.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
Address: 5001 Main St, American Canyon, CA 94503-1196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price range (per night): $154 - $387
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW OPEN! The NEW Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley is located in one of the world s most prestigious wine regions featuring first class dining, golf courses, and wineries. Situated at Napa Junction across from beautiful Main Street Park the hotel is adjacent to numerous eateries and retail businesses including Starbucks, Sonic and Wal-Mart. A short eight mile drive along historic HWY 29 brings you to downtown Napa with world-renowned restaurants, boutique shops and Yountville & St. Helena with over 350 wineries & numerous championship golf courses. For family fun try Six Flags Discovery Kingdom Vallejo. Adults will love the Napa Valley Wine Train s lunch & dinner excursions through Napa s countryside. Notable local area companies include Foster s Wine Group, Coca Cola, GL Mezetta & Anheuser-Busch. Napa Valley s newest hotel has 101 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites are equipped with pillow top beds, the signature Smart Bath Collection, 32 flat panel televisions, and complimentary wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. The hotel also features a beautifully designed patio area with outdoor pool and spa, a state-of-the-art exercise room, business center, and over 2,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Make your experience in the wine country a memorable one and join us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - the only hotel in the Napa Valley where you can Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon Hotel American Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing